Criminal logo

The Daughter of the Mafia King

Part 1

By MartaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
The Daughter of the Mafia King
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

Enjoying the peaceful sounds of rain pouring outside while drinking a warm cup of tea. Yes, a terrible day turned around. Shay warming up my feet, curled in the blanket that I wrapped around my body. The sound of the TV loud, but not drowning out the rain. Slowly the sound of rain transformed into sounds of computers and orders.

"I need the finished reports first thing Sunday morning." Mila stated.

"But ma'am..." I stammered.

"No buts, we talked about this! I need everything done a day early on the weekends. If not, well... I'm sure you do not want to hear the end of that sentence."

"Yes, ma'am."

Shivers ran up spine replaying the memory over and over in my mind. This weekend was supposed to be all mine; no work, no reports, no stress. I pull myself out of the past hour and focus on the cinematic view covered in wet fog just outside my window. Today is Friday and it will not be spent in front of a computer. Instead of sulking around the farmhouse, I'll take the day to focus on me. Stepping away from the bench set under the window, I reach for my workout clothes and my favorite running shoes.

Sometimes I wouldn't mind having closer neighbors, but I am very grateful for my space. The nearest house is about half a mile out. Double checking that I have everything, I lock up and start the drive to the gym.

"How are you today, Miss. Rea?" Riley, the gym owner, asked.

"As well as can be expected. Is the floor clean?"

"Yes ma'am, everyday from one to three in the afternoon, per request."

"Thank you."

I start heading toward the massive windows overlooking the city. This view is the best in town. And I own it. I start warming up my legs with body weight squats and lunges. Something about completely forgetting the world around me and putting all my focus into training helps clear my mind. After completing my session, I picked up the skipping rope to finish off my training. I go to the mirrors that bisect the windows in the center if the room. I am not vain, but seeing my progress makes me smile from ear to ear. I took out my phone and started taking some pictures. I slipped my phone back in my gym bag and started heading toward the front desk just as three hit the clock.

"Need a food recommendation for your post-workout meal?" Riley asked.

"You know what? I think that's a good idea."

"There is an Italian place two blocks down, ask for Marco's special. That menu hits different. It's not as heavy, you know?"

"Oh, it sounds delightful and yes I do. Thank you. I'll see you tomorrow!"

Later after eating and doing a little shopping at the strip, I park my car in the garage and press the button to close the door. As soon as I open the door to the laundry room, Shay comes running and jumps up in my face.

By Kristaps Ungurs on Unsplash

"Haha I missed you too Shay. Wanna go for a walk?" Her bark was the answer I got, paired with her bolting for the back door. I grabbed her leash and filled up my water bottle. We usually walk straight through the backyard and out into the woods. The previous owners had created a hiking path and I have walked it almost everyday since I moved in. An hour passed and we were forced back inside by a thunderstorm.

After wiping down Shay and feeding her, I headed upstairs to shower and get ready for bed. Right as I started turning on the water, my boss's ringtone starts singing from the crumpled clothes on the floor.

"Hello? Rae, I need the first draft." Mila stated.

"What?"

"Can you hear me?"

"Of course I heard you, this is unbelievable! I thought you wanted everything on Sunday. You gave me this assignment yesterday!!!"

"I don't need it all, just the first draft."

"It's not done. I have a life outside of work too, you know."

"That tone is unacceptable. I expect you to have it done by four in the afternoon tomorrow." after a pause she added "Or you're fired." Then she hung up.

Tossing the phone on the bed, I turn to my shower. It's going to be a bath and straight to bed. After all that energy she just siphoned out of me over the phone, I'm going to need all the sleep I can get. I threw some lavender epsom salts in the water then got in. I didn't bother grabbing my phone or a book.

By Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

I awoke to the sound of barking and scratching. Shay. What is she doing? I know she is locked in the cage overnight, but she's never had this reaction. I get out of bed silently and make my way to the top of the stairs. Peeking around the wall, I see a shadow slowly making its way around my house. Checking rooms, then making a b-line toward the staircase. All my senses are already on high alert, and adrenaline is pulsing through my body. As silently as possible I race to my room, open my closet door and unlock the gun safe. Luckily I was a top shooter. I dropped down below eye level and inched my way out of the closet and back in bed before the door opened again. I took the safety off and fired two rounds, clipping the intruder to the wall. A few seconds later he dropped the bag he was holding.

"This is a gift and a curse. We will be waiting for your response." And with that he ran across the room, shoved the window open and jumped out. I ran after him only to see him land gracefully on the roof section, then on the ground. Then he was gone, vanishing in the fog.

I crossed the room and turned the lights on. I cautiously opened the bag. There was a black box at the bottom and $20,000 in cash. On the top of the pile sat a little black book and a note...

'Look over the material. If you decide to take the job, you need to cut all ties. We look forward to a mutual partnership.'

The black box had a Ruger Mk II. The cash was a welcome gift and the little black book was filled with names and personal information. This is it.. I can finally quit my current job.

Ruger Mk II with Tactical Solutions receiver, red dot holographic sight

fiction
3

About the Creator

Marta

Writing stories that other books have inspired.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.