Criminal logo

Shane Dawson New Series

Spoiler Alert! My Thoughts About the Human Trafficking Topic

By Kayla TriplettPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
1
Photo by Shane Dawson
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter." —Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Newest Conspiracy Theory Video

I'm a huge fan of Shane Dawson. I've been watching his videos for years now, and I think what he's been doing is absolutely amazing—especially over the past two years, as he has been skyrocketing from his video ideas. If you haven't seen his newest video yet, I will be revealing one of the biggest topics in the video. So, if you haven't watched it yet and you want to, click off of this article because there are spoilers.

About the Video

One of the main topics of his video is about the story of his best friend who had a terrifying experience with a guy she met on Tinder. I know that her name is in the video, but I feel it's not my place to include their actual names in this. Shane touched on the topic of human trafficking and the dangers of online dating. His friend has gone through so many things because of this guy she met online that was pretending to be a nice, charismatic guy. In reality, he had a different plan in mind for her. Over time, he starting showing his true self, and because she was vulnerable, he was able to hold onto her for a while and go through his plans with her.

I'm not trying to make her look bad whatsoever. I believe that NO ONE should have to go through anything that she went through. My heart really goes out to her and the experience she went through with herself and her son.

When things started getting out of control, she wanted to leave him because she was paying for a lot of his things. He told her that he was a doctor, lived out of country, and that the woman trying to warn her of him was obsessed over him. Over time, his stories started to not add up and when it came time to deliver her son, him and his mother were there for it. She stated that the mother would watch her during the delivery and made her feel uncomfortable. When her son was born, the guy and the mother would talk about how the baby was theirs. The mother pointed out that the baby had an outie belly button and to put a coin on it and wrap it in some gauze to make it normal looking.

I'm not here to tell her story, I was giving some background to what my thoughts are on this subject. To have all the details and explanations about her story, you can check out their newest video on Shane Dawson's YouTube channel.

My Thoughts

I didn't tell the whole story about Shane's friend because I feel wrong for doing so. I feel it's not my story to tell, but I wanted to give some context to my thoughts on this sensitive topic.

I feel for her, I really do. As a first time mother myself, I would be terrified of this situation. I love how she's coming out about this story despite how traumatizing it is for her because I think when things are talked about that people will be more educated on the topic and will watch out for the signs. I know that social media has evolved over the years and it continues to grow. I myself met one of my boyfriend's on a dating website and there are times where I shouldn't have met up with people.

The internet can be a curse and a blessing. You can access anything on the internet and find out new things you didn't know about. Schooling is online now and that's an amazing advancement to our society, but things can also be terrifying on the internet, too. People have been meeting others online for years now; some people find love, but others unfortunately meet their worst nightmare. The problem with dating websites, and other sites for that matter, is that you don't see the person face to face. Text messages can be taken the wrong way, people can portray themselves as someone else or give off a false lifestyle they live.

In Shane's video, they touched on the topic of human trafficking and unfortunately it happens to many people, most of whom are women and children. I couldn't imagine being ripped away from my kids and family, to be sold to a total stranger. I haven't known anyone personally that this has happened to, but the fact that it can happen to anyone is terrifying.

I hear stories on Facebook and other social media sources about kids being kidnapped and never seen again. I'm constantly looking at my surroundings when I'm alone with my kids because I'm so scared of something happening to myself or my kids.

I know that it may seem like I'm "overreacting," but the fact is that it does happen. This isn't fictional, this really happens to people and it happens too much for comfort. Shane's friend went through so much with the guy she met. To the younger groups who may be reading this, please just be careful who you interact with. This happens a lot online, and people can be good at being someone else, too. The experience that his friend went through will cause a lot of fear for when she wants to settle down with someone later on in life. She will have trust issues, trauma from her past with that guy, and this is going to change her life forever. Again, I'm not trying to make her out to be ignorant and dumb for what she went through, this is something that a lot of women and men go through every single day. Yes, women are just as capable as men to do these things.

I know I stated this before, but I'm going to say it again. Nothing that this woman went through was her fault. I feel for her. Her and her family and was extremely fortunate to be able to get out of that awful situation. If not anything else from this, I hope that that you all are careful of who you're talking to and the people you choose to be in your life. I would never wish what she went through on anyone. My purpose of this is to spread the awareness of what this woman and many others have gone through or continue to go through. For more information on Shane's friend, check out his YouTube video.

I wish you all nothing but the best, until next time.

tv review
1

About the Creator

Kayla Triplett

I spent a majority of my life in Virginia. I've always wanted to make a difference and I feel I can through my art and writing. I make up stories with emotions I've once felt or dreamed of. Life is a journey and isn't always expected.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.