Criminal logo

November, 22nd

Benjamin visits the coffee shop at Nov, 22nd

By Ayesha MunirPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
November, 22nd
Photo by Tim Evans on Unsplash

I remember walking past this old coffee shape everyday. Those old rusty windows and the crooked door made it look almost abandoned. I wondered who worked there. It was November 22 and the weather was pretty chilly. Mr. Joseph called me to come pickup the assignment he just finished reading. He wanted me to make a few changes to it. I left my apartment at 8:40 in the morning. The bus dropped me on the bus station about fifteen minutes away from my college. I started walking towards my college as I was texting my friends. The music played high in my headphones and I was dancing along the beat as I walked. Just as I entered the street, Mr. Joseph called me. "I'm really sorry kid but my son Ryan broke his ankle and I left for the hospital this morning" said Mr. Joseph. "Oh, It's okay. I hope he gets well soon" I answered as I walked towards a chair outside the old coffee shop. "Have you left your house?" asked Mr. Joseph as he breath heavily. "Yea, but it's totally fine. You don't have to worry" I replied in a soft voice. "Okay, Thank you so much. Listen I have to go" said Mr. Joseph. And before I could say anything, he hung up the phone. "What do I do now?" I whispered to myself as I sat on the chair. I placed my backpack on the little table and started texting again. I wasn't sure what to do anymore. The way back home was almost an hour and I had just finished travelling. I had not even had the breakfast so my energy was quiet low. "Hello sir, How can I help you?" called a shrill voice. I turned around and there stood and tall slim girl right in front of the crooked door to the coffee shop. She had beautiful black hair tied up in a messy bun. Her eyes were crystal blue and the sun made her face look moist and flawless. She wore a pink shirt and the headband matched her white skirt. "What a beauty!" I gasped. She laughed as I finished talking. Her smile was fabulous, those beautiful tan hands covered her lips as she blushed. "Thank you sir!" she replied. She has a badge that spelled 'Linda'. "Linda?" I asked. She nodded her head and said "That's my collogue" as she pulled out the chair next to mine and sat. "I'm Catherine, they call me Cat" she added. "Can I take you to a coffee?" I asked. "Haha, I'd love that but I don't know you" she replied as she fixed her headband. "DO NOT TALK TO STRANGERS! that's what they say" added Cat as she stared into my eyes. "Hurry up Cat! Take the damn order already" screamed a masculine voice from within the shop. "What would you like sir?" asked Cat as she stood up. "A coffee would be fine" I replied. She opened the door, turned back and gave me a smile.

After a few minutes, she returned with a coffee. "Here you go sir!" she said and placed the cup on the table. "You can call me Ben" I said. She smiled and placed her hand over my shoulder. "Anything else? Ben?" she asked. "No, Thank you Catherine" I replied as I took the sip of my coffee. "What about the date?" I said in a rush. "What is so attractive about me?" she said as she stopped walking towards the door. "Well, You!" I gasped and stood up. There was a moment of silence before she whispered into my ear saying: "Your head is attractive to me". I had goosebumps. And before I could reply she walked into the coffee shop. "My head?" I said to myself and sat down. I continued sipping my coffee but my head seemed stuck on Cat. She was an absolute beauty and this was my chance to get her attention. Just as I decided to walk into the shop to see her one last time before I leave, I noticed a note sticking out from beneath the cup. I pulled the note out and unfolded it. It said 'Shop, at 8:00 pm, today' in all capital along with her number written on the bottom left corner on the paper. It was Cat. She accepted my proposal. At least that was what I thought.

I placed my headphones back, turned the volume as high as I could and started walking back to the bus station. I was happy and nervous. This was a fairy looking woman who called me at a date. I was jumping and singing across the streets till I reached the station. To me, she was the best I've ever gotten. I reached home at 11:30 in the morning, ripped opened my wardrobe and started digging. I wanted to look sexy that night. I wanted to impress cat. So, I got ready. I wore a white shirt with a pair of ripped jeans, a pair of white sneaker and a brand new Rolex that my mother gifted me last month. I left my house at 6:30 pm and reached the shop at 7:40 pm. As I walked closer, I saw no lights. Neither did I see any customers or workers. It was a little odd so I decided to call Catherine before I entered the shop. I called her more than once and no one picked up. It was November so it was dark and the roads were almost empty. I was freezing so I decided to go inside. "Hello!?" I yelled as I opened the old crooked door. But no one replied. The shop was pretty dark so I turned my flash on. I started looking for the switch to all the lights. But as I was walking around the shop, I head people murmuring. I followed the voice till I reached a kitchen window. I could see people laying down, upside down. The view was not clear so I tried opening the window. There were tools all around the room, It was creepy. It seemed as they were planning a surgery or something. "What is happening here?" I whispered to myself as I curiously pulled the window because I wanted a better view.

The glass on the window was quite old, It fell and smashed down on the ground as I tried peaking through. I got confused and nothing was adding up till I saw Cat standing right next to a fat old man. She looked and me and I was scared and confused. I moved back and wanted to run but a heavy object was smashed on my head from behind. Before I was unconscious I heard them say something, something I've heard before. They said: "We really like your head!" as multiple voices laughed all at once. "Grab the tools Linda!" said the man as I tried fighting back.

guilty
1

About the Creator

Ayesha Munir

Hi, I'm a sophomore at the Institute of space technology on my way to complete my degree in Space Science. I write stories and other stuff cuz they don't let me write on campus, there ain't much opportunities but I seem to not stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.