Criminal logo

Missing! Book 1: Sierra Dawson

Chapter 1: Where's Sierra?

By Mikayla WrightPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Missing! Book 1: Sierra Dawson
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Kenzie is a 16-year-old girl who helps families around the world find their missing children. Her best friend Michael is 15 years old and is part of the team. They both go to Melbourne High School in Topeka, Kansas. They have been phenomenally successful in their adventures and have made a lot of friends who help on missions.

Suddenly Michael comes in with a piece of paper from their headquarters. "Jamie, we have a mission in Detroit, Michigan," Michael said, "who is it this time, Michael," Jamie asked overly concerned. "It's a 14-year-old girl named Sierra Marie Dawson. She was seen walking home from school but never arrived home." So, Jamie and Michael ran rapidly for their best team members for the job. "Hey Kenzie, we got a mission for you" Jamie shouted. "Sure, what're the details." "Well, uh Kenzie it's a Sierra from school when she went to Melbourne High" "I'll leave tomorrow morning at dawn." Kenzie couldn't wait to hurry over to Detroit to find Sierra who was one of her old friends.

The next morning Kenzie arrived at the Detroit Secret Agency awaiting more instructions. "Kenzie Malone, is that you?" "Oh, hey, Joan I heard about Sierra. How are you? Are their any updates?" "No I need to find her, please help me find her," Joan asked desperately. "I promise I will find her even if it's the last thing I do," Kenzie spoke. After that, the Head Commander, Mary-Anne Mackenzie, approached her. "Hello Kenzie, your commander sent me a text saying you were on your way to solving the disappearance of Miss Dawson" "Hello Ma'am, glad to be able to meet you finally." "I'll show you to your office" "Thank you." "Well it's not much under such short notice but i guess your only here to find Sierra then go back to Topeka, Kansas anyway " Commander Mackenzie stated. A few hours later, Kenzie started looking through Sierra's missing file and realized that there was a witness named Zach Donaldson. she thought to herself, "I need it to investigate him immediately."

Kenzie raced down to Remington Park in her 1999 Ford T truck. "Excuse me is there a Zach Donaldson here by chance today" "Yes I'm Zach Donaldson ma'am" "Hello, I'm Kenzie Malone I'm here regarding a disappearance. I was wondering if you happened to see this little girl on Tuesday, October 23rd" Uh I believe so, she was walking over there when I saw a white minivan drive next to her. I couldn't see anything, but I did hear a scream." "Did you happen to see the license plate number?" "yes, a matter of fact, I did, it was 43Z76HF." "Thanks, Zach, here's my card with my phone number, email if you see/remember anything else, thanks again" "No problem Ms. Malone." When Kenzie got back to her desk, she alerted Commander Mackenzie to have someone run the plate number as soon as possible. After a while, Kenzie wondered if the Commander's team interviewed Sierra's schoolteachers. "Hey, Commander has your team communicated at all with Sierra's teachers" "No, we haven't because none of the teachers would cooperate." "One of her teachers was Mr. Brown, correct?" "Yea, I believe so." "Okay, I'll go check it out and see if I can get anywhere," after ending the call, Kenzie headed toward Jefferson High School.

As she approached the quite enormous school, she kept thinking how easy it would be to hide a person if you never wanted them to be seen again. She confidently strolled into the school's office, the first thing she saw was a strangely creepy skeleton coat rack behind the secretary's desks. "Excuse me, can someone direct me to Mr. Brown's room please?" Kenzie asked. After a couple minutes, which felt like a lifetime, a skinny blond-haired person with raccoon eyes walked up to the front desk and said: "I'm sorry, who are you?" "Hello, I'm Kenzie, I here to speak with Mr. Brown please regarding a student." "Sadly, he is not available right now, I can leave him a message if you want to leave your phone number" "Sure my phone number is 616-435-9001 ext. 435." "Okay, I'll give him the message, thanks for stopping by" "No problem, have a momentous day." Kenzie thought to herself what a waste of time. Then she had an idea "Excuse me, sorry to bother you miss, uh" "My name is Ms. Garber. Andrea Garber" the secertary said, "How may I assist you again Ms. Malone" "I was just wondering where the closest restroom was located?" "Yes of course, It's the third door on your right." "Perfect! Thank you" Kenzie said. Now all she had to do was find Mr. Brown's classroom.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mikayla Wright

All I want to have people who enjoy reading to enjoy my stories whether fiction or part of my life stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.