Criminal logo

Misery

Blood and tears

By Sapna SharmaPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
1
Misery
Photo by Shifaaz shamoon on Unsplash

" I will pay you back as soon as I get money...My kids are hungry please I really need some money." A woman in her early 20s was begging a man standing in front of big bungalow "I am only responsible for my own kids and their hunger you should think about your kids by yourself. A person should always know his limits and shouldn't make any reckless decision as you made. What were you thinking while leaving your husband Ayat? You should have thought about your daughters and their hunger that time. I have nothing for you not even sympathy." The man left after saying these words but the woman she remained there glancing with teary eye. After 5 minutes she puts her head up, turned back started to walk. It was about 6.30 in the morning. The sun has raised up she was walking as fast as she could to reach home. While walking all she could think about were the words she heard just a while ago. She still couldn't believe it was her father who said these things to her. Even after knowing what all she has been gone through. She soon reached home. She wiped off her tears at the door and entered the room with a smile. She woke her daughters up. Her eldest was four while her youngest was only three. Her youngest daughter started crying as soon as she woke up because of hunger. Ayat asked her elder daughter to take care of her sister while she ran out to grab something to eat. She locked the door before leaving. Without any money when she went to the shop the owner gave her bread and milk with a smile but the way he looked at her creeped Ayat out. His eyes made her feel thousand stings in her body she ran out of that shop without buying anything. She was only 25, young and beautiful and most importantly an alone woman. Ayat lost all her hopes that day. She didn't want to go back without food. She saw a temple and entered there as if there was no one else who could help her that time. She saw an offering in front of idol. She asked for the forgiveness stole that money to get food for her daughters. She bought some milk and bread from the offering and headed back to her room. As she reached there she saw her younger daughter was crying out loud and her elder was nowhere to find. She looked for her everywhere. The room was empty as there was just a mat where mother and daughter used to sleep so there is no way she was hiding her. Ayat ran out of her room asking everyone if they saw her daughter. But all in vain. As she was roaming on the streets like a crazy woman a woman told her husband coming this way. It scared Ayat to her core. Her husband...?? She ran to the police station. She tried to tell them her husband has kidnapped her daughter but they were trying to calm her down as the daughter can stay safe with her father. A lady officer who was in her 30s who was trying to calm her down asked her "Why are you so afraid of your husband?" What Ayat told them next was really hard to believe for anyone.

"My husband was chosen by my father. I was 18 at that time and since I had no mother I thought my life with my husband will be like a fairytale. He would give me all the love I have been craving for since childhood. But..."

"As soon as we get married I came to know he is just a brat who likes to spend his money recklessly. He was alcoholic and more than that a gambler. We lost our everything house, property everything to his gambling. When I was 8 months pregnant with my elder daughter he came home drunk. He wanted to gamble on my Jewlery now. I was not ready for this I tried to fight him but he grabbed me with my hair and pulled me from stairs to the road he sat on my belly and punched me on my face that broke my front teeth partially." Ayat started crying after telling this much. Everyone in the room felt sympathetic towards Ayat.

The lady officer comforted her and asked " Why have you not informed your parents?" "Parents....huh" Ayat smirked. "When I went to my parents house after few days he came there. He convinced my parents that I was cheating on him with some other man. My parents forced me to go with him. And when I left with him only then I get to know what kind of person he is actually....."

"Sir we have found something..." A constable barged in the room. We have tracked down the location of her husband. "Really...? It means my daughter must be with him. Sir please lets go I want to see my daughter." Police arrested the husband from a brothel. "Where is your daughter?" asked the officer.

"What daughter?"

"Your daughter where......is....she?" officer rigid his tone.

"Do I have a daughter? "He turned towards his wife and whispered "do I?" with a smirk.

"I only have one daughter officer and that is in her arms." he pointed at Ayat.

"How can you say this? Don't you have any shame? Where is my daughter?"

"Now the question is correct. Your daughter....umm where is she? Should I tell you or should I not?" He laughed. His evil laughter fill everyone in the room with anger.

"Sir I....I beg you please find my daughter as soon as you can he is a monster he must have done something to her."

"Relax Ms Ayat it is his daughter as well I am sure he hasn't done anything wrong with her. Many time husbands use kids to get back their wives that's normal." A lady constable said.

"He is not normal ma'am. He is not the type of person you think he is."

Ayat continued, " What can you expect from a man who lost his daughter in a gambling game even before her birth.....Sir I beg you please find my daughter."

"Sir we have found a girl...I think Ms Ayat should come and verify if its her daughter." a constable informed.

AFTER 1 MONTH

Ayat is cooking in her kitchen and her younger one is playing on the mat. The house where Aayat is now seems bigger than her previous one. Ayat heard the giggling of her elder daughter who was running around the room.

As Ayat was cooking a news on the TV was flashing in the hall.

"Today there is a new update on the Evil father's case. The case that ashamed the humanity. A father sold his 3 years old daughter to a man, aged 33, just for 5000 rupees. The girl was found dead in a brothel. She died during the sexual assault, her limbs were found broken, her internal organs were damaged as well as well. Fathers DNA was also found in daughter during her medical, which indicates father has also assaulted the daughter before she died. As father keep insisted it was not his biological daughter the DNA test verifies otherwise which means he rapped his own blood and than sold it to another man. Both the culprits applied for bail and are out now.The mother has been provided with money by minister and it is said the new rules are going to be even more strict......

"Mumma food ready yet?"

Ayat turned with a smile, looked at her daughters and served the food.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.