Criminal logo

Il meet you where the Night Owl Sleeps

Crossroads of Consequence

By Leonel GEPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Somewhere in Mexico

Owls have always been a symbol of wisdom in many cultures; Where I’m from, a single feather of a white owl can mean a world of fortune.

Believing this,I spent my childhood exploring the Ranch of my grandfather, listening to the night calls of owls in hopes I could find the one to grant me good luck;

Little did I know, that it would lead me to find the love of my life, on the other side of the river dividing two completely different worlds. I don’t know what she was doing on the riverbed; but as soon as my eyes locked on to hers for the first time that night, my selfish endeavors to find a feather had extinguished completely and any question I ever had was long gone, I knew I was at her mercy then; but I didn’t fully realize that until I had the privilege to kiss her for the first time years after congregating at that same place where barn owls nest behind the riverbed.

Our night together was interrupted by an orchestra of gunfire a few miles behind my side of the river, a sound I had grown tried of listening to, she held on to my arm tightly as she knew I had to return to my world; a sad world where I was glad she didn’t exist.

She heard stories of who my family was and what things I’ve done in the past, but that never stopped her from getting involved with me, that never stopped her from trying to make me stay with her, maybe she believed I could change, maybe she saw the good in me; I embraced her for the last time and turned away as I knew the look on those beautiful eyes would have convenced me to surrender, she placed a folded piece of white cloth in my hand before I parted.

I open my eyes realizing I’ve been reminiscing a moment in my life that had happened days ago, I find myself unable to move my legs as Im leaning against the tire of a pickup truck reddled with bullets. I reach into my pocket and pull out the folded cloth I was gifted,stained in crimson red; I open the cloth to see a white feather still intact;

I hear radio chatter and the steadfast pace of soldiers coming closer towards me but there is no point in being afraid anymore; I turn towards the sight of the rising sun over the horizon; I wish I could have gone to her and tell her I love her but it is time for this night owl to sleep.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.