Criminal logo

I don't want this.

Little black book challenge No.3

By CosmicAliPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
I don't want this.
Photo by Free To Use Sounds on Unsplash

As I get out of my car just outside of town, I felt my stomach drop, I knew something was coming my way, I turned around and had a black bag put over my head and arms around my arms and chest holding me and the bag on my head down. I couldn't see anything and I was yelling "Who are you? What are you doing?" I felt another hand push my head down and the arms that were around me pushed me into what felt like the backseat of a car and they slammed the door behind me.

I sat up and took the bag off my head, there was a barrier between the front and backseats, two men in ski masks were sitting in the front, "Yo, where are you taking me?" They just kept watching the road, and we were getting close to the desert.

Seen as they aren't telling me anything, I'll ask myself that question, "Who would do this to me?" Instantly I knew what was going on, I left the drug game a few months ago and the boss kept contacting me and I kept rejecting him.

"Yo, this is about me trying to leave the game isn't it?" I said to the guys in the front, the one in the passenger seat looked at me for a couple of seconds then looked back at the road. "Hey, I'm out of the game alright, he can't force me to keep making this crap."

"Will you shut the fuck up?" The driver said calmly.

"Will you give me an answer?" I waited about 10 seconds "No response, great, whatever."

I then decided to sit back and look out the window. I watch the distance of how far we've driven through the desert, I can see the mountains get further away behind us and I see a big, kind of new-ish looking barn ahead.

When we pulled up to the barn, the passenger and the driver were both at one door so they could both hold my biceps while we walk into the barn so I couldn't do anything. When we got into the barn, I saw a fresh new meth lab, and the boss is looking right at with a couple more guys in ski masks, the boss is quite tall, in his mid 30s, fit and has a black haired bob cut.

"Jake! It's good to see you again buddy." The boss said to me with his arms out and a big smile.

"Yeah, wish I could say the same." I said to him trying not to get angry.

The boss chuckles "Well, you know me, I tend to get what I want." He says with a smirk.

"More like you'll force shit upon others for your own benefit."

"Yeah that too, because boy, we got a whole lot more customers who are wanting to buy our shit."

"You mean my shit, my recipe, I'm the cook, and you're the greedy boss."

"Thats right, you're the cook and I'm the boss, so do as I say."

"Fuck you."

"Hmmm I could fuck you over later if you want." He laughs then turns around to the guys he was standing with when I arrived "Boys, tie him up to the harness so he can't run away." While the guys are putting a harness on me that's connected to the roof, the boss looks at me and says "Don't worry, I can make you a deal, you cook for about 48 hours straight, and I will give you $20,000, deal?"

"Do I get a choice?"

"Yeah, or you can work for free, what do you choose?"

"I guess the money."

"Good, I'm glad you're not trying to fight this anymore. Alright the harness is on, everything you need is in reaching distance, if you need me for food and bedtime there is a phone, but don't bother trying to call anyone else as it's only dialled to my number only, enjoy." He and the 4 men in ski masks all drove off.

"WHAT THE FUCK!" I yelled and kicked an empty bucket that was close by, thinking "god dammit, oh well lets get this shit over and done with."

After 6 hours I had done a few loads and packaged it all, I called the boss and said I'm hungry and sleepy. About 20 minutes later the boss arrived with a mattress, bedding and a burger, he helped me make my bed, I sat on the bed and ate my burger, he sat on a seat and ate the burger he got for himself. When I finished eating I said him,

"I don't get how you can be so nice yet so nasty."

"I think it's because I have both good and bad parts that like to come out, other than some people who try to hide their sides. I'm someone that likes and knows how to get what I want, I might put some people through torture for it, but I'll always try to give them a comfortable torture."

"If I wasn't your victim I'd probably be laughing with you."

"Hey, it's just 48 hours taken from your life, being tied up doing something that's gonna get you a lot of money, with free food and bedding."

"Yeah thanks, I love eating Macca's and sleeping on the floor." I said sarcastically.

"I can make you sleep on the actual floor if thats what you want."

"I'm good, thanks."

"No problem. Well, I'm gonna go home, want me to bring you something in the morning?"

"Coffee thanks."

"Got it. Goodnight." He leaves and shuts the door.

As I lay on the bed, I wonder how I'll ever fully get out of this business if he managed to hunt me down that easily. Maybe I could use the $20,000 to leave the country? No, they might ask where I got the money from. What could I even get with that money? I don't really need this money, what if I gave it away? Too early to plan it.

Next morning I woke up to crows squawking while flying passed the barn, it would of had to be about 7am, I got up feeling disgraced as I looked around the barn with all the lab equipment, shameful of myself for getting into this business in the beginning, can't leave the game, because once you're in, you're in for life. I heard a car drive up to the barn, it stops, a car door opens then closes, foot steps getting closer then the big barn doors open and of course, it's the boss.

"Ah you're awake, good morning Jake, how are you feeling?" He says quirkily.

"Ashamed." I replied.

"What, of the drug business? Why you get tons of money for it!"

"Yeah money I can't spend much on, I don't even need it."

"Then save it for a rainy day, here's your coffee and I got you a ham and cheese croissant too."

"Thanks. Hey can I get some music here while I work to keep me distracted from the mind chatter?"

"Yeah sure, I'll come back in the middle of the day. I got business to do so I'm off again, bye."

"Ok, ciao."

In the middle of the day, in the barn, in the middle of the desert, it got so hot it felt like my sweat was sweating. When the boss came back he brought music and luckily he knew I needed a fan and more water.

At the end of the day, the boss brought me back a pizza and and handed me a little black book and he said,

"Write or draw or do whatever in it, it's to keep your mind at ease." He then took the packages of drugs and left.

I didn't want to be so negative anymore, so I started to write down everything I'm grateful for in the little black book, then I wrote down plans of what I could do after this, wrote down possible plans of escape and drew a few pictures of creatures.

The following morning, I started working again at about 7am, but the boss didn't came back until 9am, he came in and said,

"Alright Jakey boy, you are free, you don't need to keep cooking anymore."

"Sweet, though I'm almost finished this batch should I finish it off or you don't care?"

"Yeah may as well, do you need some help?"

"Yeah sure, thanks."

"No problem. Do you want to sit down, eat your croissant and drink your coffee while you can tell me how to finish this off?"

"Sure can."

After we finished the last batch, he called out to the guys in ski masks that came here with him, they put me in the backseat of the same car I came here in. When we got to my neighbourhood, the boss let me out of the car and gave me a bag with $20,000 in it.

"It was nice doing business with you." He said

"I want to say thanks and fuck you at the same time."

"Fair enough, see you round." He sat back in his car and drove off.

"I hope not." I said as I watched him he drive away.

When I got inside, I looked at the money and it didn't feel right to keep, I sat and thought all day what I could do with the money, by the time it was night time I had a good idea.

I went to every door in the neighbourhood and put $500 at every door till all my money was gone, I stayed up and watched everyone from my verandah wake up to a surprised at their door, how so many people got into tears of joy, some were paranoid and others didn't care, either way, I felt happy to get rid of it and to watch everyone else receive it.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

CosmicAli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.