Criminal logo

Home Is Where the Murder Is

The twisted story of how Chris Watts killed his family​ and hid a gay secret.

By Edward AndersonPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

“My daddy is a hero, he helps me grow up strong. He helps me snuggle too. He reads me books. He ties my shoes. You’re a hero through and through. My daddy, daddy, I love you.” Bella Watts sang about her father, and murderer, Chris Watts. Watching the video of the little girl sing her daddy's praises is chilling. In the span of days, he would take her life, as well as the lives of her mother, her sister Celeste, and unborn brother. Chris Watts pleaded through the media for his family to return, “I just want everybody to come home,” an act of a desperate man, who needed to cover his tracks with his family missing and an alleged boyfriend coming out of the woodwork.

After a family friend, not Chris Watts, but someone else reported Shan'ann missing, the police found that she had returned from a business trip safe and sound. They arrested Watts. Two days after his family went missing, the police and prosecutors felt that they had enough evidence to lock him up. What did they have? Shan'ann's dead body. Which was found on the property of Chris' former employer, Anadarko Petroleum's property. Her grave was shallow, in an oil work site. Their daughters were found in crude oil barrels. While no official word has been released as to what caused them to die, Chris' own attorney has suggested that it was strangulation.

According to Chris, he did indeed kill his wife. But her death was her fault. He is alleging that after he asked for a divorce upon her return from her business trip, she strangled Celeste. He also claimed that he found Bella's body lifeless. So, he strangled Shan'ann. The police say that there is no way that what Chris says is true, and why would they believe him? If Shan'ann did indeed kill the girls, why wouldn't he call the police and let them know? Also, why would he bury all three bodies? His actions are taking martial strife to a whole new level.

What were the marital issues that lead to this? Allegedly Chris was having an affair with one of his coworkers. He denied cheating on Shan'ann, at least initially. However, he did say that there was a discussion that happened, “It wasn’t like an argument. We had an emotional conversation; I’ll leave it at that.” No wife wants to hear that her husband has been sleeping with a man. As of press time, the man has not been identified publicly despite giving interviews. While not the coworker that Chris had slept with, this unidentified man says they met on an app called MeetMe. The Mystery Man says, “He messaged me. It all seemed very innocent at first…He was listed as straight and not bi or homosexual….I met him in person." He continues, giving more details about the affair, "The first time we met he came over to the place I was staying in Loveland, Colorado, which is pretty much a neighboring town to Frederick. It was clear that he was interested in me and attracted to me.” Mystery Man says that he and Chris carried on their affair for about 10 months before calling it quits for good.

What led to the break up of this illicit affair? Well, one of Chris' daughters spilled the beans about Chris still being married. “He told me had children, but he portrayed that he was single, and there was some point that I met up with him and got in his Ford pickup, and he had his daughters with him, and the oldest pretty much spilled the beans that he was still married. She asked him if she could sleep with him and mommy tonight.” And boom goes the homosexual love affair that could have caused Chris to murder his family. Mystery Man finished his story, "I asked why he lied to me. He told me he knew he wouldn’t have a chance with me if he told me he was married." Chris also tried to make excuses for his actions, again blaming Shan'ann for leading him to this place. "He told me what I wanted to hear…He told me his wife was verbally and emotionally abusive…He told me he didn’t love her. She didn’t love him. I knew something was wrong at home..." Despite his attempts at placing the blame on his wife, Chris seems to have made a mistake.

A non-porous bag was found near the graves. There is a footprint on it, though there is no word on the size. What has been revealed is that the State has asked for permission to take a footprint from Chris to see if it matches.

Chris Watts is currently being held in prison after bond was denied. He is reportedly on suicide watch because of threats he has made to wardens and other people. Shan'ann's family wants to see him fry. But Mystery Man may have gotten the harshest words in; "I hope he gets convicted and I hope he stays in prison for the rest of his life.”

guilty
Like

About the Creator

Edward Anderson

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.