Criminal logo

He did it

He definitely did it

By Cassidy BPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

He's just sitting in that room, breathing calmly as if he didn't do anything. We have the proof of all those terrible things he did so why does he look like he's so innocent, is that how mad this man is...

I've seen so many people sit in that blank empty room, most people sweat, can't sit still, blink a lot, stare scared at the table, or just fidget in general; this psycho is just sitting there, eyes closed as if meditating. Screw this guy.

I just need him to tell me where he put the girl.

Gotta keep my cool and make him tell me, I got this, I got this...

open the door...

"Trevor you could just tell us where the girl is,"

"I told you earlier, I've never seen the girl,"

"And let me remind you that we have proof of you WITH the girl at her last none location, what was her name?"

"Are you testing me with knowledge you've already given me? Her name is Beatrice, like you said earlier," there's that stupid smirk, "officer you could make this even easier and just let me go home."

"Trevor you are going to be caught for this,"

"Can't be caught for something I never did,"

I need a moment for me to collect my patience to not punch this annoying man-child.

"Where were you last night at 11:00 pm?"

"at my house"

"You were caught on camera at the convenient store from 10:44 pm to 11:13 pm, so why do you have to lie, just tell me the truth,"

"How sure are you that it's me? What if I had proof showing you I was home at that time?"

"What's your proof?"

"Can I pull my phone out?"

"I'll grab it out for you" I should drop it, but that would be paperwork... "Here show me without taking it off the table"

"So stingy," his password is 6969... I hate this guy so much "here's a video that's time stamped at 10:30pm yesterday"

The video is of him sitting in a chair reading "Criminology for Dummies" and the video lasts until 11:30... This guy is a real ass. How the fuck am I going to explain this one...

"Can I leave now?"

"No."

"I know you can't hold me forever."

"I could just arrest you and make my case"

"And you COULD just lose your battle, are you going to chance that officer..."

He is so lucky I like my job... I'll run it by George again...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

"George, I need something, tell me they found something, a different camera angle, SOMETHING," Anything please...

"Calm down Jack, they found a note, but you're not going to want to hear about it..."

"Tell me," Oh thank the lord they found something.

"It has her finger prints, and yours."

"What." How.

"Jack did you know the girl?" How dare he.

"No! What does it say?"

"Actually we want you to tell us what it says?"

"I didn't even know there was a note! I know nothing about it! Don't make me get the Lieutenant involved!"

"She already is."

"What the fuck is going on?!"

"I didn't want to repeat myself but Jack I need you to calm down"

*click*

"YOU"RE PUTTING ME IN CUFFS?!"

"It's procedure."

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

How the fuck did this change to me sitting cuffed to a table? How is the procedure when an "officer" is involved, which I'm not. Okay think...

think...

Well they can't be dumb enough to keep me in here until they can't hold Trevor no longer... George better not be on the case now...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

It has had to have been an hour now, what are they talking about.

"Can I at least have water?" No response how typical.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Okay Jack,"

"Lieutenant Fitman. I..."

"Save it Jack. We know everything."

"You've arrested Trevor?"

"You're going to jail for a long time"

"I'm so confused Lieutenant..."

"You have the right to remain..."

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

It felt like from that moment on my life slowed down, everything is in slow motion now.

The day they took me in, the day the court ruled me guilty.

Nothing was ever right after that.

They tried me for the murder of Juliette Hidmary. The note they found read simply "She's in my trunk" and that's where they found her, in my cruiser's trunk, dead. I'm still dumb founded about it all. Sure they put me in a safer jail than most because they know what happens to officers... so that was nice of them, but I'm frustrated I was even put here, I'M INNOCENT!

Some nights I wonder if I did kill her... did i sleep murder? Is that absurd to even imagine? How was the note in my hand writing? Could that have been me on the camera footage and I couldn't notice myself because why would I...

I'm not sure.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Jack you have a visitor."

"It's been 5 years and NOW someone wants to talk to me..."

"Follow me or don't I could care less."

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Window five."

"George?"

"Jack."

"Out of all the people,"

"Are you angry?"

"By this point? Of course. If that's all you want then leave."

"No Jack... I need to know, why"

"Why what?"

"Why'd you do it?"

"I didn't murder her!"

"You're right."

"You believe me?"

"Yeah."

"Then help me get out! Why didn't you believe me any sooner!"

"You need to stay here Jack."

"George... you didn't,"

"Oh, but I didn't"

"I'm very lost."

"Trevor killed her, and when we were at the scene he put her in your trunk, he told me to make sure you were on the case"

"Who's Trevor to you? George you need to tell everyone! Are you being threatened?"

"No, Jack, I'm not being threatened. Don't you understand?"

"No George, I'm VERY lost,"

"It'll be okay Jack,"

"It hasn't been okay for a long time now George!"

"You're in here for a reason Jack"

"You told me YOU believed me!" George is getting on my last nerve!

"Jack I will ask you once and only once to keep your voice down or I will cut your visit short" Oh shut up stupid guard.

"George..."

"You're in here because you bullied me in middle school, high school, boot camp, and at work every damn day, everyone gets what they deserve in the end..."

"I've done shit all to you,"

"Trevor was put on Earth to make all the bad people in my life go away."

"You sound like a crazy person, how I've treated you wasn't even THAT bad,"

"You never saw it from my side..."

*BUZZ*

"Times up! Time to go back to your cells!"

"George what the fuck is wrong with you,"

"You're fine, you're still alive aren't you"

"You need help, and so God once I get out..."

"JACK! Your visit is over" He just smiled watching me leave the window. George's smile is now burnt into my head. I hate him.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's been 10 years now and I've replayed that encounter in my head over and over, could he really have been that hurt from me calling him stupid names, and that locker incident once... but how could he live with himself knowing what Trevor has done, did I really deserve this?

I got the mail today and read through everything like always, it's the only thing that connects me to the outside, and in the paper told me everything I needed to know.

"Serial Killer Trevor Judstun confesses to 27 murders after Officer George Pletty dies from accidental overdose. Trevor Judstun last statement before jumping off the New York Times Building was that he was raised to be this way. Upon further investigation proof has emerged that Judstun had been secretly living with Officer Pletty since Age 3"

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

After Trevor confessed to the murder of Juliette I was a free man again, after some paperwork of course. My wife has moved on and wants nothing to do with me and I could never be an Officer ever again. I live with my mom and dad again and I go to therapy, I guess things just go back to what they once were, all that time I did was for what?

Reflection?

Who knows.

This world is fucked up.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Cassidy B

Trying new ways to express the inner imagination I have, and hopefully people will enjoy it! Read on fellow readers :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.