Criminal logo

Ghana's Televised Child Marriage on 30, March 2024 a 63-Year Old Man Married a 12-Year Old Child

This event was disturbing to say the least & this is one of the ignored issues happening in Ghana

By IwriteMywrongsPublished about a month ago 5 min read
1
Photo Created by author from Screenshots from Facebook and CANVA

Sunday, 31 March 2024

By: TB Obwoge

I've tried my best to register my American nonprofit in Ghana, however I refused to pay bribery money, I refused! There is no reason that Ghanaians should be thinking of charging bribes to people and organizations that are coming to their country to do charitable work.

Work that the government should be doing in an moral and functioning country. There are estimates on the number of street children in Ghana. Most numbers claim that there are 100,000, in a documentary on the street children, in which Ghanaians have even created a word for, its "streetism", the documentary is heartbreaking.

Children as young as a year old can be seen walking the streets of Ghana. People (Ghanaians) usually claim that the children are being sent out to beg by their parents. However if you find yourself talking to those that can speak English, many don't have parents.

I've not only read about the issues which force them to the streets, I've asked several myself.

One boy made it 4 hours from his home town to living on the streets of Accra. He said that his mother's new husband beat him. The boy had nothing but the clothing on his back, he did odd chores and found someone that charged him 1 cedi to use some water to bathe & wash his one outfit as needed. He lived in an incomplete house.

Accra and all of Ghana is known for structures that were never finished construction. There are so many ugly, graveyard monuments of failed projects that the government refuses to take possession over and sell off. It would be a blessing not only to others but make the filthy and over-crowded city look more alive.

Street children in Ghana often fall victim to sexual assaults, rape and even murder. There is no secret that in Ghana people still practice archaic, ritualistic sacrifices.

A few short months ago in Ghana a man killed his 3-week old baby for a ritual. There have been people known to steal new born babies from Ghana hospitals for sale and use in rituals.

Children in Ghana are not always treated well. When I was giving out tee shirt, coloring books, pencils and other items, children were often fearful of taking the items. I had to resort to often times seeking out parents instead.

When giving out reading books, I was saddened to find that many of the children couldn't read. Children in JHS & SHS (junior high school and senior high school), which makes me question Akufo-Addo's claim during a speech where he said 85% of Ghanaians are litterate.

Ghana hasn't had textbooks in the country for 5-years and the now Vice President claims that they're giving out 1 laptop to 1 student. Some almost 5000 schools in Ghana are still under trees, while others have nothing in them, no furniture, no books, no desks, nothing.

All of this leads to Ghanaians having poor education, less employment and leads many to engage in these types of human rights nightmares.

I had written about a Ghanaian blogger, he went to posting several African women for Women's History Month. However he had an odd way of sexualizing every woman he thought was attractive. He would also place, "She is Single" under the bio of their lives that he posted to his Facebook account. 

I found it very odd, I wasn't the only one, several people asked why he added that to their 'write up.' He then used this copy and pasted reply, it was his way to try to insult them I guess. Any who, when I posted a reply to someone else, the man quickly blocked me. Which was no problem, however when going back to my Facebook page I found several notices from his page. 

Odd, so I checked them, apparently the man had 2 pages but one was sending me new posts notifications. To which I looked on his page, then I saw it, there was a post about a man of the Ga Tribe marrying a 12-year old child. I wish I had never seen this post but since I did I am here to write about it as much as possible.

Photo from Facebook Post About the Wedding in Ghana

Below you can watch the video I created on my YouTube account, it tells you call the details of the wedding and the girls age.

Also there is plot twist, this same Facebook account belonging to Frank Add, also posted screenshots of a message he received in his inbox. Below are the screenshot and also I've written out their text.

Hello Manye... hope you're doing well...so I'm messaging you regarding the trending pictures of the Nungua Gborbu wulormo getting married to the 12 year old

I've lived in nungua almost all my life...that man is already sleeping with the little girl...he's married and abandoned about 4 young girls already but we never saw this one coming

You see all the little priestesses, it's just sad....unless he doesn't want you, he'll send for you and you must show up..something really needs to be done about this one...but unfortunately looks like her family already consented to it...guess they have no options, he married one young lady recently and they have a child together ,she's a priestess, he started sleeping with the girls sister and said he wanted her too....their mother agreed so he had both sisters to himself...and now this little girl! Crazy

The things this man is doing in nungua errhnnne. He's already sleeping with her

Anyone who comments under your post saying he will wait till she's older is a pedophile just like him...!!

He's here sleeping with little girls in the town

Especially the little priestesses.

Source Facebook

screenshot from Facebook

Screenshot from Facebook

By the way, here is where this town is located within Accra, Ghana, this isn't like this place is in a remote village in Ghana. This is in Accra the capital of Ghana, this is around the same place where a man had sex with his wife's sister, she too was 12-years old. The local chief only made them slaughter some animals, the man never was called by the Ghana police for raping this child. 

Imagine what is happening in some of the villages in Ghana, as a matter of fact about 60% of Ghana isn't developed, God knows what is happening to children there. 

Nungua is a town in Krowor Municipal District in the Greater Accra Region of southeastern Ghana near the coast.

Screenshot from Google Maps

Thank you for reading 🙏🏽 Please consider buying a coffee for Lacey's House efforts in Gender Equality & Children's Rights.

©️TB Obwoge 2024 All Rights Reserved

CONTENT WARNINGtravelinvestigation
1

About the Creator

IwriteMywrongs

I'm the president of a nonprofit. I've lived in 3 countries, I love to travel, take photos and help children and women around the world! One day I pray an end to Child Marriages, Rape and a start to equal Education for ALL children 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.