Criminal logo

Fated

By Anna James

By Anna JamesPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1

prologue

Hey, my name is Akame Kuri. Yes, I know it’s a weird name but it’s the name I was given at five years old by the institute. Now the institute is a big organisation that advertises different small businesses over Tokyo, so why did they give me a new name? I can answer that one easy. The institutes full title is the institute of Chinmoku assassination training facility. T.I.O.C for short. And yes, you heard right, assassins. The institute is an underground part of the government that no one knows about. Remember when you were five years old and you had to do that weird exam week full of practical assessments and problem-solving issues? That was the institutes way of finding kids to kidnap and train. I was one of those kids so if you didn’t pass you should be happy… this is no life I would have chosen for anyone. Anyway, moving on. The institute doesn’t only train assassins they send them out on missions and give them contracts and I can guarantee every one of the assassins have been experimented on. I know I have. I was made a half breed between a witch and a vampire don’t ask me how I have no idea I was five and unconscious for most of it. The training was hard and painful I can tell you now. But I got my first contract at the age of ten, an old couple who owed a lot of money to the institute. I mean it’s not like I can refuse they have my twin sister captive so I did what any sibling would do. I took my poisoned katana and I went and killed the old couple. I cried so much that night but Its al part of the job. After that the killing came easier. Deep breath, get in, kill, get out. Soon enough I became the institutes youngest assassin and the best in the country. I never really thought of morals or why the institute wanted people dead its all part of the job so I did what I had to. That was until my recent contract.

Chapter 1.

My head hurts. I sit up rubbing my head as memories flood back. The party my fellow assassins had thrown for me upon my return from a difficult contract. I look around my room. I haven changed it since my first day here. The day my whole world got turned upside down. No, I can’t think about that I got to go hand in my report. I get up and grab a clean uniform from the old pink draws on the far side of my room. Pictures of me and my sister, Silica training line the walls of the room. An old teddy bear lays on the grey carpet from where it must have fell off the bed last night when I went to bed after the party. Man, we are so going to get in trouble for that too. We aren’t allowed to have parties when we are working, which is pretty much every day. I sigh and head out of my room my long black hair pulled back into a tight ponytail as I make my way down the all in my slippers passing other assassins. Some smile but others give me dirty looks. They don’t like that I get most of the contracts now that I’m seventeen and able to travel unnoticed. I roll my eyes and go into the bathroom locking the door behind me. The walls are a sea green with little shells on the bath tub is huge and can hold me and possibly four other assassins my age. The tiles are cold on my feet as I start the water running and take off my clothes and untie my hair. Its colder in here than normal. I wonder if the younger assassins have been messing with the temperature again. I shake my head and get in the bath turning the water faucet off. I lay back in the water closing my eyes enjoying the peaceful quietness. My mind drifts to Silica. Where are you? Where are they keeping you? My thoughts are interrupted by knocking on the door. I jump, water sloshing over the side of the tub I sit up ready to jump out at a moment’s notice.

“Kuri? Hurry up you have a new assignment!” a pissed of voice yells through the door. I know exactly who that is. Malakia Sureiya. My worst enemy and my competitor at the institute. We were taken from the same neighbourhood and everything has always been a competition between us. Even when we were kids. I rub my face and relax slightly.
“Okay Sureiya, give me a chance to bathe, will you?!” I grab the soap and sponge and start washing myself hearing his mocking from the other side of the door. I swear I am so going to kill him one of these days. I rinse the soap off and get out pulling the plug as I do.

“Kuri! Hurry up. The boss is waiting!” Malakia bangs the door again as I pull on my clothes. I tie my wet hair in a plait quickly and open the door grabbing Malakia by the throat and pin him against the wall. Other assassins stop and watch us but none intervene.

“Listen Sureiya, I will take my god damn time doing whatever it is I am doing and not you or anyone else is going to stop me. Got it?” I speak slowly a glint of rage in my eye as I push my face closer to his, my hand tightening around his throat as he nods. I smile innocently.

“Good, now get out of here before I really do kill you.” I let go of his throat and push him to the ground before turning around and walking down the hall. I would so kill that guy if it weren’t against the rules. He really pisses me off.

I walk back to my room and grab my katana and my finished report. With one last look around the room that portrays a scared little girl, I pull the door shut behind me. I head to the boss’s office.

I shift in my chair as two guards stand at the door watching me. I hate waiting. It always makes me uneasy. I need to be moving, constantly. Guess that’s the joys of being an assassin. I look around the waiting room, bored. Rickety book shelves cover the length of one wall. Most of the titles I recognise, I’ve been here that many times its unreal.im so engrossed in the books on the shelves I don’t hear the office door open, I don’t hear the boss saying goodbye to the assassin before me, I don’t hear the footsteps crossing the room to me and I don’t hear the brush of cloth on cloth as the boss touches my shoulder. It made me jump. I turn fast and grab his wrist ready to snap it if needed. The boss laughs.

“Still as quick as ever, Kuri. I thought I had the drop on you that time.” Chris Yu, the boss and creator of the institute, and a right creep. He always seems to have the younger assassins do dirty jobs for him, or have them assist him when in his office. He is another one id kill if I could, but seeing as he has Silica hostage, I can’t really do that. But if I could I would make it slow and painful. I smile to myself as I think of all the different ways I could kill this fat man in front of me leading me into the office. I shut the door behind me as we go in the guards watching me curiously. My god they give me the creeps. I walk over to the desk where Mr Yu has seated himself and watch him waiting for my orders. He looks at me with his beady little eyes, as if I was one of his mini pleasures. It disgusts me. I stare back, my body language giving off nothing. He leans forward pulling four scrolls out of a draw and placing them on the desk in front of me.

“Now, Kuri… I was told you attacked Sureiya again today? What is going on there?” Man, this guy annoys me, big time.

“Nothing happened sir.”

fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.