Criminal logo

Criminal Activity that should have put me behind Bars....

Trust no one but yourself

By Margarita E. ValentinePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Criminal Activity that should have put me behind Bars....
Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

Ok so my criminal life began before I was 21, imagine getting your 1st DWI at the age the 20 and the courts not noticing it off hand. Me and a buddy were leaving a strip club called Maveriks, its located in El Paso, TX were I've lived 19 yrs of my life so far. We'll the elaborated version of this story goes like this. We left the club and I usually take I-10 to get home but for some odd reason I took mesa street which is one of the main streets in El Paso, and well it happened to be like this, I saw the red light but I didn't see the cop car in front of me. So what happened was he pulled forward after the light turned green and pulled to the side so I thought nothing of it, well until he proceeded to follow me and flash the sirens. Which my buddy seemed to jump out of the truck and bounce on me. So the officer came to the window and asked me to step out of t he truck, well I ended up falling out of the truck, and proceeded to ask me to stand up and blow, well me being dirty minded as I can be sometimes. So I said don't you think that might be a bit unappropriated for you to ask me to blow.... (I thought it was hilarious but given the situation the officer smirked but didn't laugh) . Let me tell you jail is no fun, I was so in for a shock of my life, The thought of never seeing my son again scared the hell out of me. I cried the entire time I was in holding. Being locked away like a dangerous animal is the worst experience I would never place upon anyone. One thing I can say Is I didn't learn my lesson a repeat offender is what you could call me. Each time was worst than the last on how I became to be detained. Learn from your mistakes or you could be looking at a long 20 yrs taken from you life. Life gets more complicated the deeper you get caught into the system. Some are lucky and get through and out of the system, others are not so much in good graces. The system states that your innocent until proven guilty, but coming from experience that is not at all what it seems like when your locked down waiting for court dates. In all reality you are guilty till proven innocent or we would not have so many people waiting to go in front of the job, so they sit there incarcerated until finial judgment is bestowed upon them. Think wisely about the choices you decide in your life. I wish I had someone tell me not to take advantage of freedom we are privileged to have been born being an American. Don't allow someone to dictate your future because you decided to take a chance that could possibly change your entire future and your relationships with family and friends. Everyday is new opportunity to make the wisest choices even if it is momentary. Life is to short and goes by faster than we can image. So take a deep breath when you wake up and be thankful that your in your home and not behind the clinking of metal doors closing and a small window if your lucky to watch your days go by. Each day is blessing for me these days, I may not be completely happy but I have my moments of happiness. Trust me when I say you loose allot more then just time when you get wrapped up in the system, it's easy to get in but a fight to get out.

Written By:

Margarita Valentine

guilty
1

About the Creator

Margarita E. Valentine

University Graduate, Mother of three.. I have endured rape, physical abuse, starvation,. Drug abused alcoholic recover and incarcerated for over two years. I still have not allowed that to keep me from finding my true meaning in life. Enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.