Criminal logo

Capital Punishment

My Stance.

By Chloe NPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Capital punishment, often known by the death penalty is the state sanctioned practice of killing someone as punishment of a crime. Most countries, including all the first world nations, have abolished capital punishment, exceptions to this are the United States, China and most Islamic states. The United States is the only Western country to still have use of the death penalty, this western country allows execution through the form of lethal injection, this method involves injecting the person with 3 drugs, all of which sedates, paralyses and stops the heart of the individual. Under the Human Rights this is classed as torture and inhumane treatment, which I whole heartedly believe that everyone should have their human rights protected no matter what they have done.

Amnesty International says that the death penalty is "the ultimate cruel, inhuman and degrading punishment". They oppose the death penalty in all cases, no matter the accusation, the nature or circumstances of the crime, guilt or innocence or the method of the penalty.

I am a firm believer in human rights, due to the fact that many people are still fighting for the basics of these rights. They should all be protected, even with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, some people's rights are not protected. No matter what people do or have done, I believe that their rights should always be protected. I know many people will disagree with me, due to the nature of an eye for an eye, and if someone has done wrong they deserved to be punished. I agree with punishment, that is why we have the justice system and prisons, killing someone for a wrong doing is all kinds of wrong.

My stance on the death penalty is that saying to someone that they killed someone which is bad but we are going to kill you but this killing is good. That does not sit right with me at all, all murders are bad with no exception of if the person has committed a crime. Punishment is sending someone to prison for the rest of their life so they can sit with what they have done, and knowing that they have been took out of civilisation so they will never hurt another person in their lifetime.

Like I have mentioned before people will disagree with me but I am using this platform to speak my opinion and with this being such a controversial topic, I would just like to point out why the death penalty should be abolished.

It is irreversible and mistakes can happen. Once someone is dead there is no coming back. If later in life they are found innocent their family will be living with that for the rest of their lives.

It does not deter crime. With the penalty in place, many people believe it deters crime and with it in place people are less likely to murder or rape. However, evidently that is not the case and people are still committing these crimes even with the punishment of death.

Most countries which have the death penalty, I know, will never abolish it. But I think it is time to review the fact that it completely obliterates basic humans rights particularly the right to life and the right to live free from torture or cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment and punishment.

capital punishment
Like

About the Creator

Chloe N

I'm just a university student trying to fill her time with writing, I haven't done anything like this before but I thought I'd give it a go. I just want to use this to write stories and share my opinions on different topics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.