Criminal logo

Bones in the Dessert, Kisses in the Booth

“Special Agent Seeley Booth: You're a smartass, you know that? Dr. Temperance Brennan: Objectively, I'd say I'm very smart. Although it has nothing to do with my ass.”

By Kerry CooperPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Funny enough I actually had to think about it. Like seriously, what show do I truly consider my most binge worthiest? You see I have a problem, better yet let's call it a challenge. If I find a show that I love, I can no longer hear, see or function in the real world. To take things up a notch I require to know how it plays out immediately. Not next week, not next year, not next season...now. The witches brew of questions and theories that plague my mind would drive me into overload and an inevitable system crash, causing an immediate dissociative response to said show.

So generally I’m not a fan of episodic series. However, there is one instance where this does not hold true and that my friend is a marathon. Not just any marathon but a particular brand that always seems to meet my needs. A straight to point opening scene followed by a cat and mouse chase where the amount of information given to me is just enough to string me along, play with my emotions and raise questions that ALWAYS get answered by the end of the show. You guessed it ….the Crime Drama.

I have to admit there were many, and I mean many a weekend lost to the never ending onslaught of crime drama marathons. You name it I watched it; Law & Order (especially SVU), Criminal Minds, and the greatest of all time CSI. With all these greats you may think that my most bingi-est would lay among them but alas it does not, at least not to my crime drama watching peers. My personal pick that would have me glued to the screen without so much as a bathroom break was Bones.

I loved Bones but I didn't intend to.

When I first started watching Bones I literally was channel surfing looking for somewhere to let my mind mush out. One pause too long on Global TV and the rest was history. There was an easy going energy about the show that even in all the darkness that is murder and death, it still managed to feel light.

If you, having failed miserably in life by missing out on this exquisite piece of low emotional expenditure crime drama with a twist of dark humour, have no idea what this show was about then let me enlighten you. “Bones” aka Dr. Temperance Brennan is a badass World-class anthropologist. She is

a genius with a crazy ego, matter-of-fact attitude, no sensitivity filter, and seriously lacking in basic social skills. In comes boy scout FBI Special Agent Seeley “Booth” bringing in whatever human remains the FBI just so happened to have dug up that day. As with most if not all crime dramas every episode offers its own glimpse into the recesses of human depravity but what made this one different was its ability to make me genuinely laugh. This show somehow managed to team up an atheist and an alter boy and made you love them both regardless of which side you sat on for that debate or what grisly crime they were currently attending to.

I loved the technology first (ie. facial reconstructions simulators) and then the conversation. The banter between Bones and Booth became the catalyst of a genuine friendship based on mutual respect. I loved how Angela (the show's Deanna Troy) balanced out Bones overly logical approach to almost everything. Not to mention that each character had their own quirk that made them real and relatable. The show was never too angsty and it never forgot itself, so that even in the middle of relationship distress the characters always got it together to solve the next crime.

When this show was on everyone around me sounded like Charlie Brown’s mom, annoying and unintelligible. This was not the time to attempt casual conversation or express the need for my attention, my apologies but it just wasn't gonna happen. Bones and Booth were on and there was nothing to be done about it. Curling into the couch, it was time for me to metamorphose into a cocoon of throw pillows and blanks with a strategically placed bowl of yum just within arms reach and it was time for you to ...shhh.

movie review
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.