Criminal logo

All I Saw Was Red

A short story

By KarmaKreatesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

My breathing was heavy. My heart was pounding loud enough for the neighbors to hear. My hair was slightly in front of my eyes blurring my vision, but at the same time. I never thought I could see more clearly. The hallway was dark. I was supposed to be asleep, but I had gotten hungry and fluttered to get a snack. What I saw. I wasn’t supposed to see. No ten year old girl is supposed to see something as gruesome as this. My white fuzzy long sleeved shirt started to feel itchy. The shirt was slightly off of my right shoulder. My black tights felt suffocating. My throat felt like it was closing up. I was frozen. In the middle of the cold dark hallway that was inside my cold big house. Lying about 20 feet in front of me was my father looking down at my older sister. Looking at her like she was nothing. A lowlife. A person who had no life. He was looking down at her with such blank and empty eyes. His dark brown eyes. His light skin didn’t match his dark brown eyes. The evil in them. This scene wasn’t scary because he was just over top of her. It was the blood even more. Letting me know that she was.... gone. Oh the blood there must have been gallons of blood leaking everywhere on the floor. Even a track was running down the hallway towards me. The blood reached across the walls. The nice white walls now would be stained with my sister's blood. My Light green eyes surveyed the area. Looking at my dad's comfortable posture and his eyes once again. My eyes reached down looking at his hand. A knife. Next to his foot was a light blue towel that had now been soaked in blood. As my father didn’t notice me the blood started stretching across the hallway more. Until it finally hit my white sock. I looked down with my shaky breathing. I took a step back. Then another step back. My door wasn’t far. If I could just be quiet I could reach my room and pretend I saw nothing. Mother was at work. Her being a doctor made her never be home. This Thursday night would never be forgotten. 2011, February 19th. The day my father went to jail for murdering my sister. They gave him the death penalty which didn’t affect me. My sister was 17 at the time. Pretty brown hair, green eyes, popular at school, and student council treasurer who also was the captain of the volleyball team. My mother came home early that night. Not because she wanted to, but because she left keys at the house she needed for some medicine cabinet at work. It was diagnosed that my dad had some type of personality change or something. I never cared for him. He was just mean to us. 2021 a new year. My mom moved us to a small island where I was allowed to walk around and hang out. I wouldn’t worry about murderers or creeps. There was a school that pretty much was the only school. It was still big. When I moved it happened to be the first day of school for that time zone. Luckily there was a good hospital on the island too. My mom continued being a good doctor there. It was a nice island. Our house was near the ocean. Good food. Pretty skies. I moved here a week after the incident. Now I’m the same age as she was… Seventeen years old. First day of summer.

fiction

About the Creator

KarmaKreates

My name is Karma! I own my own freelance writing business where I ghostwrite, transcribe, I do script writing, and so much more.

https://www.fiverr.com/karma1623?up_rollout=true

https://karmakreates.godaddysites.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KarmaKreatesWritten by KarmaKreates

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.