Criminal logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Academy Murders: Intricacies

Yawquisha and Kim connect.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like
Academy Murders: Intricacies
Photo by Ella Baxter on Unsplash

Yawquisha’s smile was welcoming. Like a burst of light from a trillion watt light bulb, she embraced Kim.

“Not exactly Mercier,” Kim pointed out.

“It’s splendid. A step up from previous living conditions, no?”

“Yes. It’s another world from that.”

“I won’t keep you long, I know you’ve got visitation hours.”

“We’re still playing Go,” Kim replied.

“Yes, we’re playing a complex game in a simple way.”

By Lucas Santos on Unsplash

“You’ve been able to continue to post more videos about the case.”

“I have three million subscribers.”

“I wouldn’t expect less. Get more use me, don't abuse me. Take this case and make it available for everyone to see.”

Yawquisha sighed. “It’s him. He’s still holding you down. He wants conjugal visits.”

“Why are you relaying all of this?”

“He doesn’t want to impose on your relationship.”

“Huh. I guess he’s acting gun shy.”

By Jay Rembert on Unsplash

“Or smart.”

“How so?”

“He wants to come down here but he wants to keep a low profile.”

“How’d you get here?”

“I have my ways.” Yawquisha smiled. It wasn’t a smile of satisfaction but just a matter-of-fact way of showing her friend that she could always be subliminal but still on the surface with her.

“Alright. I’m going to bring the case back to Delaware.”

“Why?”

“If the ME was not as thorough down here, I’m bringing it to our examiner,” Kim outlined.

“That bad?”

Kim scoffed. She looked around the hotel room and her ankle monitor beeped. With the fixtures as bland and mundane as a furniture desert, Kim liked how quaint it was, however. Yawquisha looked around as well. She said, “If you’re going to continue down this route of at least bringing Quince down here rather than the other way around, you should be prepared to know that you have even more support in Delaware.”

By Matthew Waring on Unsplash

“Is that right?”

Yawquisha nodded. She crossed her leg at the knee and spread out her skirt.

“I think I just remembered this, anyway,” she showed her ankle.

Yawquisha put her hands in the air. A laugh, soft and cheery expelled from her throat. She withdrew her camera. “Let me get a shot of that actually.”

“No, no, no,” Kim grinned.

“Okay but let me at least get you on record saying why you’re innocent. It’s for clicks and taps.”

“What isn’t? Okay, I’ll talk and give as much information as possible. I won’t bore you with the intricacies of the case. I’ll give you enough of what I’m going through to give a glimpse into what is going on with me. I will bring your audience into the web of this whole ordeal.”

Yawquisha mic’ed Kim as she spoke. She set up her camera and set the shot squarely on Kim.

“Alright you beat a murder charge after being put on another charge of the same crime. Because of this curious circumstance, you have the chance of cracking the very case you were accused of in the first place. How is that something that has awakened something in you?”

“Well, I’m fortunate for my own mind and my ability to be honest and truthful. I’m obviously doing this for my own selfish freedom. At the same time though, there’s a grieving family that wants to know why their daughter isn’t here anymore.”

“What details can you give in regard to your current living conditions?”

“I’m monitored in a hotel room and I am awaiting the toxicology report from the medical examiner to come back.”

“So the body was exhumed?”

“Yes. and then returned to the ground. In between that, I made a few discoveries.”

“Are you at liberty to go into detail?”

“No.”

“Well, let’s continue what it was like in prison?”

“It was more of a holding cell.”

fictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have an audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.