Criminal logo

A Suspected case of 2nd degree arson

The Gales store

By Aidan AndrewsonPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

POLICE INCIDENT REPORT

STATE OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK CITY

Suspected Case of Second-degree arson.

Officer Naomi Nova dispatched to the scene at 1:45 AM.

The fire completely consumed the town house but was extinguished before extensive damage was done to the adjacent units. Talking at length with the fire marshal, I was able to gather the following: the fire department places the time of ignition at around 1:00 AM, though no clear point of origin could be identified; among the rubble, they found no human remains and report no fatalities.

Questioning residents in the neighboring units, I learned that the occupants Mr. Bailey Gale, and his spouse, Mrs. Bethanny Gale had departed before the fire (though it is not clear exactly how long before), and after what each neighbor concordantly described as ‘an evening of several loud and emotional verbal altercations.’

Before I left the scene, one more thing was gleaned from the fire department. They turned over to me a red book; a journal belonging to Mr. Gale. The journal had apparently fallen amidst the hurried exit and was left open in the driveway, remaining there in front of the burning building until the fire was extinguished.

The book will be turned over to evidence. Its contents provide some clarity but an equal amount of ambiguity. Operating with everything I gathered at the scene, I am still at a loss as to what to make of it all:

Bailey Gale

Tuesday, March 15

Everyone should know by this point that I have quite the affinity for birds. I have been known on occasion to peruse the ornithological section of my local public library, so truly it should have come as no surprise to that young man that I’d be standing where I was. He was damn-near in shock. “oh good Christ no! A 50-year-old guy with a girl’s name!” I’m sure that’s what he was thinking. Well, it is certainly true that I know of all the regulars in that part of the Library, so logically the kid must have been new to the section and embarrassed to have shared interests with me. Probably thought he had better things to do than learn. The twerp.

O! but to the future me reading this: you know that is not the only thing of interest to happen at the library today! Shortly after my run-in with the embarrassed newbie, I went to check out my haul and that attractive librarian forgot to scan the small black book I found! The eye of the universe is underscierning as ever, and I’m a happy clam.

* * *

That was 1 in the afternoon, now it’s 4 and Beth was of course angry about something she thinks I did.

Regardless of what I did or didn’t do, she should know by now when I get home I often go straight upstairs with my books. It’s such a routine by this point. If you don’t remember, she was angry about something along the lines of me having not used all this new time I have to help her sort the basement. I know what she means by ‘sort the boxes in the basement’ and I continually insist calmly and rationally that our situation isn’t as dire as she thinks.

At least I’m here now. Lately it’s been so warm and quiet up here in my study, I could almost spend all my time reading up here in peace by lamplight. Time to crack the books. The small leather one in particular appeals to me. It must be some records of a fellow ornithologist. For being a cold, heartless bitch, the universe has its niceties.

Bailey G

Wednesday?

The sun is up. I don’t know what time it is I’m still in my study, but I see through the blinds that the sun is starting to rise. I didn’t sleep last night

I’m not sure if Beth is asleep. I need to proceed with the utmost caution.

I began to read this untitled black book and it was nothing of the sort that I had imagined. Its accounting ledger. I started flipping through it ready to set it aside but right then a Big Millions Lottery ticket fell out into my lap. I thought it was just a make-shift bookmark, but the book is half empty and the last page with words on it had a name and I think it was a wire transfer number I don’t know. The last page had the words “next week’s numbers'' written across the top.

I’ve played and lost the lottery so many times since this time last year and I God Damn knew it was a scam.

I have to compose myself. I can’t go to Beth just yet.

Bailey Gale

Wednesday, March 16

Alright here’s earlier: I laid low and made Beth breakfast. I don’t think she had the slightest suspicion. As a matter of fact, I’d be disarmed by a good breakfast spread myself. That was 8 to 9 AM.

It’s 1 PM now and I think I understand what’s going on now. It seems each page is identical in structure to this one I taped here:

BIG MILLIONS MONTHLY

12/18 Jackpot will be won by: 945482169.

Highest bid: 900,000

Next drop location: eastmost central park trash can.

01/18 Jackpot will be won by: 597026584.

Highest bid: 480,000

Next drop location: No. 1 Chinese dumpster.

02/18 Jackpot will be won by: 578620437.

Highest bid: 200,000

Drop location: Public library Nonfiction section 2nd row from the back.

03/18 Jackpot will be won by: 597026584.

Highest bid 1,500,000

The arbitrary whim of the cosmos has finally come back around. At present I can identify 3 options for how to proceed:

· I might hold onto the ticket and rake in the jackpot on the 19th and use the money to pay off any arrears.

(It’s obvious to me that using the winning numbers would cause me to stick out like a sore thumb to whoever runs the operation)

· I could return the book to the library and hope no one involved with the book notices.

(I frankly don’t feel safe returning to the library with the book. I can’t deal with criminals, I’m just a damn ornithologist.)

· Alternately I could go to the police and wash my hands of the matter altogether.

(I’ve been waiting for over a year now for something to turn up and I can’t run away from this or give up. What kind of man gives up?)

So what are we going to do here Gale? I don’t have the slightest compunction against taking the money. No sir, not the slightest damn compunction. I just need to whip up a clever scheme to secure it then we’ll be set.. I just have to sit up here in my study and think. I have my best thoughts when I’m seated with a drink and book in hand in the quiet of this room anyway.

***

POLICE INCIDENT REPORT

STATE OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK CITY

Scene of suspected second-degree arson.

Officer Naomi Nova returning to the scene one day after the incident. 4:00 PM.

After reading the journal of Bailey Gale I requested to return to the scene to try and find any sign of this black book or any further evidence to corroborate Gale’s reports of a rigged lottery, as his passage from the black book seemed to indicate a much larger money laundering operation. Digging through the rubble, I found several books about ornithology, all half-way charred. Mr. Gale seems to in fact have quite the affinity for birds. The amount of broken or empty glass bottles leads me to believe that one or both of the Gales were heavy drinkers.

I was unable to locate the black book. Amidst my last pass of the basement however, I found one more journal which was cornflower and laced. This one belonged to Mrs. Bethany Gale.

Reviewing the contents of Mrs. Gale’s Journal helped fill in the spaces left by the accounts of Mr. Gale.

***

Beth

Tuesday, the 15th

Today was not a total bust. I made a tiny bit of progress packing up some things in the attic. I made it out in one piece. Bailey will probably be back from the library soon and we can start organizing the boxes in the basement.

Oh! This is him now!

***

Well he certainly seemed to be cheery from a distance.

I told him about my work in the attic and asked if he’d begun boxing things in the basement. His face soured and we jumped head-first into our weekly rehash of the same old argument.

“I keep fucking telling you, I’ll have money soon!” he whines,

“You’re just a scared old man not worth a damn” I rebuttal.

Oh I shouldn’t be so mean, but I’m quite sure a downgrade is practically inevitable now, but he won’t agree. I’m continuing as ever to remain patient, but I can’t say my faith in him isn’t slipping. Since getting fired from the statistics department, I expected his demeanor to improve at least somewhat by now. Truly there’s no accounting for the randomness of misfortune, but he needs to pick himself up and move on, I’m sure of it. I can’t get that through to him. Also I don’t think all the time in his musty, old, dusty study is being spent constructively. That much I do know.

Beth

Wednesday, the 16th

I had initially thought that Bailey not coming to bed last night meant he’d still be in a sore mood, but this morning, the dirty-rotten-scoundrel woke up early to make me breakfast!

I can’t wait to hear about his latest alternative to getting a job.

After breakfast he returned to his study. And that reminds me, I need to go get the tires replaced on the car. The kids around here must have slashed them.

Beth

Thursday, the 17th

I want to be sure I have this right, so I’ll write slowly. I confronted Bailey in his office and he was drunk and holding the black book. He got smiley and got into his presentation mode, which is when he outlined in detail exactly the mess we’ve been in for the past few days. He has no plan, I don’t think, and he practically broke down when I moved for the telephone to call the police.

“Please Bethany, I need this fucking thing to work out for me. I don’t know why I was fired, I swear I don’t. It was practically never up to me, please Bethany, please, please.”

I don’t know what to do with him. Good lord God, he doesn’t know what to do with him.

Beth

Friday, 19

We’re in the basement someones up in the house tearing everything up. I’m scared. Bailey and I were just holding on to each other for almost half an hour waiting for it to be over. I’m doing my best to keep my tears quiet. Bailey is doing the same. All he’s communicating between rips and crashes from upstairs is apology after apology. He’s holding the book. He keeps Swearing to me he’s bringing it to the police himself.

***

POLICE INCIDENT REPORT

STATE OF NEW YORK, NEW YORK CITY

Scene of suspected second-degree arson.

Officer Naomi Nova

The Gales are still at large.

investigation
Like

About the Creator

Aidan Andrewson

hopefully i'll do this full time in the future.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.