Criminal logo

A Mysterious Friend

Friend who turned out to be a killer

By Kunal SharmaPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

It was a cold and rainy night in January when I got the call. My friend, let's call him John, was on the other end of the line, and he sounded scared.

"I need your help," he said. "I think someone's trying to kill me."

I didn't know what to say. I had never heard John sound like this before. He was always so calm and collected, but now he was panicked.

"What happened?" I asked.

"I was walking home from work, and someone followed me," he said. "I tried to lose them, but they kept up. I think they were trying to attack me."

I told John to stay calm and that I would be right over. I hung up the phone and quickly got dressed.

When I got to John's apartment, he was pacing back and forth in the living room. He looked even more scared than he had sounded on the phone.

"I'm so glad you're here," he said. "I don't know what to do."

I told John to tell me what happened. He took a deep breath and started to tell me his story.

He said that he had been walking home from work when he noticed someone following him. He tried to lose the person, but they kept up. He eventually turned down a dark alley, hoping to lose them, but the person followed him into the alley.

John said that the person was wearing a black hoodie and mask, so he couldn't see their face. He said that the person started to approach him, and he felt like they were going to attack him. He turned and ran, and the person chased after him.

John said that he ran as fast as he could, but the person was gaining on him. He was about to give up when he saw his apartment building up ahead. He ran to the building and burst through the door. He ran up the stairs to his apartment and locked the door behind him.

John said that he was so scared that he didn't know what to do. He called me, and then he just sat there, waiting for the person to come after him.

I listened to John's story, and I didn't know what to say. I had never heard anything like it before.

"I don't know what to do," I said. "I'm going to call the police."

I called the police, and they came and took a report. They said that they would send someone out to look for the person who had been following John.

The police left, and John and I sat there for a while, talking about what had happened. We didn't know who the person was or why they were following John.

The next day, the police called me back. They said that they had found the person who had been following John. It was his best friend, let's call him Mark.

Mark had been arrested and charged with attempted murder. He had apparently been jealous of John's success, and he had decided to try to kill him.

I was shocked when I heard the news. I had never thought that Mark would be capable of something like that.

John was relieved to hear that Mark had been arrested. He said that he had been worried that Mark would come after him again.

I'm glad that John is safe, and I'm glad that Mark was caught. It's a reminder that even the people we trust the most can be capable of terrible things.

The End

innocenceinvestigationguilty
Like

About the Creator

Kunal Sharma

I'm a passionate storyteller on Vocal Media, weaving tales that transport readers to captivating worlds. With each word. Join me on this literary journey, where stories come alive, hearts are touched, and imaginations take flight.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.