Criminal logo

A murderer´s letter.

Richard Wilcox

By Richard WilcoxPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Last year, I was forced to write an article regarding a certain curious character in the area of the silent crime, who considered himself a vigilante, a container for the voice of the divine, a judge and the executioner himself. Within my investigations, I found unpublished evidence that shows the nature of the dementia of the man I am talking about and despite my past soliloquies concerning whether I should publish my findings or not, I decided to share with my audience the eccentricity of this character, as well as the danger of his thinking. Here is what I managed to recover from the old letter:

An old friend.

(Cartagena, Colombia)

Mr. Spinster

Cartagena, March 03, 2007

The chaos that surrounds the world is inevitable. As the energy that sets the universe in motion or the destruction that provides it with equilibrium. In my world, the murderer is indispensable, thus, the eternal persecutor fulfills its objective in the hunt for the damned, however, there are rules regarding the selected to suffer the early death, after all, even in the house of the murderer, there must be laws that solemnly abide by to maintain the aforementioned balance. We are necessary, I am necessary...

As you read this letter, dear reader, you will wonder if I enjoy the art of my occupation, if the blood that my victims shed is shown as the acute feeling of pleasure that I could consider fundamental in the ephemerality of my existence or the motive behind my actions, and, it is precisely that I write this letter to get my answer to you, after all, there is no person on earth - regardless the malice that is in his heart - who does not deserve to know the name of his murderer, as well as, the reasons why that person have decided to bring a conclusion to their irresponsible daily life. At this moment, I am next to the weapon that will be written as the homicidal object in the police report corresponding to this city and, I must tell you to not intend to look for the guard with a badge, such action would be useless but, that is a topic for the occasion to come.

Do you think I enjoy it? Do you consider, dear reader, that I long to introduce the blade of my knife or the bullet of my pistol, into your body? Probably your faithful belief will not accompany my words, however, I must tell you that I abhor this job, I wish every day that there was no need to comply with my work schedule or follow up my investigations, therefore, I direct my anger towards the people who share your nature, which they are, to which I attribute the true reason for my actions. You, dear reader, like your companions with a black soul, spend your day minimizing the humble man, hurting for the simple fact of obtaining benefits at the cost of human life, annihilating for the enjoyment of sin itself and devastating with anyone who considers inappropriate for your "business". It is because of the above-said that I have decided to end your life... Please, I ask and suggest to not torture yourself in the last days of your life with the infinite torment that the understandable soliloquy regarding the method that I will use to end your life, could bring; I beg you to visit your relatives and travel as much as possible, have that cup of coffee that you have left pending, visit the sick person who awaits your arrival within your family circle, be more punctual every morning in the area of providing transportation to your children to school, take a look at the book you never had a chance to read or the movie that awaits in your attic to be seen and known, try all kinds of foods in which you always have placed your curiosity and just wait for my arrival. Even so, it is a priority that you do not try to deduce my identity, do not immerse yourself in the absurd activity of granting your vision to the surroundings to find out the face of your murderer, since, it will be unsuccessful. My face is found in the countenance of your victims, in the suffering of the drug addicts belonging to your empire, in the police officers who with arduous effort try to take your head under the sacred words of the law, in the same way, it is in the waiter who serves your food, the taxi driver who collects your soul from the avenue, the clients who arrive at your office every day, as well as your family members. You may believe that this is meaningless and, it is plausible that you are right in this area, but you must have no doubt that I am without the mistake of the naive. You will wonder what I mean by what in your eyes must be nonsense, you see, dear reader, I am not guilty of my future actions, fortunately, I will not feel the guilt that the mortal sin that I will commit would carry and the aforesaid finds its explanation in the very nature of my being, because my soul is not characterized by belonging to the world of mortals, of those apes called humans; My soul, my body and mind are only a tool, a means, an emissary of what is correct and fair, for this and for all the information mentioned above, I share that it will not be my hands who will execute the final act, but, yours. I understand your possible confusion, dear reader, but do not worry, this letter is precisely to satisfy the deadly curiosity about the executor that haunts your mind. You caused this. Your own actions led the destiny to capture my interest in your person, to reveal the necessary information within my investigations to find you guilty of mortal sins; your words and decisions, the strength in your actions or the lack of it, the evil against enemies and allies, as well as the benevolence that never took part in your stealth killings. I have decided to kill you Mr. Carter, and the only favor that I will request is that you enjoy the time you have remaining in life and that you abandon all possible desire to fight against my will, thus, it will make my job easier and your death more pleasant.

I must say goodbye, however, I am totally sure that we will soon meet through less enigmatic means.

Best regards. An old friend.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Richard Wilcox

I attempt to pursue the joys of the art of writing, as the before-said represents one of my true passions. The imagination that surrounds the nature of the unexistant often amazes me, hence, giving me the ability to put in words the unreal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.