Criminal logo

A Criminal's world

part 2 The cover up is deep

By Sara KlinePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
The crime mastermind runs amongst the crowd

I was unsure of whom I could trust telling details to about the case. I decided this time if I got a lead I would sniff it out and see what would happen. Then I came up with an ingenius idea one that only a smart detective trying to lure his prey out into the open would do. I decided to create false leads to see how soon and whom the information was transmitted to and when it got spread.

I sat in my office for days didn't come out till I had a full proof plan. I checked every angle and every detail even leaked some to my go to media person to spread the false leads to see how quickly I could get my hands on the mole rat in amongst us all. My plan was working I watched in the shadows while calls came in and people came in left and right. My tag team of partners who been involved in this case since before it landed on my desk were scrambling.

But I noticed one in particular was too laid back for his badge. I watched as detective Mason O'rourke was being so calm not as rustled under his collar like he knew this stuff was not real and that it was all false information but he was trying to locate the who that was spreading it. I watched him for days, for weeks, and for months. I thought this case would never get a big break but it was coming and not in the manner I wanted to see come.

I was in the station one night with about 50 others in the building. An alarm started to sound when a crash through the window came a bottle with a flaming rag hanging out of it. I knew I needed to get everybody out. We all evacuated to the lot behind the building. I saw a group of men with masks on and hoodies all standing with bottles in hand ready to light and throw. Then I saw the man I had a hunch about Mason he was walking away from the group who are bombing the station. But he disappeared before I could catch him.

The fire fighters went inside put out the fire and made sure everybody got out. Lucky enough we all did, but now I needed to take Mason down and really find out his motive in this situation and why. unfortunitly he had other plans, I found out next day he was heading to the airport to head back to his headquarters. I got there in time with other detectives behind me. But when he saw us he fled and he knew we knew. I ran after him and he didn't know I figured he would run and I had my partner Sally Jansen grab him with the car.

Sally cuffed him and threw him in the back of the car and headed back to our temporary office till ours was repaired and safe to return to. We put him the interagation room and start asking him how long he was revealing police intel to the group of masked individuals. He looked at us and laughed, me you think I would betray my badge. I looked at him and said yea I do after I saw you walk away and turn your back to the individuals who tried to burn our station down to the ground and this and assumption but I think you wanted them to kill me.

Really Branson, don't you think your being dramatic. I said no if I was then I would have said it that way. I know your the informant to them and your the one keeping them out of jail. What I want to know is why? You wouldn't understand the money they offer me its more than I make in this job in 10 years. What would you do? I would choose my badge cause to me money is not going with you when your caught and not to mention how it makes you look and represent the force.

I would never take any amount of money to become a mole rat for a group of no good lazy rotten criminals. Well easy for you to say Branson. You have it made in this station your making enough money that your not hurting and yea you represent the badge the way it needs to be represented. I am not a bad cop, I was a good cop then I became a good detective. But unlike you my partner was killed by one of those individuals and I swore I would do what it takes to find the one who killed my best friend and I would take my revenge. But Mason thats not what you want to do you want to arrest them and get your partner the justice they deserve.

Well I tried that and no luck. I still following them and as long as they believe they have a friend on the inside thats all that matters. I think your being foolish Mason. You need to share your plan we all need to work together and the better we work together on this then we can get justice for all.

Your right Branson, well here is my plan, lets go back to the old station and look for clues together and we can find another lead because they always leave me something to know where there next target is or will be. Really is that so you can tell them where we will be heading next. This sounds like a wild goose chase. Trust me Branson I am not a dirty cop. You better not be but I will be watching you and making sure you are not double crossing me and your fellow detectives in blue.

I swear it Branson, I am not. I will take your word on it. If you betray me I will arrest you and take your badge from you. Deal Branson, lets work together and see what we can find and were they plan to go next. We monitored every word that came into the station.

It took months of no leads no crimes and no suspects or informents to help us out. Then one day it happened the biggest lead of our time came in through a criminal who ran with this group of individuals called the masked clowns of terror. He said they were planning a heist of a lifetime that would score them all over billions of dollars. This was going to be there ticket to leave the country for good.

We asked the man where the heist was going down at and when. The guy said it was going to be a state representative and this man was a billionaire and he was worth every dime. Now we wondered if it was a set up with this representative for publicity or just a crime for attention on this group of men.

The night came no one knew but me and Mason about the heist or so we thought. As we watched we saw an FBI agent named Smith showed up out the blue and behind him was the masked clowns of terror. Smith left them in the house and watched outside for any sort of movement or cars. We sat hunched down on ground behind a tall bush with night vision goggles to help us see what was going down. Smith radioed to a man inside the house while the heist was in motion.

How could one in blue turn on his own country and his own men. Smith was needed to be questioned and caught we took our night vision camera with no flash and shot photos of the situation at hand and presented it to our chief. Mason called in back up and I was looking forward to busting a man in uniform defying the badge and what it meant. My chief couldn't believe his eyes that an agent of the government was cheating out his own for some low down crime committers.

I gathered my evidence and got it all together and the crime unit went out but the place was wiped clean not an ounce of a clue or so we thought. Our careful FBI agent was not so careful his shoe print along with others in the group were found under blue light. We took photos and every fiber we could find. The representative was furious how could someone so clever and yet so stupid rob him blind.

We had no answer for that. We gathered every bit and our leads finally came rolling into the playing field and we were about to bust open this case so wide and yet so deep and so far from solving the true reason behind it all.

To be continued.......

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sara Kline

My name is Sara I live in the country in a small town in pennsylvania called St thomas. I enjoy writing and craft making but I do this in the comfort of my home. I enjoy making my own hours and bossing me around. let me create your design

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.