Confessions logo

Why Reveal Details On Social Media?

I'd Rather Be A Jock From The Rock

By P. B. FriedmanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Why Reveal Details On Social Media?
Photo by Caleb Ralston on Unsplash

It is always sunny in Jackson, MS; and in the former Soviet Union for that matter or so I am led to believe. This holds true most definitely when one's subsidized government housing landlord inspects one's digs, deciding that foil should be removed from a stovetop burner or two. After all the manager assures one that the complex intends to simultaneously break open the coffers and...well, maybe you get the idea.

This should make a mediocre Horror Challenge piece, my existence currently resembling a nightmare. Oh but readership is creeping towards the five hundred mark. Can a thousand reads be less than light years behind?

I suppose I need to comment briefly on some decade old novelty music. YouTube offers a 2012 sterling rendition of Lumpy, Beanpole And Dirt by Great American Taxi. Hopefully this will jinx me by reducing me statistically being as how the vid stars an ex schoolmate.

Perspective time, I think to myself. Should I try to check into this loony bin or that one; reside in a city or a smaller town more like a suburb? Do I need to reside as far away from the only fake relative I speak with? Tune in regularly for Are there Options Much Less Facts.

The last sentence of the preceding paragraph brings to mind Garfield's Believe It Or Don't from the Jim Davis comic strip/cartoon creation. Believe it or quit reading, how about? I said in a high school philosophy class that there were no facts; I tend to think my growing up in what seemed to be a constant state of transient flux influenced me. Well. that and certainly psychosis. No one in the class agreed with me, however an Artist in Residence at the school who relocated to pursue his craft in NYC defended me surprisingly in an asinine Parent/Teacher Conference.

Incredibly ex New York Jet QB Geno Smith filled in very briefly and somewhat capably for the durable Russ Wilson. Wilson's ten year games started streak is in jeopardy this week. No one seems to be asking football's retired iron man QB Bret Favre his thoughts.

Meanwhile B. Roethlisberger is pulling a Favre by hanging on for the type of embarrassing extra year that pays someone to be beat up. Maybe people do and maybe do not separate the jock from the accused rapist; either way he will not retire simply a sadist but also evidently a punchy masochist. The thing people will publicize will remain the fabulously trivial athletic feats--oh and probably something regarding his status as a " family " man. Hey, I liked it when the guy was a capable dare devil motorcycle lunatic Super Bowl winner in some perverse way.

I may qualify the above by saying that I do not currently watch live sports on television or in person and this will not change in the foreseeable future unless I relocate to another neighborhood or town. This would immediately eliminate me from being taken seriously by hardcore fans. That having been said, I do not disagree with what I heard recently which had to do with Super Bowl winning Steelers Coach Mike Tomlin experiencing the misfortune of having his team wait an extra sentimental year for Roethlisberger to hang it up when the likes of J. Winston among others were available. In fairness to Ben he could hardly be expected to make up for what is wrong with the rest of the team offensively in what most felt would be his final year. If the guy holds the ball less effectively before bombing away downfield than he did in his twenties this is to be expected. It is also to be expected that one might not care to stand there with the same poise and composure of a younger guy who had not absorbed the blows that he has over the years, almost fatally wrecked a motorcycle going the wrong way at high speed on a one way street et al. Remember he has been putting in his two top front dentures in daily for over a decade.

Baseball's T. Bauer is rumored to be another type of iron man. You know the abusive type. Lucky for him, his career will never be seriously speculated about or in jeopardy because he is white, talented marketable ad nauseum.

This follows in the grand tradition of white guys who perhaps pay their accusers large sums so they may continue on their merry Great White Ways. They all have seemingly high profile expensive lawyers if not endorsement contracts and this has a way of making women disappear to say nothing of any potential jail time. Ask Ray Rice, Mike Vick and now Deshaun Watson why not everybody gets to compete in this game on equal footing.

On a trivially positive note this season's rookie football QB crop is supposedly potentially extraordinary. What I find of interest though is that Justin Herbert may be the first signal caller of his height to really excel at the quarterback position. Six foot six inches always seemed to make for ungainliness in the pros; Herbert seems likely to far exceed Ryan Mallette another basketball sized giant who had a marginally successful back up career.

The jury seems to be out insofar as to whether San Francisco's Trey Lance will bear a resemblance to his predecessors as a lefty QB, namely Steve Young who similarly started off blandly mediocre. Experts for the most part seem to feel Lance, similarly to Young and another retired west coast lefty, may take a few years to develop. Lefthanded QB's have a different blind side, which changes offensive line dynamics as I understand things.

I am at heart a sort of closet exhibitionist. Maybe this explains why I believe that I reveal perhaps too many intimate details on social media. I really only message two females anymore and I learn virtually nothing about their personal lives much less why they care to fake as if we are even marginally communicating with each other or give a crap about one another. Boredom seems to do strange things to people or/and lead to aberrant behaviors.

Taboo
Like

About the Creator

P. B. Friedman

Touch magazine profile. My name is Paul Friedman and I write off. The wall poems, which people don't like and good ones that they do. I'm a sports freak.

The last sentence no longer holds true. My interests are dominated by feminism.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Friedmanabout a year ago

    Note to self: Josh Allen outdid Justin Herbert, I still have two ladies' cell numbers and I keep embarrassing myself on social media.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.