Confessions logo

Why I would rather skip Halloween and move onto Christmas

Journal Entry

By Marissa JeffriesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why I would rather skip Halloween and move onto Christmas
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

You're thinking "Oh she's crazy! Why doesn't she like Halloween?"

Well, you see here, I do not find any joy in Halloween anymore. The magic of that has worn off. I am not a kid anymore and no, spending hundreds of dollars on a costume I am only wearing once, I cannot fathom that.

It's like when I got married, I spent so little on a dress because I knew I was only going to wear it once.

I don't party. I have two young kids, so I don't have a reason to dress up for Halloween. One is with her dad this year to trick-or-treat, and the other one is going to wander of with one of his buddies, this plan was for months. So there is that.

Going door-to-door and asking people for candy is kind of hypocritical. you know? "Stranger Danger?"

Then there is the tired, grumpy children, where you have to sift through all of their candy at the end of the night, to make sure that someone didn't put a razorblade in their gummies. Then tell them that they need to wash off all their facepaint or whatever.

Not to mention, it snows where I live or rains every year on Halloween so...they have to wear a jacket over their costume, and that is a battle within itself.

So...Now onto, Christmas.

The reason why I love Christmas so much, is that when it snows, it looks so pure outside, a fresh coat of paint, the snow blankets the streets, rooftops, and cars. Leaving mystery.

It brings me so much joy, decorating the house every year, glitter, lights, reindeeer. All of it. Brings me a lot of joy.

Where all that matters is, having peace with your family, and just hanging out with them. It's not about the gifts, its about the lives that you have really impacted, the ones that want to be around you and spend some time with you.

It's about creating new magic that wasn't there before. Going and drinking hot chocolate while you go to the winter festival or a sleigh ride filled with mystery.

It's about getting cozy with your loved ones to watch a movie on a snowy night.

Christmas is magical and that is the difference. There is no spooky stuff, no vampires, no werewolves, no hell hounds.

Just joy and people you love around you.

Back to the Halloween thing for just a minute. I was never allowed to stay up past my bedtime to collect candy from people when I was a kid. I was always told that I had to be home, and eat dinner then practically go to bed right after.

There was a window right by the front porch, as I was eating my dinner, I could see all the kids come up to the door, and they would say they weren't done yet. I lived in a pretty small town. So I mean, it was from one side of town to the other.

I was always picked on during Halloween because we couldn't really afford a costume every year. So I mean, I would have to wear last year's.

Plus my dad would always eat the good stuff from my Halloween candy.

So that's why I would rather Christmas over Halloween. Where I am not endangering myself to some complete stranger, where I have no obligation towards anyone.

Plus it's an unwritten rule somewhere that turkey is a must on Christmas.

I'm getting hungry now just thinking about Christmas dinner, stuffing, brussel sprouts, cranberries, yorkshire pudding, gravy, mashed potatoes, candy carrots. All of it!

Have a great day!

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Marissa Jeffries

Here I am!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.