Confessions logo

Why I didn't Run Away when I was Young

If only she knew ...

By JinxyPinky Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

So, There's been something I've been hiding from you mum.

When I was 12, I attempted to run away from home. I tried to run because I wasn't happy with my life. I just wanted to live somewhere else, Hide somewhere where nobody would find me.

Basically I didn't want to exist.

So, you must be wondering "Why are you still here?"

Well, because the night I decided to leave. Something happened that would change my mind in a instant.

Let's start from the beginning.

When I was young, I got bullied. Badly bullied. To the point where I hated going to school. The only comfort I got when I was Young was when I watched Smosh or Pewdiepie from YouTube.

Those videos made me happy. Happy enough for me to continue going to school. It was my "safe place" I would say.

But one day, When all of us decided to get pizza at Domino's. I say this bushy section in the middle a road and thought. "Man, I would love to live in there."

It looked amazing, Huge Palm Thrones, Giant Bushes, Beautiful Green Grass. Honestly, It was like a mini jungle and I wanted to live there. Then the idea of wanted to live there stayed in my head. For a while it stayed there, as life slowing went on.

Then, the moment I hit grade 4. The bullying got bad. So bad, I was scared to leave my home. My "Bully" lived close by me and I never wanted to go out because of that reason. It really effected me.

Home life wasn't that good too. Most of the time I spent there wasn't much fun, I wanted someone to play with but my sister didn't liked playing with me. She would rather watch Tv then rather play games with me.

I guess I felt lonely most of the time. Dad worked 1pm to 8pm shifts to help the family and my mum would do night shifts 9pm to 3am.

Mum, you we're hard to handle but now I know why you struggled.

One night, I finally had enough. I wanted to leave and never come back. So I came up with a plan.

I'll steal some food and hide the bags outside so nobody would see them, then I'll wait patiently until mum comes home from work. Then the moment she falls asleep I'll sneak pass the room, then the front door and leave the gate with the bags of food. Then I'll finally be home in my jungle.

Which sounded easier then I thought. So, when the time came I followed my plan. I waited until mum came home, then went to bed. I carefully sneaked out in the dark and left the house.

While carrying 10kg of canned foods, I walked on a dimly lit pathway, as I was crossing a road a Car was driving in my direction. Then it stopped right next to me.

I started to freak out but then, the most particular thing happened.

"Hey, What are you doing?"

I Paused, Looking at the passenger in the car. Then Thought.

What was I doing? Why Am I running away?

without thinking, i started to sprint backwards. Back towards my home, the place that gave me Shelter, Food, a Place where I can sleep and I had a Family.

A place I can called Home.

I never saw the face of the person who said those words to me in that car but I thank them.

Thank you, Thank you for saving a life, Stranger.

Mum, I know It's hard to believe all this but It's true. I'm happy I decided to stay with you. I love you. Thank you for being there when I didn't realise it.

Thank you Mom. Thank you for making the woman I am Now.

Me (Now) as a Drawing

Family
1

About the Creator

JinxyPinky

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.