Confessions logo

Where next?

Here we go again.

By ChantelPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
Where next?
Photo by Chris Lawton on Unsplash

New Mid-Year Goals!

I aim to reach my target weight of 105 pounds by the end of September, provided I stick to my diet and exercise regimen. I will be vigilant about portion sizes while on vacation. Currently, I weigh 113 pounds and plan to shed one pound per week. By the end of the year, I aim to achieve a minimum net worth of approximately 225k.

Furthermore, I still have a strong desire to travel next year before pursuing a second job and saving for a down payment on a property. Ideally, I'd like to own a property by age 25 or 26 and gain the skills to invest from a distance or engage in house hacking.

Some side projects I wish to complete include improving my pole dancing skills and joining a salsa/bachata team.

Next year, I have a list of places I want to visit:

Tulum, Mexico with Sarah

Spending a month in Costa Rica in January/February

Surf Lessons

Two weeks in Puerto Rico

Visiting my sister in DC

Revisiting NYC to see my Filipino friend and Adilia

Montreal

Iceland

Turkey (Istanbul and Cappadocia)

Sofia, Bulgaria

Athens, Greece

Mykonos

Santorini

Albania

Montenegro

Croatia

Budapest, Hungary

Krakow, Poland

Warsaw, Poland

Gdansk, Poland

Vilnius, Lithuania

Riga, Latvia

Tallinn, Estonia

Helsinki, Finland

Stockholm, Sweden

Oslo, Norway

Gothenburg, Sweden

Copenhagen, Denmark

Hamburg, Germany

Brussels, Belgium (with a pit stop in London to visit my eye doctor friend)

Paris, France

Porto, Portugal

Lisbon, Portugal

Seville, Spain

Malaga, Spain

Valencia, Spain

Ibiza, Spain

Palma, Spain (Drach Caves)

Naples, Italy

Genoa (Amalfi Coast)

Visit Nice if I feel like it, especially for swimming.

I value experiences over money, but I aim to save for a down payment on at least a duplex when I'm ready to purchase a house. My best friend Sandy is getting married, and while her life path is clear, I'm still figuring out my next steps. NYC calls to me, and I may consider moving there temporarily, or I might explore opportunities in Asia or Latin America. I have options, and I'm unsure which path to choose.

I find myself torn between the desire to accumulate more money (ideally reaching 500k) and the need for a minimum of 50k in cash for a down payment on a property, with the rest potentially invested in stocks. I'm contemplating whether I should monetize my TikTok presence and become more deliberate in my postings, as I haven't been doing that lately.

It's wild to read these plans, knowing they may change, and that's okay. Dom, where will you end up next? I genuinely don't know.

After spending the last four weeks in Australia, I still want to give Australia a chance, but I'll need to secure sponsorship. While I sometimes wish I could disregard money, the reality is that I must put in the effort to attain flexibility with my time. It's a sobering fact that things take time, but the rewards can be significant.

When I return home, I aspire to build a business, whether it's my own recruitment agency for hosts and restaurants, a weekend hosting venture like a food tour in the Mission or a walk in Lands End and Sutro Baths, or even my own speed dating company. I want to start one thing and see where it leads.

To support my lifestyle and savings, I'll need another main job. It's disheartening to see my bank account balance dwindling.

I wonder if I could move to Australia and get a two-bedroom apartment, converting one into an Airbnb. I'm unsure about the legality of this, though.

Perhaps in the future, my siblings and I could consider doing the Airbnb Arbitrage with our parents' house.

Maybe I should dedicate a year to studying Airbnb Arbitrage thoroughly for the freedom it offers. I yearn for genuine freedom.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chantel

I range from social justice issues to sexuality articles, all depends on my mood.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.