Confessions logo

Vocal Hates Me

For Realz

By Jordan Sky DanielsPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
5
Vocal Hates Me
Photo by Dan Edge on Unsplash

No, I'm not being dramatic I'm being very real.

Do you have any idea how frustrating it is to write something and have it not show up?

What about to edit something and see that instead of edit something you now have edthing because you forgot the to and had to go back and add it and then the doc decided not to add what you wrote but to do its own thing instead.

I personally think the website, not the people behind Vocal hates me and is holding a grudge.

I don't even know the name of the founder of Vocal is it Jason? Jack? It's one of those I'm sure. I'll probably be lying in bed and remember I do know the CEO or CFO (which mean owner again) name. I just saw it when they announced the vocal fiction challenge and how to nominate a writer. Are you entering?

I digress back to Vocal hates me and not the people per say.

Let me give you a bit of a backstory. I'm the prodigal daughter coming home but I don't feel welcomed.

The Vocal creators are great they've welcomed me back with virtual hugs.

There was no parade but it felt like one. I got that warm fuzzy feeling in my belly.

Hey Judey!

Hey those I don't know but have made coming back a hoot and a nanny

Again... back to why you probably click on this story.

I'm talking about the gremlin that is the Vocal website.

Is it to early to blame AI?

Probably not since I'm doing it and AI is all the rage these days.

Can we even think without a AI?

Today I saw a guy make stickers using an AI feature and decide to sell them on etsy.

How behind wild is that?Geez, I know...I know...back to how and why I'm hated by Vocal.

My computer is broken. Fun (you should have read the sarcasm). Obvi, with a broken laptop I have to use my phone to post.

Here in lies the problem every time I notice a typo on the doc and go to remove it it does this weird thing. See photographic proof that the Vocal AI gremlin hates me.

Another fun thing it'll do is make me have my phone on desktop mode and not show anything I wrote and have start writing appear.

I will go in refresh, take it off of desktop mode, put it back on and nada.

Lately I've been putting my stories in draft and grabbing them a few seconds late and pasting the work I wrote in my notes. That seems to work best but if I want to insert a hyperlink or video it goes back to being blank.

I'm not going to lie having to do this extra work had me in my feelings. I mean come on, I tend to write a lot of poetry which isn't a lot of words and had to go back and.forth so many times before it left me a little raw.

  1. I emailed support they were the ones that suggested to use desktop mode. I was a tad mean with them.

    But I had just spent money on being a vocal + member instead of buying a 6 dollar taco bell box. I would have had change.

    I wanted to enter the past life challenge. It sounded like fun though I still think as my story Time Travel isn't for Black People suggests that most black people would hate to end up in the past. History isn't in our favour.

    Shameless plug over

    The customer service team at Vocal didn't deserve my pettiness when

They clearly don't know the beef the gremlin has with me.

The Vocal AI gremlin that lives on the site really holds a grudge.

I wasn't even away that long. I mean there was a panorama, we were all jailed in our homes, and stuff but we survived.

Confession time I won a challenge, received two or maybe three top story, and was active in a few Vocal Facebook groups.

I don't think the gremlin forgave me for leaving.

I mean challenges are hard to win and I was #1. I thought it was the judges you know the people but given how things are going I know better now.

I'm sorry I promise this time I won't leave even if I change my mind about being a +plus member.

Are we good now?

Please post this without incident.

Love, seriously I do, really A lOT!!!!

Jordan Sky

Humanity
5

About the Creator

Jordan Sky Daniels

90s kid

Flower child

I rise with the moon

My pen flows

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Oooof yes! It’s so frustrating to write on a phone, I’ve had a bunch of editing issues that way too 😩. This story did make me giggle though thinking of an AI gremlin on the site that is out to get us lol

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I have been having this problem on my phone too!!!! Lol 😂

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    It’s Justin. 😉 I’m sorry you’re having problems with the site. I don’t even have a computer or laptop. I moved out of state, sold my iMac, and have yet to replace it because… I do 100% of my writing on my phone. Even stories that are 5-7k words. I know that sounds crazy. I have an iPad with a Magic Keyboard, and a writing desk… but I like to write no matter where I am, even if I’m in the middle of a run around the lake and an idea pops in my head. What I do is use a Google Docs app. Then I copy & paste my finished story or poem into the Vocal writing editor. I hope you figured things out soon.

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    😂😂 I love the digressions you had in there. Made this fun to read. I do have the same issue with vocal whenever I try to edit on my phone. I asked them before and apparently they don't support chrome yet, but it might work fine if you use Safari browser or an iPhone (I think that's what they said at the time, but I'm honestly not sure.. it was a while ago). I just use desktop anyway to avoid these issues, but I do hope they fix this soon.

  • Ha, I feel ya😉❤️💯📝👍 -The part when you mentioned selling on Etsy lol 😆 Great Article, Keep Publishing Sis 💯💥❗🍿🎬

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.