Confessions logo

Torn By Love

Two lives battling to be my true love.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published about a year ago 4 min read
Torn By Love
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I, like most of you lead a dual life. My author life which is made up of fantasy, ecstasy and adventure. And my real life that contains my real job, a job I very much love too.

I have always wanted to be an author when I grew up but never had the courage to pursue it.

So imagine my surprise when I found an “actual job” that I genuinely love, almost as much as writing. But depending on the day, I sometimes love it more.

I know it’s uncommon for someone to have a job that they love and look forward to being at everyday. But I do!

By trade I am an educational assistant. I work with special needs children, in their early years. Ranging from the ages of 2.5 to 5 years old.

We teach them skills that will help pave the way for the rest of their lives. Things like learning to write their name, learning to use the toilet and how to process big emotions.

Which sounds challenging and like a lot of work for very little pay. But I must admit that I’m not here for the pay. I am here everyday because I love it.

To me this is one of the most rewarding things in the world. There’s a sense of pride you feel when you watch a child successfully execute a skill you’ve been working on for months. It makes all the many months of work worth it. That one little moment.

Yes there are hard days where I am doing nothing but battling with a child to put their shoes on or take off their coat.

But more often than not there are these magical moments when a child will show us how independent they truly are. Watching a child discover how magical playing in a bin of shredded paper is. We're building their imagination as we pretend the pieces are snowflakes.

Their eyes light up and you feel a warmth inside as you watch them open up to a new discovery. Singing a song about snowflakes falling as we sprinkle the “snow” on our toes, hands and noses.

There’s nothing more satisfying or magical to me than a pure interaction like that with a child.

Nothing that is, in my real life. But as I have alluded, I am torn between my two lives and my two loves.

The only thing I find even remotely more satisfying than my real job is when I get to write. The bliss I feel as the words so easily tumble out of my brain. I mumble them to myself as I listen to the clicking of my keyboard, my fingers flying in a frenzy to keep up with my thoughts.

I often find myself salivating over a good story from another author. Or even egotistically over my own work, when I am especially proud.

I become emerged in the story as I take it all in, the sound of the words. The feel of them on my lips as I mutter to myself softly. Followed by that familiar feeling of butterflies building in my stomach. Getting my hopes up that I could one day be just as inspirational and be able to leave my mark for the masses.

Not that I need the recognition but more that I want it. More that I wish to inspire others as I have felt inspired by others before me.

But as I write this, I remind myself that this place I love and crave is only a fantasy. The real mark that I will leave will unlikely be on this platform or in any pages of a book.

The real mark I will leave will be the one I make with the children I work with. A fellow teaching assistant of mine once told me many years ago. “You may not feel like a legend but you will live on in these children’s memories as one. They will talk of you and remember you far beyond your time. You make magic with them and they will always know it.” - Ms. S

And this has held true. I find that even as I change work places or classrooms or even cities. Whenever I run into an old student, they immediately recognize me and come running to me. They often shout to their parents “that’s her. That’s miss Donna!” And my heart is full every time.

The pride I feel in these instances is something I find indescribable. But if I had to give it a shot, it would be something like ecstasy.

Similar to the feeling of when you first publish a new piece of work that you are truly proud of. You feel all your hopes and dreams rising within, bubbling and ready to burst with excitement.

So although I am torn between my love of writing and my love of working with the kids I care about. I do know that in the end, I will have left my foot print in one way or another.

All I need to know is that as long as I do what makes me happy, I will never need to choose between my two loves. I can take pride in all my forms of work.

A note from the author:

I would like to take a moment to dedicate this entry to my husband. Who has always supported me and encouraged me to do what I love. Even if I can’t choose between the two, I know he will still support me with both of my loves.

As long as I keep reminding him that no matter what he will always remain my number one. Thank you for always supporting me, my love! <3

WorkplaceSecretsHumanity

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

I have two novellas available on Amazon if you are interested:

A Tale of Thieves and A Tale of An Enchanted Forest.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    I work with people in a similar way, it's very transient. They often recognise me when I meet them later and the huge smile I get is wonderful. I can also relate to the pride you can feel in your own work when you get it just right. I've stumbled on old pieces of mine, or old social media posts, and thought, "gosh who wrote thi- waaaait! that's ME! gosh!" 🤣

  • Thank you so much Donna, for helping these children with special needs and actually loving what you do. The world needs more people like you. You mentioned that you help them learn how to process big emotions. I think a lot of children need that. Because even until now, I'm unable to process my emotions well. And I'm so glad you found writing and you do that under a pen name. So it's like living a secret double life. That's so cool! Also, so happy that yoi have a supportive husband. I enjoyed learning more about you. I had time today to read your stuff so I kinda binged, lol! Hope you don't mind. This will be my last read for today. I'll binge again when I can! 💖

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I relate to this very much. I have two different “day jobs” that I love. I’m self employed as an astrologer, with business coming in waves, and I’m also a full-time nanny. I think it’s a shame that we’re taught to be one thing when we’re kids, and people ask what we want to be when we “grow up.” The most successful people use a wide range of talents and passions to have multiple streams of income. I’m sure I’ll work with children forever, even if it’s just volunteering from time to time.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    This is first rate. Top story from humble me. Wow! I am blown away. Well done Donna. Writing from your heart gives the best stories.

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.