Confessions logo

To the youths that ganged up on me today

The latest trauma

By Chloe GilholyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
To the youths that ganged up on me today
Photo by Jerry Zhang on Unsplash

Note to editors: the story does not contain religious content and I do not understand why it was rejected for this reason.

To the group of youths (I almost said yobs, but that would make me no better than you) who thought it was be fun to gang up on me for simply having my phone in my hand, it’s not a crime to be on your phone. I am aware of road safety, and risks on the road. You have no right to tell me what to do or treat me like a child when you lot are still in school.

First, mind your own business. You have no idea what I’ve been going through, nor do you deserve to know. I was perfectly safe in broad daylight and there was no cars around.

Second, you had no right to talk to me in that tone and then laugh and gang up on me with the way you looked at me as if I was second-rate citizen. I saw the way some of you glared at me with your fists pumped up. And your laughs were so pathetic.

Third, you are all cowards and hypocrites. Also you lot also didn’t look both ways before crossing the street. The reason you got so angry and blurred every insult under the sun is because you know it’s true. Cause if that’s how you treat a stranger, then God help the people you spent a lot of time with in school and at home. It would not surprise me if you bully others for a sense of victory.

Forth, I don’t need your pity or fake concern. I saw the laughs and the sarcastic tone. Congrats on being part of the problem and making the place more dangerous for women. I was more likely to be beaten up and mugged by you lot than anybody running me over.

Lucky I’m a nice person and took another path to cross. How do I know you lot ain’t got knives and guns? Thank goodness you lot also walked away as well. Cause let me tell you something it’s not me you should be scared off. If some of my other friends where there, they would have given you nightmares. But the next stranger you start on might be armed. So mind your own business next time.

And practise what you preach before. Somebody would have been happy to film you with tour insults so you could be named and shamed. The only reason I didn’t is because I consider myself to be a decent person.

You kids need to know that the world is a horrible place. You probably already know that, but whatever problems you are having, it does not give you the right to take it out on a stranger.

There are more things to worry about then what somebody else is doing. You lot are going through shit with what the government has done to this country. You all have less opportunities than me when I was your age. In your hoodies and worn out clothes I can see you’re all trying to blend in with the crowd and try to be cool. You lot are gonna learn the hard way that in order to succeed in life, blending in is the worst thing you can ever do for yourself.

And that’s why I write this post to express myself, let the anger out and forgive you. You lot will likely never read this and it’s also likely you will never see me again. I can’t believe I was made into a position where I felt threatened by a group of people more younger and possibly vulnerable than me.

A lot of people have told me I should have reported you all to the police, but I’m not gonna do that. It will only make things worse and all you’ve done is waste your time. I hope I never have to see you lot again.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.