Confessions logo

This is my confession

Own your Identity

By Alecia HarriottPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
4
This is my confession
Photo by Shalone Cason on Unsplash

In the dimly lit confession room, Megan sat with a heavy heart racing a hundred miles per hour with secrets she could no longer bear. It was just too much burden to carry for such a youngster. The wooden partition seemed to close in on her as if suffocating her with its silent judgment. She took a deep breath as if steeling herself to finally unburden her soul.

"This is my confession," she began, her voice trembling. "For years, I've carried a weight that I can no longer bear alone." Its too heavy!

As she spoke, memories flooded back, each one a shard of pain piercing her conscience, her soul.

"It started when I was just a teenager," Megan confessed. "I fell in love with my best friend, Emily. But I was too afraid to tell her. I hid my feelings burying them deep inside my heart."

The words spilled out like a dam breaking, the truth rushing forth in a torrent.

"I watched from the sidelines as Emily dated other people, pretending to be happy for her while my heart ached with longing. I could not bear to lose her friendship so I kept my feelings hidden and locked away deep in the darkest corners of my soul."

Tears welled in Megan's eyes as she confessed the years of silent suffering, the loneliness that gnawed at her from within.

"But it wasn't just Emily," she continued, her voice barely above a whisper. "I've spent my whole life hiding who I truly am. I was afraid of what others might think if they knew the truth."

She spoke of the sleepless nights spent wrestling with her identity and the constant fear of rejection and ridicule that may come from family, friends and community members.

"I have lived in fear for so long. I was afraid to be honest with myself and with those I love," Megan confessed while her voice breaking into million pieces. "But I cannot keep pretending anymore. I am tired of hiding and the most damaging is that I am also tired of living a lie."

As she spoke, a weight began to be lifted from Megan's shoulders. The confession freeing her from the chains of secrecy that had bound her for so long. On the other side of the partition, Father Michael listened intently, his heart heavy with compassion for the young woman's pain.

"My child," he said gently, "God hears your confession and knows the depths of your heart. You are not alone in your struggles."

With those words, Megan wiped away her tears, feeling a glimmer of hope flicker within her. She smiled.

"But what do I do now?" she asked, her voice filled with uncertainty as the smile faded from her face'

Father Michael offered her a reassuring smile. "You must embrace who you are, without fear or shame. And remember, God's love is unconditional. He will always be there to guide and support you on your journey."

With those words ringing in her ears, Megan stepped out of the confessional, her heart lighter than it had been in years. She knew that the road ahead would be difficult, filled with challenges and obstacles. But for the first time in a long time, she felt a sense of peace, knowing that she no longer had to walk it alone.

As she left the church, the warm glow of the setting sun enveloped her, filling her with a newfound sense of hope. With each step forward, Megan embraced the truth of who she was, ready to face whatever the future holds knowing that she was finally free to live her life authentically, without fear or shame.

DatingSecretsFriendshipCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Alecia Harriott

I am excited to share my passion for history, storytelling and poetry with readers around the globe and look forward to continuing my journey as a writer, one word at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake11 days ago

    Nice one!

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Nice story of someone being shown it’s OK to be who you are.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.