Confessions logo

Things I cried over this week

(And the week isn't over yet)

By Shelby LarsenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Things I cried over this week
Photo by Chris Barbalis on Unsplash

I'm a very emotional person. I cry at sad and happy movies, books, TikToks... you name it. I will cry over any little small thing sometimes, whether it's something that's just a small inconvenience or something that is truly sad.

Now, I did lose a grandma this week... so I've obviously cried over that a few times this week. But instead of focusing in on that, let's laugh at all the other ridiculous things that have gotten me emotional this week.

  • I had an order for a brand new phone that got delayed, and then it was cancelled.
  • I had to make an appointment at Best Buy to solve the above problem.
  • I still don't have a new phone.
  • I've been working to get a trip I won booked, and I spoke with my 5th travel agent this week. It's still not set up.
  • I've watched too many TikToks about dogs that died.
  • One video in particular involved a pet owner that has been filling a cooler with toys, treats, and snacks and leaving it her late dog's favorite spot at the lake for other pets.
  • I've spent too much money this week.
  • Starbucks discontinued their Star Drink.
  • The two vets my dog goes to gave me conflicting information, which led to me spending extra money.
  • The news.
  • I haven't wanted to write anything lately.
  • I had some friends bail on me.
  • They also ghosted me for a couple of days in the process.
  • I watched a cute TikTok about a foster family.
  • I miss my fiancé.
  • Gas is so expensive, it hurts.
  • My dog didn't want to cuddle with me one time.
  • I'm watching The Vampire Diaries (don't judge me). There's a lot of death and drama to cry over.
  • I got my butt wet by sitting on a chair that had been out overnight.
  • One of my plants died.
  • I miss my best friend who lives out-of-state.
  • I had too much to drink one night.
  • I was hungover the next day.
  • Even more Vampire Diaries cry sessions.
  • My Outlook app isn't working on my work computer.
  • I didn't know what to eat.
  • I got a very painful wax.
  • That same pain followed into the next day.
  • I locked my keys in my car.
  • The news. Again.
  • My fiancé has sent some adorable texts and gifs that have led to happy tears.
  • One of my co-workers is out this week, and I'm covering some stuff for him.
  • Turns out I don't know how to do some of that stuff.
  • More dog videos on TikTok probably.
  • ...And there's probably others that I can't think of right now.

    It's crazy how sometimes the smallest thing can lead to a mental breakdown when you're already in a rough spot.

    Will everything be okay? Yes, it absolutely will. (And that's what I keep reminding myself). But that doesn't mean that I can't acknowledge that some stuff sucks.

    There's a few things that I do if I'm not feeling super great or I'm having one of those small moments that seems so overwhelming. It's amazing how one small thing might make the day not seem so bad.

    I might...

    Call or text a loved one

    Take a shower

    Play with the dog

    Watch a Disney movie

    Go for a walk

    Soak up some sun

    Also... remember to take your medications, drink water, get a decent amount of sleep, and eat something. Sometimes we forget the simple things, and yes, the simple things can make a difference.

    I hope your week is going better than mine, but hey -- I'm already feeling a bit better because look! I wrote something this week.

    Here's to next week. 🥂

    Humanity
    2

    About the Creator

    Shelby Larsen

    Warning: I love messing with your favorite fairy tales.

    I've loved writing most of my life. In college I made it my passion, but once I reached the "real" world, I stopped. I'm here to find my creativity and get back to my passion.

    Reader insights

    Outstanding

    Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

    Top insight

    1. Heartfelt and relatable

      The story invoked strong personal emotions

    Add your insights

    Comments (2)

    Sign in to comment
    • stephanie cetoute2 years ago

      I related to this story. Well written.

    • Babs Iverson2 years ago

      Heartfelt and emotional!!! Left some ❤

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.