Confessions logo

The very emotional trip to Belize

A very sad trip for me earlier this year

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The very emotional trip to Belize
Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

Last year my first girlfriend, Tania Thakur, died in Kanpur, India. When I found out the news I was very shocked. I went to visit her family a few months ago. Her parents wanted me to take some of her ashes and put them in the Mopan river in Belize. In our religion some ashes are put in a river as a homage to the passing of the soul.

Tania was very fond of Belize. She and I had gone on a one month vacation there in 2005 and she always felt that it was one of the best times of her life. I was very happy when I was there with her too.

Later, in 2007, she and I went our separate ways. She got married to a gentleman, Raj Ashok, in New Delhi but after a few years she got divorced. I got married in a few years and live with my wife, Sangeeta Patel, and daughter, Meenal, in Montreal.

Over the years Tania and I hardly kept in touch but we were always an email away from each other.

After meeting her parents I took the ashes they gave in an urn and returned to Canada. I told Sangeeta that I plan to go to Belize and the reason I wanted to go. She supported me going there but did want to go to Belize. I understood and respected her decision, and then took a flight to Belize. This trip was going to be four days long.

On the penultimate day of the trip I went to a forest near the Mopan river. Tania and I had been to the same place in 2005.

The day I went this time was a warm day in June 2021. There was no one nearby. My taxi driver left me there and would be back in three hours so I could return to my hotel in the town where I was staying 85 kilometers away. So, in a sense, I was alone there for a few hours with the majestic nature of the forest. I looked at the Mopan river. It was flowing so smoothly and the water seemed pristine.

I was about to immerse Tania’s ashes in the river but thought I would wait a few minutes. I cried a little and missed Tania a lot at that moment. I also remembered the trip of 2005. Remembering the good memories was bringing a faint smile to me but missing her was superceding that and making me cry. I held my head and walked towards the river.

From a distance I could see some birds and some other animals such as monkeys and squirrels. One bird came flying towards me. It was a beautiful scarlet macaw. Its colours were so nice but blue was very prominent. I thought at first it was coming to attack me but I was wrong. It flew close to me and sort of tapped me on my shoulder and then sat on a branch on a tree very near to me.

I looked at it. I felt like it was smiling towards me. I was not sure what was happening. I immersed Tania’s ashes in the river. The scarlet macaw flew near me and then towards the part of the river where I had immersed the ashes. It touched the water and then flew away.

I found all this remarkable. It seemed as if Tania had returned for a short time. Her soul had gotten into the scarlet macaw temporarily. I know this was not possible but this is what I felt happened then.

The scarlet macaw flew away and went to the trees far from me. I sat near the river and waited for my taxi to return. After the taxi returned, I then went back to my hotel in it. During the trip I thought of Tania a lot as well as of the scarlet macaw. I think I will never forget this day. I was looking forward to returning to Montreal to my family in two days. This trip to Belize was one of the most emotional trips in my life so far.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.