Confessions logo

The Unknown

Navigating on pure faith.

By Shannon LemirePublished 2 years ago ā€¢ 3 min read
Like
The Unknown
Photo by Patrick Schneider on Unsplash

I have days where my faith is stronger than others.

Today was a day of breakthrough for me.

I've been feeling depressed, with no sense of hope or belief in anything, and in general, having random bouts of crying.

I was adding clothes to the dryer when my eyes started to well up. Everything came to a head; Paul and I's relationship, our buying this house together when I no longer feel the same way about him, the newly added financials of owning a home, and the emotional dealings of me actually telling Paul I no longer feel the same way. Leaning against the dryer, I cried for I don't know how long.

I'm afraid and need to know I'm safe.

I heard the smallest of voices in the back of my mind as my tears fell.

I cried more. You bet your ass I'm scared. Terrified is a more accurate description of my daily state of mind. I have been living in fear for months. Fear of screwing up my life. The question looms, 'what if you fuck it up and end up living in a box somewhere?'

I hadn't realized how much the weight of fear was causing me to live in denial of my faith and as a result, I'd lost any belief in God. Wiping my eyes, I took a few deep breaths to calm myself as the knowledge of this settled in. I had lost my faith, I thought and began crying all over again.

Get quiet and listen

This voice was louder and more clear in my mind; instantly causing me to stop crying and take deep breaths. I stood there, the dryer warm on my butt, and heaved a few final cries out before I got quiet. I softened into the rhythm of the warm machine and closed my eyes, listening for higher guidance. Thoughts drifting from one thing to the next, I started to release the grip of fear.

You are safe and taken care of, you are held.

I repeated this a few times and got choked up, almost starting to cry again because I didn't know if I could regain my belief of what my higher guidance said. I was afraid of letting go completely, yet I had no other choice but to do so. Holding onto fear wasn't working anymore. It was either or; fear or faith, there was no gray inbetween here. I rested my face in my hands, massaging my face, wiping my tears away and resumed deep breathing/listening.

Be grateful for everything you have, trust that you are held and safe.

The dryer having stopped now, I stood there a while longer, saying, I am safe and held over and over in my mind until a calm knowing that everything would work itself out landed in my body.

How does a calm knowing feel?

I felt like God was standing right next to me; I felt an overall sense of reassurance sweep through me as well as all tension leave my body.

For the first time in a long time, I wanted to be goofy and dance around the kitchen as I baked something and did just that going upstairs to turn on some tunes, shaking my hips and singing as I made Apple Crumble bars.

Having my faith restored I know I'm not to sit back and be a passive recipient. Faith knowing that everything is going to be okay isn't enough, it's up to me to take my life and act toward the changes I want to see in it. The unknown is a scary fucking place.

Writing this story seemed like the next best step toward making changes in my life and moving through the unknown.

Thanks for reading-

Shannon

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.