Confessions logo

The unexpected college love story.

How things turned out still wonders me...

By Haziq KhanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The unexpected college love story.
Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

College was a new chapter in my life, a fresh start where I could leave behind the past and embrace the possibilities of the future. Little did I know that my college years would be defined by an unexpected love story that would change my life forever.

It all started in my second year when I joined a club on campus. I was there to meet new people and have fun, not expecting to find anything more. But that's when I met him, the man who would turn my world upside down.

His name was Jack, and he was unlike anyone I had ever met. He had a charisma that drew people in, and a smile that could light up a room. We quickly became friends, bonding over shared interests and a love of good coffee. I enjoyed his company, but I never saw him as anything more than a friend. That is until one fateful day.

We were sitting in the campus café, sipping our coffee and talking about our plans for the weekend when he suddenly leaned in closer. His eyes locked with mine, and for a moment, time stood still. I could feel my heart racing in my chest as he asked me out on a date. It was unexpected, but it felt right.

Our first date was like nothing I had experienced before. We went to a local park, enjoying the sunshine and the peaceful surroundings. As we walked, we talked about everything under the sun, from our hopes and dreams to our favorite movies. We even discovered a shared love of classic literature, something that would become a recurring theme in our relationship.

From that day on, we were inseparable. We spent all of our free time together, exploring the city and trying new things. We would often stay up late, lost in conversation and enjoying each other's company. It felt like we had known each other for years, even though we had only just met.

But our relationship was not without its challenges. We were both busy with schoolwork, and it was difficult to find time for each other. There were times when we would go days without seeing each other, which only made our time together more precious. We had to work hard to balance our academic commitments with our love for each other.

As time went on, our relationship grew stronger. We met each other's families, went on vacations together, and even started talking about our future. It was clear that we were in love, and that we wanted to spend the rest of our lives together.

But then, just as suddenly as our love story began, it was over. Jack was offered a job across the country, and he had to leave. It was devastating, but we both knew that it was the right decision for him. We promised to stay in touch and to make our relationship work, no matter the distance.

It wasn't easy. Long-distance relationships are hard, and we had to work even harder to keep our love alive. But we did it. We talked on the phone every day, sent care packages in the mail, and made plans to see each other whenever we could. It was a test of our love, but we passed with flying colors.

After a year apart, Jack came back to town. He got down on one knee and asked me to marry him, and I said yes. We were married in a beautiful ceremony surrounded by our friends and family, and we started our new life together.

Looking back on our unexpected love story, I can't help but smile. We overcame so many obstacles to be together, and our love has only grown stronger with each passing day. Jack will always be the love of my life, and I will always be grateful for the day he leaned in closer and asked me out on that first date.

SchoolTeenage yearsSecretsFriendshipEmbarrassmentDating
1

About the Creator

Haziq Khan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.