Confessions logo

The Self Therapy Diaries

Vol. 1 - Issue 1 - This is Me

By Mackenzie CoberleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

In the effort to save money and save my soul, I have officially decided that instead of holding everything in my head, I'm going to turn to writing out whats in there and no go to a therapist, because that's the healthy alternative to a broke b*tch who wants to get it all out there. I just want to publish these on this website and never promote them, and whoever stumbles upon them - congrats I'm welcoming you in to my crazy brain.

My goal for this is to be able to just lay everything about myself out there and MAYBE if some person out there reads these, they can relate to anything I have to say.

I suppose the first order of business is to tell you about me.

I grew up in small town Iowa, but make that three small towns spanning across a 30 mile stretch on highway 30.

Starting with Ames, IA - Ames holds a special, special place in my heart. Both of my parents graduated from my Alma Mater, Iowa State University. My brother attends there as well and it's where I met some of my best friends. My dad works for the football team and ISU and I was able to bond with him for our love of sports and he taught me all that I know about work ethic and finding your passion. Currently, my brother and mom both go to school there and my brother plays football as well. Ames is the one place that makes feel me feel home whenever I go back, and my favorite place in the world is sitting in Jack Trice stadium on game day with tens of thousands of fans sitting and cheering on the Cyclones.

Moving about 12 mi east, you reach Nevada, IA. Nevada is where home is. My parents moved my brother and I there when I was in 3rd grade. We moved away from my best friend in the world who lived across the street from us, and I had to leave my fort in the backyard in our home in Ames. Living in Nevada had it's blessings and curses. I did not go to school in Nevada, but it's where I eventually met my best friend Noah, who ended up moving in across the street - who I would end up having the most confusing friendship of all time. Nevada is how I was able to find myself and be myself. My neighborhood had plenty of kids my age growing up, but they were mostly boys. So I became a tom boy in trying to just have friends.

Let's drive about 18 more miles east to State Center, IA. State Center is where my mom taught high school science and I went to school. This town... has it's good and bad memories for me. I wouldn't trade going to school there for anything, because I got all my life lessons from that town, but it also holds some of my darkest thoughts and memories there. Which we can get in to some other time. Most people that I knew from there that i did not stay connected to, still live there and the only people I still care about and keep in touch with with, do not. State Center could be one of the best small towns in America, if everyone there was just kind to one another.

Theres the beginning, so let me tell you the end as well so we can get into the nitty gritty in between.

In present day, I am an overworked and under paid assistant in the music industry. My passions are bringing live music to life as well as as the hard rock and metal worlds. I love the development of new bands and the thrill of finding them. I live with my boyfriend Sean (who I will tell you all about) and our two dogs Ryker (lab german-shepard mix) and Cooper (red nose pitbull) with our roommate Justin. I love to read and to type, and my favorite place to escape is the movie theatre, watching new movies with strangers.

The goal of this first issue is to show and give context to how I grew up and my mentality of stories to come, and we can get the basics out of the way when I dive into my stories. So, welcome to the The Self Therapy Diaries and welcome to my story.

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Mackenzie Coberley

This is my life! Just trying to write what makes me happy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.