Confessions logo

The Same Guy

Dating the same guy

By kimberly swainPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
The Same Guy
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

THE SAME GUY

My family always has little, small family gatherings and this is the time everyone gets to bring the spouse/partner out for everyone to meet. Normally my guy is at work, and we have only been dating for about 3 months. So, at family events, I always brag about him, but never once did I mention his real name, I always call him by his nickname which is CJ. My cousin also has a new guy they have been dating for about 2 weeks and both of our guys work in the same place and his name is Chris. So, as we go on about how they are, we notice that both CJ and Chris have so much in common and I felt very weird about the outcome, and I just had this awful vibe about both being so much alike.

At the next family gathering, I said that I would be able to show off my guy and my cousin said that she would bring her guy along as well. So, a few months went by, and it was time to show off our guy friends at the family gathering. I arrived first with my baby girl and CJ would be on shortly. We all were seated and having some good old conversations about the past events when my cousin stepped in with her children right behind her. Everyone wanted to know where her guy was, and she stated that he was running a little late. After an hour had passed CJ walks up to the tent and I jumped up and greeted him to the family I noticed that my cousin was looking a little flushed. Her baby girl runs up and hugs CJ’s leg screaming “Daddy, Daddy, you came”. My mouth dropped; the family grasped like oh. She thinks that’s her dad how sweet, and my cousin jumps up and says, hold up, Your CJ is my Chris?

CJ or Chris or whoever this guy was shocked and all he could say was; “hold up let me explain”, I felt so low, disgusted, and just worthless. My guy was in a relationship with my cousin too. I just couldn't believe what I was seeing or hearing but it was true.

My cousin and I were dating the same guy. I was so hurt and confused and thinking in my head about all the things he said to me. Did he tell her the same things that he told me, do he buy her the same things that he buys me. Now that this is all going through my head, my cousin is making a scene, saying that I knew what I was doing and that I was low-down for cheating with her boyfriend. While all this going on, I noticed she had on the same jewelry that I had on that he bought me. Chris/ CJ was just standing there trying to plead his case and tell me that he was sorry and he didn't know she was my family. Now my mother, father, and siblings have spoken up and told my cousin and CJ/Chris they had to leave their house as soon as possible because they know how I am when I'm mad. CJ was banned from the house for good and I told my brother to take him to my crib to grab his things and the things that he had given to me as well. But before CJ could leave he stopped and apologized to me and my cousin and he told me to please call him to straighten things out because he is so sorry but all I said was here is your cheap jewelry because I don't want it and who buys their girl the same thing they buy a streetwalker.

Dating

About the Creator

kimberly swain

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KSWritten by kimberly swain

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.