Confessions logo

The Recovery Time

Mouth Recovery

By Olivia Paus Published 2 years ago 14 min read
Like
The Recovery Time
Photo by Laura Vinck on Unsplash

Rushing back into the house, Keegan laid down on the living room couch. Her mouth was sore from the doctors removing her top two wisdom teeth. Mrs. Bernard placed some things down quietly and made her way over to the kitchen. A blender ricochet as it pierced into some fruit. Keegan fumbled with her jacket as she wiggled out, headfirst. She snuggled into the plush pillow and dosed off.

Keegan moved her body until she was facing right-side up. She blinked a couple of times. She looked up at the ceiling, the light was off and the room completely dim. Gianna tussled her hair, she reached underneath the cushions and searched for the little black remote.

“What are you doing now?” A tall girl with auburn hair revealed herself as she turned on the light.

Keegan looked over at the tall girl, “Rose! You can’t scream at people like that.” Keegan leaned backward, “You crazy!!”

Gianna immediately grabbed the sides of her face. She started rubbing the sides of her cheeks. Paying special attention to her gums.

“You were passed out for a while,” Rose said as she leaned into the side of the wall. “George is going to be home soon.”

Keegan raised her eyebrow, “If he’s at school…. why are you home?”

Rose started to walk behind the wall and towards the hallway. Gianna wasn’t sure if she would get an answer. Rose came back to the living room. “Mom let me stay home since my arm still hurts from the shot I got,” Rose cooed.

Rose got up and leaned forward on the loveseat, as she waited for her favorite person to get home. Keegan found the remote and flicked the TV on. Barney was singing some happy, over-the-top song. Keegan started flipping through channels and left Men is the New Black on with about a half an hour showing time left.

The front door was flung open and a blonde mess came powering through. Lifting up his bangs, he looked at his older sister on the couch. George jumped up right next to her. He was shoving a color 1-liter of 7-Up bottle in her face.

Keegan leaned into her brother and said calmly, but with a little bit of a punch, “Why don’t you go show mom?” George threw his backpack on the ground and continued to jump on the couch.

“MOOMMM!” Keegan screamed at the top of her lungs.

Mrs. Foster sweetly, “What honey?”

“George is home.” Keegan revealed. Her mother could be heard running

down the steps.

“Mom,” George said as he laughed. “Keegan is homme.”

Mrs. Foster, “Do NOT touch your sister! She just had mouth surgery!!”

George got bored and he started running and holding his arms out as if he were an airplane.

Rose cooed, “Play with me George. Play with me!” Mrs. Foster came

down and smiled as she passed her two youngest children playing.

“Can I get you anything dear?” She started to look towards Keegan.

“Maybe a popsicle?”

Keegan flared her nostrils, “You’re asking me if I want a popsicle?”

Mrs. Foster answers, “Yeah, I just thought you might.”

“It’s 20 degrees outside mom, I’d rather not have something cold like that.”

Mrs. Foster threw up her arms. Keegan looked back at the TV as the

credits for the movie started to roll. George and Rose danced around, moving

from the dining room to the family room.

Keegan began changing the channel. She flipped several stations. She landed

on Dora the Explora on her third attempt. Keegan giggled. As she saw Rose,

followed by George, she pointed to the TV.

Keegan called, “Look George. It’s your favorite show!” Rose grabbed her belly

and nearly fell to the floor.

George walked over to Keegan, pulled the remote from her hand, leaned in

close to her face and said, “You’re dirty.”

George started rushing up the stairs. Keegan threw up her arms as if to usher

him away. Keegan yelled, “Mom!! George is being mean to me!”

Mrs. Foster’s voice crescendos as she walks down the hallway, “George,

I told you to leave your sister alone!”

Roses auburn hair flips forward as she laughs into her belly. She runs upstairs.

Keegan strokes the back of the couch. “Mom, second thought on that

popsicle.”

“I’ve got you right now honey,” Keegan flips her head to the side and lies

down on the couch. Her mom walks in with a Cherry popsicle. She hands

it over to her daughter. Keegan accepts it, licking her lips.

Cracking down to business, Keegan flips through the channels. She takes

a couple licks of her popsicle. She stops on a “Betty Crocker tuna fish dish

Recipe.” She lays down and just stares at the TV.

She feels a cool sensation at the tip of her heel. Keegan props up and sees

a Black lab hovered over her legs with his tongue out. Keegan smiles, “Otis!

where did you come from?!”

The 12-year-old dog walks up to her face and began licking all around her

nose. Keegan pets his snout. She praises him, “You’re a very good boy.

But you may not lick my lips!” Keegan traces her upper lip, her puffiness

had not left yet.

Otis licked her popsicle twice. Then he curled up in front of her on the couch.

Keegan pulled up her parents recordings and selected the Midday News. She watched as pretty woman on the TV talked about a sewage plant that had just overflowed

that morning.

He felt a sense of restriction, so Otis leapt off the couch and made himself

comfortable on the floor. Keegan slowly devoured her popsicle. In the

midst of this action, she scratched the top of Otis’ head and cooed, “This s

the type of stuff that I should be watching. Everyone seems to talk about

the news at school.”

After watching the news for about an hour and a half of the recording,

Keegan got up and walked into the kitchen. A wonderful scent filled Keegan’s

nostrils.

Her smile dropped.

“What are you making?” Keegan asked, “You realize that I’m not supposed

to eat anything. Right?!”

“I’m sorry honey,” Mrs. Foster said as she put down her fresh tomatoes.

“Rose and I decided that she’d get a special meal today since she had such

a rough day the other day.”

Keegan started to walk around the granite island. “You better not be talking

about that TB shot. That thing is nothing compared to what I went through!”

“Oh Keegan, your sister is more sensitive than you.” Mrs. Foster adds, “

I really thought you’d be sleeping.”

Looking at the dish that lies in front of her mother, Keegan turns googly-

eyed, “You had to make Lasagna?!”

“I didn’t tell you to look at what I was making!” Keegan storms off into

the hallway. Mrs. Foster calls, “ I got all three of my wisdom teeth removed

when I was only 18!!!”

Keegan moves back to her spot in the living room. She pulls up the ottoman

and rests her feet on it. She switches the TV off, pulls out her iPod Touch and

turns on “Bloody Sunday.”

Otis jumps up and squats right next to her. Keegan pets him gently. She slowly

closes her eyes, not yet in sleep mode, but close to it.”

Keegan awakes and sees that she is sitting in the same place, with Otis propped over her right hand. Rose passes her and sashays rather quickly to the bathroom.

Keegan looks over her shoulder, but then turns back around.

Deciding to try a new area of fun, Keegan slowly removes her hand from

underneath Otis. She walked forward and started to look at old VHS tapes.

Keegan smiled as she found, “Snow White,” “The Jungle Book” and “The Three

Muskateers.”

Keegan took “The Jungle Book” in one hand and “Snow White” in the other.

She looked idly at some of the movies that made her childhood so bright.

She heard a large thud come from behind the couch. Keegan ran right over

and saw Rose sitting on the ground. A toy purse that Keegan used to use when

she would play dress up with her sister was discombobulated on the ground.

Fake gems were 5 feet on either side of Rose.

“What happened,” Keegan asked as she looked at her sister. Rose looked completely shocked and utterly embarrassed. “Uhh… I just wanted to..”

Keegan looked at her with big eyes, “You can tell me. I promise I won’t say

anything mean.”

Rose shook her tiny head.

George called as he came down the stairs, “She has a crush on somebody.”

Keegan looked at her sister, propped on one knee. “Is that true?” She

ushered.

“Yes,” Rose said, as she held on to her right shoulder.

Keegan tapped her chin, “Well tomorrow is Friday, right? Your hair looks

nice in braids….. what if me or mom do your hair before school?”

“You want to do my hair before school?!!” Rose chirped as she rose to her feet.

“I can,” Keegan responded. “But remember I can only do small braids.”

Rose pouts, “Well why would I want that?”

Frustrated, Keegan says, “I could do them around your head. it looks nice

that way. I can show you tonight if you want.”

“Show me tonight!”

“Alright, grab me a hairbrush and follow me over to the couch.”

Rose nods. She does as her big sister instructs.

Keegan holds out her hand and takes hold of the brush. She pats the spot right

in front of her for Rose to sit down.

Keegan takes hold of some of Roses hair and grabs it firmly. “Ow!!” Rose

yells. Keegan rolls her eyes, “I didn’t even start brushing yet.”

Keegan picks up the remote and starts once again flipping through channels.

“Please Keegan please, I won’t yell this time.” Keegan nods, “Just wait for me

to pick a show.”

She surfs through, but finds absolutely nothing worth watching. George comes

into the living room and looks from Keegan to Rose.

“Can I please watch Spongebob?” Their little brother asks.

“What’s stopping you from going in the family room?” Keegan asks.

George tilts his head down, “Please? I’ll be quiet and I won’t bother you.

George finds the VHS tapes that are still lying on the floor. “Do you want

me to put these away?”

Keegan groans, “Fine, you can sit bellow us by Otis and watch Spongebob…

yes, please put those away for me.”

Keegan proceeds with brushing out her sister’s hair. Rose makes

uncomfortable faces but remains silent. Keegan reminds herself of

how her aunt Cheryl used to brush out her hair.

Amidst her daydream, George grabs the hairbrush and starts running

around the room. He lifts the hairbrush up to show how triumphant

he feels.

Keegan just stares plainly for a moment. Rose gets off the couch and

starts to chase George. Otis starts barking at the top of his lungs. The

poor 20-year-old girl grabs her pounding head.

With one gulp, Keegan screams, “Mom!! George stole the hairbrush

from me!”

Mrs. Foster came running into the living room, catching George off

guard. He stops mid-step and hands her the hairbrush.

“I am not happy with you George. You can clean up those VHS tapes

and go upstairs.” George did as his mother instructed.

Keegan watched George clean up her mess and then walk up the stairs.

A smile showed through her disbelief.

Keegan looked at Rose, and then she looked at the TV. “Mom, I’m

so bored, tell me what I should do.”

Mrs. Foster cradled her chin dimple, “You love to read. Why don’t you take

one of my classics from the library and start reading?”

“Mom,” Keegan said annoyed, “I don’t read anymore. That was like a whole

four years ago.”

Rose laughed.

“Well I don’t know, I was just trying to give you something to do,” Mrs. Foster

defended herself.

Rose butted in, “Maybe if she would start to read again, she would be

smarter.”

Mrs. Foster gave Rose a stern look.

There was a pause. Rose looked over at Keegan, “I’m going to go with George

upstairs.”

Rose went upstairs without another word. Mrs. Foster looked over at Keegan,

“Can I make you some chicken broth?”

Keegan lowly, “Chicken broth won’t do anything for me.”

Mrs. Foster nodded, she motioned to turn off the lights. Keegan looked

up at her, “Is she right?” Mrs. Foster scratches her head as she moves

to the couch and sits down. “Who?” She beckons.

“Rose!”

“She doesn’t know what she’s talking about sweetie, don’t pay attention

to her when she says stuff like that.”

“I mean, sure….” Keegan says. “But I have been thinking recently that maybe

college isn’t for me.”

“Why do you say that?” Mrs. Foster strokes her daughters right arm. Keegan

tells her mother about how Freshmen year was much easier than Sophomore

year. She also had recently added, something called “Writing Rhetoric” for the

spring semester.

Mrs. Foster, “College was for your father, as well as for me. It’s for you too.”

Keegan opens her mouth to say something. But Mrs. Foster speaks first,

“Now, it doesn’t seem like there’s anything really wrong with your

college experience.”

“Yeah, I suppose you’re right,” Keegan replies.

Still slightly concerned, “So everything is okay now?” Mrs. Foster asks.

Keegan cheerfully, “Yup.” Her mother pats her knee, “I’m glad.”

Mrs. Foster stands up and motions to leave the room. “I guess I just doubt

myself sometimes,” Keegan adds.

“It happens to the best of us,” Mrs. Foster says. “Here, let me grab

something.”

Keegan waits patiently as the woman with the chin dimple runs to the

basement. She comes back up smiling, Mrs. Foster drapes a blanket

around her daughter.

“Just an early Christmas present!”

“Thanks mom!” Keegan’s mom bends down and she kisses her cheek.

“Have a great rest of your night honey!” The lights flicker off. Only the

white flicker of Maury remains.

Shortly after her mother went up to her room, Otis walked over to his dog

bed, making it clear that he thought it too late.

Keegan draped her blanket around her shoulders. She walked over to

the family room. It might have smells of food from the kitchen, but it

had the bigger couch. Not to mention, it was warmer.

KEEGAN

Hey dad.

MR. FOSTER

Hey daughter.

A SNICKER COMES FROM

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE PHONE

MR. FOSTER

Do you feel any better?

KEEGAN

I’m starting to.

MR. FOSTER

George seems to have all this energy

lately. I hope he and Louise weren’t

bothering you. Your mother said there

was a couple of fights.

KEEGAN (Smirking)

They weren’t big.

MR. FOSTER

Mom also told me that she gave you your

blanket early. Has that been helping?

KEEGAN GROANS

KEEGAN

It is a little.

MR. FOSTER

How are you feeling otherwise?

KEEGAN

I’m just super hungry.

MR. FOSTER

It would probably be better for you

To wait to eat. Unless you want a fudge

Pop, you could probably get away with that.

KEEGAN (Without skipping a beat)

I want a toasted bagel piled high with

Jalepano cream cheese.

MR. FOSTER LAUGHED

KEEGAN

Really bad too.

MR. FOSTER

Maybe you should go for it then.

Just make sure to wash your mouth out

With mouthwash after!

KEEGAN

That’s a good idea dad!

MR. FOSTER

No problem kiddo. Alright, well I

have to get up in six hours. So I’m

going to go. It was nice hearing from you!

KEEGAN RECIPROCATE’S

George comes walking through the family room with a pot in

his hand. Keegan sniffs and smells cheese in the air. She looks over

at her brother and down at the pot he is holding.

KEEGAN

What’s in the pot?

GEORGE

Nothing.

KEEGAN FLIPS HER PALM OVER

AND MOTIONS FOR GEORGE TO

BRING THE POT.

GEORGE

Noooooo.

KEEGAN MOTIONS FOR HIM TO COME NEAR HER AGAIN

GEORGE

Mom will be mad with me.

KEEGAN

Gitt over here or I will tell mom about you pretending

To be sick so you didn’t have to go to uncle Kenneth’s

89 birthday party.

GEORGE

Alright.

George gives the pot of mac n’ cheese to Keegan. He

looks helplessly at her for a moment. Then, he walks

away.

CHAPTER 2

THE UNTHINKABLE HAPPENS

Keegan wakes up sprawled on her family room couch. Sleepy dust still

covering her eyes. Keegan lifts her arms over her head. She begins

To feel an unmistakable pain on the right side of her mouth. ( Mac n’

Cheese particles begin to disperse themselves into her stitches).

KEEGAN (Loudly)

NOOOOOOO!!

Family
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Paus

I recently just graduated from Columbia College in Chicago. People keep asking me if and when I'm going to apply myself to something involving writing. I still don't have any clue. I just know that I like the way writing makes me feel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.