Confessions logo

The Real Life Of A Single Mom

Sometimes you just have to laugh

By Dr Deborah M VereenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - February 2022
30
The Real Life Of A Single Mom
Photo by Sai De Silva on Unsplash

I’m becoming sentimental.

While planning my daughter’s sweet sixteen birthday party, to be held in a few months, my mind has been drifting. I keep thinking about time’s swift passage. And I have been trying to come to terms with my baby turning sixteen. I am ready to celebrate this milestone in my daughter’s development, but I wish I had magical powers to turn back the hands of time.

Recently, as I remembered my daughter as a bubbly spirited little girl, a funny memory showed up.

She Was Only Five

The author and her five year old daughter

Cute, funny, precocious, and a little sassy best described my beautiful little girl at age five. She was very helpful, too.

My daughter was enrolled in a prestigious private school for girls. As an only parent, my budget was tight, especially because I was adjusting to paying a huge tuition bill along with payments for my child’s gymnastics program.

We had a good, time-management routine. Aside from working as a school administrator and taking care of my daughter in every other way, every minute of every day was accounted for.

For example, after arriving home from church each Sunday, I washed our laundry for the week. I always washed my daughter’s school uniforms and all of the black pants that I would wear throughout the week together in one large load. There were other huge loads to clean, too.

Then This Happened

By Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

On a particular Sunday afternoon, I only got as far as piling our dirty laundry onto the laundry room floor because I was exhausted. I couldn’t do another thing. So, I took a short nap on our sofa intending to complete my tasks when I was a little more refreshed.

While I was asleep, I heard my little girl as she approached me. As my groggy eyes opened, I saw my bouncy daughter dance around before me with a big smile on her face. Her pigtails also bounced as she said with innocent pride in her squeaky little voice that was uniquely hers,

“Mommy! I did the laundry for you!!”

At the same time, the strong odor of something that didn’t smell right hit me. I quickly came to my senses after recognizing the smell, and screamed

“oh no!”

as I sprang up and ran down to the laundry room.

My helpful sweet little girl had carried her step stool down to the basement, loaded all the black pants that I owned into the washer except the ones I had on and one other pair that remained in my closet. My little helper also loaded the washer with all of her uniforms except for a few that hung in her closet. She set the washer to rinse and nearly added an entire bottle of bleach to the clothes that we wore every weekday. My biggest fear was realized when I opened the lid of the washer and saw all her school uniforms and all my black pants ruined by the bleach.

My response to my beautiful daughter was

“thank you for being so helpful”

as I kissed her. I assured my daughter that we would always do the laundry together.

I couldn’t afford to buy replacement pants for myself nor could I afford new uniforms for my daughter. So, for the rest of the school year, I wore my two pairs of black pants. I’d wash a pair every night to make sure they were clean. And I did the same with the two uniforms my daughter had left.

No one at my school knew that I, the principal, only owned two pairs of pants that I rotated for the rest of the school year. I think the beautiful tops and accessories that I wore made the difference. And I must say, I looked very nice and professional every day. No one at my daughter’s school knew that she only had two uniforms for the rest of her kindergarten year neither.

But I believe that people may have guessed something was going on with our slightly faded clothes by the end of the school year.

There is a happier ending to this story. My soon-to-be 16-year-old daughter now takes care of her own laundry.

Do you remember funny stories about your children when they were younger? Be sure to think about these incidents with a smile on your face.

If this story touched your heart and simply made you happy, consider sharing it on your social media platforms. Also, please consider adding a tip to help fund my work to increase family engagement.

I am also a content creator on YouTube. Be sure to visit my "Ignite Family Engagement" channel to view all my videos related to the role of parents in education. Here is the link:

Thank you.

This story was originally self-published in Doctor Funny on Medium.com.

Family
30

About the Creator

Dr Deborah M Vereen

As a mom, former family and consumer sciences teacher, and school administrator, I write about parenting, family, and education topics. Visit www.Drdeborahmvereen.com to view my work as a family engagement influencer & my YouTube channel!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.