Confessions logo

The Price of Fitting In.

A Personal Story of Regret and Redemption.

By Tania SaleemPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
The Price of Fitting In.
Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

A Personal Story of Regret and Redemption.

When I was young, my family moved to a new town, and I had to change schools. I had just completed primary school, and I was excited to start the next chapter of my academic journey. However, the transition was anything but smooth. My new middle school was semi-government, and it was partly funded by the trust. This was a far cry from my previous fully private school, which was quiet and peaceful, with no bullying or discrimination.

I felt like a fish out of water in my new school. I had to adjust to an all-girls environment, which was completely different from what I was used to. My first day at the new school was a culture shock. The students were loud, and there were constant fights in the hallways. I soon discovered that the school had a disciplinary committee made up of teachers' favorites and high-performing students.

My classes were overcrowded, with fifty students in a single room. There was no mercy from seniors or the disciplinary committee, and I found myself struggling to fit in. I desperately wanted to make friends and be accepted, so I tried to find a group of people who would accept me. I eventually found a group of girls who were cool, but useless, and I tried to fit in with them.

I started doing things I wouldn't normally do, just to impress them. Breaking rules was no big deal for them, and I soon found myself becoming part of their group. We bullied the weaker students and did all sorts of things that I knew were wrong. However, I felt good being part of the coolest group in the class.

One day, I found myself alone in the hallway when I saw one of the members of the disciplinary committee getting into a fight with a weaker student. I couldn't stand to see the weaker student getting hurt, so I broke up the fight. However, the disciplinary committee member and her friends didn't appreciate my intervention. They accused me of starting the fight and got me in trouble with the principal.

I felt betrayed and alone. None of my so-called friends stood by me when I needed them the most. I realized then that I had made a terrible mistake in trying to fit in with them. I had compromised my values and done things that were wrong, just to be part of their group. I had paid a heavy price for trying to fit in.

After that incident, I changed my ways. I became more polite and tried to redeem myself by being kind to others. I realized that no amount of apologies could undo what I had done, but I could try to make things right by being a better person. I learned that fitting in with the wrong crowd was not worth it, and that it was important to stay true to myself and my values.

In retrospect, that small moment in the hallway had a big impact on my life. It made me realize the power of peer pressure and the importance of being true to oneself. It also taught me the value of standing up for what is right, even if it means going against the crowd. I learned that fitting in at any cost was not worth it, and that being a good person was more important than trying to impress others.

The price of fitting in can be high, and it's important to remember that being true to oneself is more important than trying to impress others. This small moment in my life had a big impact, and it taught me valuable lessons that I carry with me to this day.

This story is perfect with the help of ai tools as English is not my native language!

Teenage yearsSchoolChildhoodBad habits
Like

About the Creator

Tania Saleem

Hi, I'm Tania.

Passion for travel and trying new foods.

Love learning about different cultures and meeting new people.

Belief in the power of education and empathy to bring people together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.