Confessions logo

The most embarrassing moment

But I can laugh at it years later

By Robert KegelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Out of high school I went to a community college. I didn’t have a major so I took classes for my AA but also classes I was interested in, in hope it would le

ad me to figure out what I wanted to major in. I took computer programming classes...which I found out I hated programming. I took a psychology classes which I thought were interesting but not really what I wanted to do with my life. Then I took a TV, movie communications class. The school had television studio with cameras and a sound engineering station. Sound was interesting, but I really enjoyed camera, and I was good at it.

At the end of the semester my teacher asked if I’d be interested in going forward and getting a communications major and I was happy to say yes. He told me I should get some experience under my belt and told me about a company that made small films for HBO and he could get me in as an intern there. I of course said yes, working on real films that would get onto HBO was exciting! He said after the internship he can get me in the door at a college he knew the head of communications at. This was a dream come true, I found what I wanted to do and I was going for it.

I went to the interview for the internship and it was a basic simple interview, just asking “what interests you in making TV or movies?” and “what shows do you watch?”. I leave the interview feeling good and I get into the internship.

I work on the first movie “Without a Pass”, I help in the props department and do a little set design and it was fun. We worked late hour, ate at a food truck which made amazing breakfast burritos, and all around had good food. The last day of that shoot I worked 27 hours straight and I was exhausted but had fun.

The second movie “Session Man” didn’t have as long of hours to work. It was in a music recording studio so they couldn’t let us use it all day and night. I did props here too, but I had more of a chance to talk to the camera and sound people and they were nice and gave really good information out.

While in the office, during some down time filming “Session Man” we were asked to do props on a short film for a popular comedian at the time (who I won’t name. I’ll just call him Mr. HAHA). At the time he was one of the top comedians so I was happy to help, it would look good on my resume. There was one thing my boss said; “Don’t talk to Mr. HAHA, don’t ask for an autograph, just pretend he’s not here”. Well ok, I was a little bummed about that, but I’d do it.

The short movie it took place in a grocery store, so our job was to block out all the products that were on the shelves. Simple job and it took a couple of hours to do and there were about 3 of us doing the job.

When done we went back to the office and did some work there. Mr. HAHA was there in a meeting. I was getting one of the bosses coffee when Mr. HAHA was leaving and I was going to pass him in the hall way. Someone accidentally (or not) bumped me and the coffee from the mug flew out of it and splashed all over Mr. HAHA. The embarrassing part isn’t just that I got coffee all over him, but where the coffee landed. It went all over his crotch. He jumped, screamed and fell backwards on his ass, grabbing his crotch. Everyone started crowding around him, his people pushing people away so they can get him out of there, Mr. HAHA swearing and screaming in pain.

Someone called 911, and paramedics came and carried him to the ambulance where I’m guessing they looked to see how badly burned he was. I stayed away. My boss didn’t get angry, he saw I was pushed. He said he’d talk to Mr. HAHA’s people, which he did and everything was ok. I was so scared there would be a lawsuit, and that would be the end of my career before it even got started. I ended up up getting into the tech field anyway, which I also enjoy, but my time in TV/film was interesting and fun. I can even look back at that day and laugh if I see Mr. HAHA on TV.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Robert Kegel

I'm a rocker, a gamer, a romantic, a Dom, a hiker and l like camping. I'm a geek, who loves Sci-Fi/Fantasy, and technology. I'll try and write about a variety of topics ranging from relationship, tech and every day rants.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.