Confessions logo

THE LUSTED LOVE

EPISODE ONE

By Faith JeptooPublished 11 months ago 4 min read

Seated outside my house enjoying the Saturday's morning sun when got a call from a hotel in Ruiru calling me for a job. They had different posts and my recommender had recommended me for all the posts available; their salary was fair and I needed some extra cash to keep me rolling. After the communication, I had to report on Monday morning hence I had to travel that very Saturday evening.

My elder brother, Ken was staying in Ruiru town; I called him and informed him that I would be joining him and I was going to crash at his place for about a month as I settled.

I packed my stuffs and I was on the next Bus to Ruiru by noon. It was roughly a three hours drive so it wasn't exhausting. I got to my brother's place and freshened up, then I went out to say hi to a few friends I had over there.

The following day my friends and I had a walk around town and in the evening I retired to bed, ready for my first day at work.

By seven o'clock in the morning, I was already at the hotel, waiting outside the HR's office. She arrived a few minutes past eight and she briefed me about the available jobs.

She then handed me over to one of the supervisor to give me a tour around the facility and give me some orientation. I preferred to work in the housekeeping since I didn't want the attitude which always came with the food and beverage service.

Nevertheless, they also had a spot in the kitchen for a pastry chef and when I compared the salary for housekeeping and that of the kitchen, I went with the kitchen gig.

Day one it was more of a get to know the other members of staff day, than a working day since we weren't busy. While mingling with my fellow chefs in the kitchen, there was a certain waitress who came down for an order and when our eyes met, we just found ourselves smiling at each other like people who had met before.

The name on her name tag was Esther; I got to know her name but unfortunately, chefs only wear name tags whenever they got business outside the kitchen.

My name tag hadn't been made yet but I had felt a strange connection with Esther. I waited for her to come back for another order but she didn't since it was on a Monday, most clients were at the bar.

Finally the shift was over and it was time for the evening shift to begin. I went to the changing room and changed into my casual clothes and headed out.

Just while I was walking outside the staff's exit gate, I heard someone call out behind me.

"Hey you." A female voice said.

I turned around to see who was being called and there she was, Esther in her casual wear. She looked stunning in the red dress she was wearing.

"Hey. How are you?" I replied with a smile.

"I am fine. You new here?" She asked.

"Esther, unless if you are new too, I think you already know the answer to that." I replied smiling.

"Well, since you know my name, what's yours?" She asked.

"Haman, but people call me Ham." I replied.

"Alright Ham, pleasure to meet you." She said smiling back.

We then walked out of the gate together and surprisingly, she was headed the same way as I was.

"You live around here?" I asked.

"Yeah. I live three blocks away. What about you?" She replied.

"I am staying with my brother, just across your street." I said.

We walked together and when we got to her street, we parted ways and everyone went their way. I didn't take her number even though she was expecting me to; I knew I would see her at work the following day.

We were both gonna be in the night shift the following day and being on a Tuesday night, I was sure the hotel wouldn't be much busy. I got to the house, freshened up, then I went for a walk to pass time. It was funny how I couldn't stop thinking about her.

While catching the breeze beside the Ruiru River, my brother Ken called and asked me to go do some shopping for groceries; he was going to run late. The grocery store was along the street which Esther was staying.

I began wishing that I had picked her number; I could have asked her to come aid me with the shopping.

Nevertheless, I just dragged my lazy ass uptown and went to the grocery store. I was just a few metres away from the store when I heard Esther's voice ask;

"Are you stalking me?"

"Hey, no am not. Am just here to get some groceries." I replied as I turned around.

"Well, am going to get some groceries too." I replied.

"I was just teasing." She said smiling.

We did the shopping together and as we were about to part ways again, I decided to ask for her number.

"Hey, how about you slide me your number?" I asked smiling.

"Give me yours, I will halla you." She replied smiling back.

"0798952111." I said to her as she wrote on her phone.

"Ahhh, what are you doing for the rest of the evening?" She asked.

"I don't have any idea. Maybe go get bored inside the house I guess." I replied.

"Is your brother not in?" She asked.

"He will be late today." I replied.

"How about I keep these in the house then we go for a walk?" She asked smiling mischievously.

"Like right now?" I asked sounding confused...

……………to be continued

Dating

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    FJWritten by Faith Jeptoo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.