Confessions logo

The Edge

– Fall Off –

By Jay KantorPublished about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
8
Guy F. Chambers © Original Oil Painting

Author © Jay Kantor

THE EDGE

- Push -

Prologue:

Ah, yes, another rant! Somebody's got to do it ~ I guess I'm IT – I've personally experienced zealot progressives. I've been unable to say a word around them without a big confrontation; that's not me at all. I'm very much out of the loop! My only point Is that I just don't get a lot of things that are commonplace these days from Billboard-Body Tats/and Nose Piercings (ouch). And, I really don't care what kind of food someone eats or who they choose to sleep with for that matter; but respect rights of privacy.

Life's little nudges: Did you ever feel that you've just been pushed over the edge? We all do at one time or another. Not unlike getting rid of the old to bring in the new. Can you Dig-It? I thought that you could! But, I'm often stuck-in-the mud with these push-dozers' huge loads of old ideas and habits scooped over the edge - moving old stuff out of the way to make room for the 'new' dirt, if any!

– Mental-Seat-Belts Anyone –

No Childish Tonka-Toy-Truck fantasy here! Just as the precursor to the Cell-Phone-Phenomenon - The Dick Tracy wrist phone - No ones laughing now! What with all of the automobile companies working on driverless or 'autonomous' cars, I wonder if huge Caterpillar-Monsters are working on the same premise for their bulldozers; driverless scoops ~ Whew lookout below!

Although the good news may be that the Domino Pizza delivery trucks don't need tipping now that they are driverless. Well, in that case, extra Pepperoni for me!

Fool Proof Selection Method? - Eeny Meeny Miny Moe -

I've always wondered who decided that (6) year old twins would be better off if separated in school? The 'Stand-Alone' Theory. What might have been the criteria that one was smarter than the other to place in the 'higher learners' classroom or the other in the later at this stage? There were no school 'Shrinks' or even guidance counselors within elementary schools: Ours was a retired nurse that came to our school part-time 3 days a week who probably made that decision? As a twin, I wonder how things could have been different in my life if this weren't so - I'll never know? Yes, I still fume at this! If I had a voodoo doll of her, I would definitely stick pins in it. Or Bulldoze her over the edge; just kidding - or am I?

I've asked others within our immediate family who now have 'Twins' about this and was told, as a matter of fact, "you're kidding?" They couldn't even imagine. The Damage Done: Live up to your labels. With this intense-intentional scripting, incentives will be lost! It's simply human nature to be accepted 'noticed' and thrive on approval. Sibling roles are established before kids could even spell.

The ancient noble teaching 'Blackboard' Profession is getting a Black-Eye: Socrates would turn in his grave!

– Permanent Markers –

Am I the only one that is outraged that a 5 year old carries a gun and shoots his teacher? Where's the rationale to all of this? Who Wins~What? Also the hideous-humongous hanging breast distractions 'Udderly-Disrespectful' with Teachers dressing as Halloween Clowns–taking away learning-concentration from our highly influenced children; who needs that!

Where's the thinking with this? This is so unimaginable to me that this is actually an accepted progressive professional-teachers attire. The focus is not about him, it's about the kids; this blatant-statement is lost with me. At this stage youngsters absorb like sponges. Will this kind of message help to make our kids thrive? I may be the only one that thinks this way, but how comfortable are you with this charade? Surely, I may be pushing-up the unpopular incline-slope with this issue. But, would you want your children to look up-to and emulate this kind of abomination image with whom is molding our youth? I've always admired my teachers! I can't imagine these attention seeking 'educators' are receiving admiring students' apples🍎 on their desks? Whew!

Many Parents have just 'accepted' and now home-school/Zoom or move to areas of the country/or out of the country that may be a 'bit' more traditional and perhaps less progressive in schooling children during their developmental years. Currently by reinventing and denying actual history will certainly repeat its ugly head in many different forms - for better or worse the truth is the truth - no need to sugar-coat. Sadly, to become a teacher of late, courses in your standard educators curriculum will now include extreme class control issues.

We all have our Schtick to 'Kvetch' about - some more intense than others. Acknowledgement Enigmas: The idea of 'Who's Right' comes to mind – the man or the woman–Which is The Gift~Prize?

Push 'OVER' yourself. This ridiculous example often occurs during messy divorces, that may push you over the edge? Yes, we all may have a list of people to run-through. Just keep bringing out the Steam Roller to Smooth things over. Those flatten-out any of my nonsense? Nah!

Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal

'Senior' Vocal Author

Co-Creators🖊INK

Humanity
8

About the Creator

Jay Kantor

Retired: Write for "The Kids Someday"

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark6 months ago

    Your story expresses so much deep, heart-rending emotion, there can be no mistaking how much you care. As I grow older, I am not afraid for myself as the sand slips through the hour glass, but I am burdened for the children who have so much to endure now and so much uncertainty going forward. As I see it, hope is only found in love...not in any political ideology Thanks for speaking up for me little ones!!!

  • Shanon Norman10 months ago

    Jay I feel the anger of this piece every day in my soul as I run and seek peace and tranquility so that this RAGE doesn't tear me to pieces. I can't take it anymore.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I feel you so much on this. I really want to write my own rant, but I’m working up the courage.

  • C. Rommial Butler12 months ago

    A stream-of-consciousness rant that reminds me of Burroughs filtered through Bukowski! Love it! I have quipped before that modern progressivism--or whatever final form and name it eventually takes--is to the American Empire what Christianity was to the Roman Empire: a death knell... though it will probably take a lot less time to tear "America" down from within, given the advanced rate of modern technology. It's not necessarily a bad thing from a long-term perspective. Empires must fall. Absolute power corrupts absolutely as old Acton once remarked, and good riddance to bad rubbish! But it's no consolation to those of us who might find ourselves beneath the rubble, or, worse, those of us who have children, understand history, and know what they are--or, more importantly, are not--going to be left with. The only alternative to picking a side is to denounce them all; but they outnumber us, so all we can do is watch it fall!

  • Nice Article ❤️💯😉

  • Cathy Deslippeabout a year ago

    Wow, they never should have separated you from your twin; in the end, we are all equal; what a phenomenal writer you are. Have you written books?

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That's some good fist shaking at the clouds; I should know! 🤣 They separated you and your twin at school? So much for sound pedagogy. (Or even humanity!) It'll take me a while, with my eyes I get crashing headaches if I try to read from a screen for too long, but rest assured I'll be working my way through and enjoying your Vocal catalogue sir!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.