Confessions logo

THE DRAGON BESIDE ME

She gave me a new life

By Ejike OkoriePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
3
THE DRAGON BESIDE ME
Photo by Bethany Beck on Unsplash

The Dragon beside me

My name is Ejike Okorie, and the story of my birth shaped me into an introvert, much like many children born in Africa who carry the weight of their parents' mistakes. My father, the only son of his parents who tragically passed away before he turned 10, led a tumultuous life. He found solace in the company of friends on the streets, sharing their habits of smoking, clubbing, and selling marijuana to survive. His companions affectionately nicknamed him "Zacoza."

As destiny would have it, at the age of 28, my father yearned for a stable life with a decent woman who could be his mother, sister, and wife all in one. He met my mother, believing she was the answer to his prayers. He kept his smoking habit hidden from her, fearing that revealing it might jeopardize their relationship.

One fateful evening, as he smoked behind their house, my mother unexpectedly arrived. Startled, he attempted to hide the marijuana, but she caught him red-handed. To his surprise, she shared his habit, and the discovery deepened their bond. They rejoiced in finding common ground and were grateful for having found each other.

Their wedding was scheduled for two months later, but an unexpected pregnancy changed their plans. While the idea of a white wedding was no longer feasible, they chose to pay the bride price in a modest ceremony surrounded by their closest friends and family.

My birth brought joy, but it also served as a reminder of the mistake that haunted my parents. Growing up, I bore the burden of their guilt and suffered punishment for my siblings' mistakes and those yet to come. My reserved nature and inability to enjoy a carefree childhood stemmed from my fear of further repercussions.

At 20, I sought refuge with relatives in Benin City, including Mr. Ogbu, and made it clear that I had no intention of returning home. It was during this time that I met the captivating Ogene, but my lack of confidence made it difficult to approach her. Actually, I have never had the gut to approach a lady, sensing my apprehension, she greeted me with a warm smile and handed me a note, asking for a date. I eagerly agreed, and we set a time and place, opting for an indoor venue as the weather turned cloudy, before she left we exchanged phone contact as she winks her eye saying good bye.

I lost her contact, it was as though I lost $50,000, I searched all over the places my mind was telling me I could have dropped that sheet of paper, yes I remember, I ran quickly to the trouser pocket I wore the day she gave me her phone number, I had just laundered the trouser few days ago without removing the note from the pocket, I sat down to think about my life my phone rang, it was Ogene. I quickly dressed and met her just at the location already waiting. That day marked a turning point in my life. Ogene's presence sparked a newfound ability to communicate with women, and her guidance transformed me. She taught me to dress with confidence, take charge of situations, and prioritize my own needs. Her belief in me fueled a fire within, and I began to see myself in a new light.

Today, I run my own company with audacity and courage, managing estates with passion and zeal. Ogene has become my dragon, igniting a fire within me that I never knew existed. She has shown me the importance of embracing my true self and standing up for my values. Together, we have overcome our pasts and built a life of purpose and fulfillment, proving that even the most challenging circumstances can lead to a brighter future. With Ogene by my side, the fire within me will continue to burn, illuminating our journey together.

Childhood
3

About the Creator

Ejike Okorie

Powerful and Mysterious

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.