Confessions logo

The Bus Stop Fate

He raised his arm and drew closer to me as he stared me down with his shiny eyes. For the best results read when alone...

By Liza Published about a year ago 3 min read
2

When I was seventeen, this incident occurred...

I would take the bus home after going to the gym three to four times a week. It was a Sunday, and I had just missed my bus, making the wait for the next one longer. While they were out for the evening and taxis cost extra, I would have contacted my folks instead. I made the choice to wait for the bus there while sitting down. Snow had just begun to cover the ground, and it was a chilly night. Since my bus was taking longer than normal, I pulled out my phone and put on some music.

It had been almost an hour.

It was quite cold, and I had not seen anyone at all. Nothing has happened until I caught a glimpse of something in the corner of my eye. He was a spooky man who was cautiously approaching me while wearing several layers of clothing. I avoided looking at him since I knew that would make him the center of attention. He took a seat at the opposite end of the shelter and simply looked at me. Something seemed strange about him. He had the impression of being either intoxicated or high.

When will the bus arrive, he then inquired?

"I assume it's delayed because of the snow," I said as I removed my earbuds.

He gave me a long look before turning to himself and muttered. I pretended to be on my phone because he was beginning to frighten me severely. After a short while, I turned to look again.

He had gotten nearer to me...

I briefly turned my head away before hearing the sound of him getting closer. I turned to face him and asked, "You all right there?"

He raised his arm and drew closer to me as he stared me down with his shiny eyes.

He collapsed on the floor, and I grabbed my luggage and ran.

I made every effort not to turn around as I ran down the road. I continued till I reached the following bus stop. I looked back to see if he was still there, but he had left, so I proceeded to seat down. I waited for the bus while resting my head against the back of the glass, feeling relieved.

I jumped when I heard a knock on the door and turned around to see the same man gazing through the glass.

What in the name of God is wrong with you? Suddenly he began to make his way past the shelter in my direction.

"I want to warn you! Stay. Back."

I yelled as I retreated out of fear.

Although wanting to flee, I was unable to do so because I had left my bag at the shelter. The man suddenly leaped at me, and I hastily backed away.

He hit the floor on his face.

I froze in disbelief before noticing that his face was bleeding.

Nothing I did managed to gain a reaction from him. Soon after I phoned the police and EMS, they showed up. When I explained what had transpired to them, they informed me that the man was using prescription medication. He discovered a picture of him and his son in his wallet. We assumed that since the boy resembled me so much, he thought I was him.

I later found out that he lost his son in a custody dispute and lost control of himself. That was the last I saw of him before they took him away for treatment. I soon obtained my driver's license and haven't boarded a bus again.

Hi, I hope you enjoyed my story, I really apreciate you being here :) Please let me know how I can improve my wrriting in the comments bellow.

SecretsFamilyChildhood
2

About the Creator

Liza

Financial world is a complicated and vastly misunderstood world. I help people understand finances better and succeed in the modern world. Follow me and learn how to get the best out of your money, business and oportunities.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lucas Raeabout a year ago

    Wow, what a surprising turn of events.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.