Confessions logo

The Blind Date

A Story of how we met

By Shlesma ParajuliPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
The Blind Date
Photo by Jonathan J. Castellon on Unsplash

This is the story of how I met my soulmate.

As a 24-year-old woman, it is very hard to find the guy you want to be with forever. I never thought I would meet the person I am destined to be with on a blind date. How you may ask?

When I was 22 years old my coworkers convinced me to sign up for dating websites so they helped me create an account on Tinder and Ok Cupid. I was not confident that there would be guys looking for serious relationships on those apps but I thought what could it hurt?

I did match with a bunch of guys and started texting with a few of them. After texting, the next step was setting up the first date with some of those guys. The first guy I met seemed like a decent guy at first, he was polite and wanted to meet up for drinks. The date was going fine until he invited himself to my car and started to just kiss me out of nowhere. The kissing was fine but then when his hands started roaming in unwanted places, I had to stop him and also end the evening.

What did I expect? I should've figured out that he only wanted one thing and since I did not want to go any further with him I ended things.

For a while I did not meet anyone else, I was still texting a few of them casually. But one day when one of the guys that I was texting wanted to meet, I agreed.

Where did that go? Nowhere and neither did the guys I met after him. After meeting with the 6th guy from the dating app I did not want to go on any more dates. At this point, both of my coworkers who had insisted I join online dating had left the office and a new coworker had joined. He was a very motivated guy who was excited to learn everything. We weren't that close in the beginning but within a few months, we had become friends.

He would talk about his girlfriend at the time and I would talk about the guys I had met while online dating. It was a nice friendship. One thing he would always joke around about was that I would be great for his best friend. He would talk constantly about his best friend and how he was also looking for a serious relationship. At first, I did not pay any attention to that thinking he was just joking.

One day when I was going on a date with a guy I met on Ok Cupid, my coworker mentioned how sad his best friend would be if I went on a date with another guy. Even then I only thought that he was joking, since he liked to make jokes. The date turned out surprisingly better than most and we did set up a second date.

The next day at work my coworker gave me a sad look when I told him about the guy. He mentioned his best friend again. I told him, why don't you give your best friend my number, and if he is interested in going on a date with me then text me. I didn't think much of it, since I didn't think he was actually going to give my number to his best friend.

By the time lunch came around my coworker told me he sent his best friend my number. And not soon after, I received a text message which said, "Hi". My first thought was that who only writes "Hi" in the first text? Still, I replied. Then surprisingly, the conversation seemed to flow. We decided to go on a date the next day.

We made a decision to meet at a local coffee shop, Martha's County Bakery. I knew that getting coffee was the safest option since if we didn't like each other then we could end the evening right after one cup of coffee.

Before I knew it, it was the next day and I was meeting him after work. Throughout that day, my coworker seemed very happy and he kept saying that I will have to thank him at one point when this does work out.

We met outside of the coffee shop. He was standing on the other side and when I saw him, I had a feeling that this was the guy. By the way, we had not seen each other's pictures at all. I went up to him, hoping I was right, and said his name.

It turned out that it was him. We went in after a brief hello. At first, it was very awkward. I don't think either of us knew what to say. But we started talking, finally, and then the conversation just seemed to flow. I was enjoying myself and it seemed like so was he.

We talked about our jobs and what we wanted to do later on in life. We talked about his best friend and how he had set us up. He told me stories of when they were kids and all the things they used to do. I told him about when I was a kid as well.

It was so weird that we kept talking and talking until we realized that our coffees were done and we had been there for over an hour with only ordering one thing each. The waitress kept coming to ask if we were going to order anything else and we kept saying, in a little bit. They got so fed up with us that they brought our check without us even asking for it. We knew that they were subtly trying to kick us out.

He paid for the coffee and we walked out of the coffee shop. Neither of us wanted the evening to end so we just started walking the strip back and forth until we found a chair outside of a Dunkin Donuts and sat down there.

Before we knew it, it was getting late and we both had work in the morning. Since it was a Thursday evening. He walked me to my car and then gave me a hug after hesitating a little. It was weird plus cute at the same time.

As I saw him walk away from me and towards his own car, I couldn't help but think that it was a fun evening.

Driving home that night, I was talking to one of my best friends on the phone and telling her how the evening went. She was happy for me that at least one of my dates had turned out to be good.

He texted me to let him know when I reached home and I did just that.

I slept with a smile on my face that night.

And the rest is history. Here we are 4 and a half years later and still going strong. I can't imagine spending my life with anyone else.

Dating
Like

About the Creator

Shlesma Parajuli

Writing is the best way to express yourself.

I am a beginner writer who just wants to share her experiences in the form of fiction writing and hope everyone enjoys it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.