Confessions logo

The best Part Of Me

To my sister

By Véronique Racine Published 2 years ago 3 min read
17

Hi there,

Been a while since we talked, right?

Some things have happened recently that reminded me of you, of the things that made me what and who I am today.

And somehow a lot of it was linked to you.

What can I say, you were with me from the first moment I opened my eyes, you followed me everywhere or was it me clinging to you like glue?

Sometimes when we're down, what we remember first is the good old days, when everything was simpler, when our whole life was ahead of us and the future seemed bright and shiny.

You were always there for me, if anyone taught me the value of loyalty, it's you. To stand up for those you care about, whatever the cost to yourself. No matter if you looked bad in front of your friends, defending your awkward little sister was always first and foremost in your mind.

You showed me how not to care about criticism that came from any other kids, you taught me that what mattered, always, was family.

Because when the cards are down, when you fall and can't get up again, most people will step all over you. But family will pick you up and carry your weight until you can feel your legs again.

I can't think of a better example of this than you, because no matter how busy you get, you always find the time to listen.

You are there, you make the time if need be, because it's not about doing more, it's about being more, and you never forget that, even in the whirl around that is the world we live in.

You helped build me up, the way a parent can't, no matter how hard they try. Because you were always my example, and I could draw strength from your unwavering certitude when I felt discouraged.

Life never gave you anything but you never cared, you never whined about it, because you know the real value of hard work.

Not material things, but a sense of pride in accomplishing what you need to live with your own hands, in making everything happen from conception to final finishing touches.

When I think of all the arguments we had, all the times we were angry, or shouted at each other, how I miss those days, it's just crazy.

Young and full of energy, like the world would be ours to shape, we lived in the moment. I wish I could be like you, inspire trust and confidence like you do, because although you have a temper like anyone else, your sense of judgment is flawless.

What you want is never to judge someone for the sake of judging and thinking yourself better than them, what you do is listen and help, giving your time, your thoughts, your best ideas to make that person feel better about himself or herself, confront their problems and find their own solutions.

You are never afraid to say to someone: You helped me think about something new, you helped me as much as I helped you.

If you think you are not special, I can't think of anyone else who is like you in this world.

You don't carry a phone around to take selfies of every good deed you do, you abhor those things, you hate pretenses and glory and getting attention for what you do.

Someone who is so genuinely authentic, no nonsense, no crap, with a great sense of humor to be able to laugh even when times are hard.

What you taught me most, is to think about myself, to think for myself because when you know yourself, you have the greatest power of all.

In some ways, I can say you are the best part of me, the part of me I aspire to be more.

Why this message?

Well I miss you, what else?

Humanity
17

About the Creator

Véronique Racine

I am a hobby writer who adores science fiction and intelligent characters and storylines!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Derekabout a year ago

    Definitely me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.