Confessions logo

Tales from the trip

The meaning of life

By Jaziah VasquezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Three wise man

Three teenagers had decided to drive in the middle of the night for tiny cube sheets of paper. Having drove for 4 hours they had finally reached their destination . A house settled in the field right outside a town waited for their arrival. 6 sheets to divided among the three had been given . They decided it would be wise to consume the sheets right before the long drive back . 30 minutes down the road their vison shifted dramatically . Odds began to give weight to a certain death. Three teenagers crashed dead on the highway started forming within the mind filling the air with treamendous doubt. One teen had truly been experienced in the arts of meditation , always disregarding death claiming to his friends and family its just an illusion. But waiting after death with life attuned to their favor was the death of humanity...

slouched in the back sit of a car I looked out my window. My head lay fixated across the large field along the highway. My attention had been captured by unspeakable terror , affrighted with what my eyes were set upon i quickly turned in disbelief in regard for my safety. I could not believe what I had seen, information that was to be locked within my mind managed to slip from my shattering ego. Memories of it woven into matter through thoughts evoked by Instinct told me to associate what I had seen with what I know. Truth of cosmic horrors lay folded within our space waiting to be discovered by humanity. Those who cross the vale deep enough can see them transitioning preparing for something.

Large tentacles dangled clearly under the moonlight. What they had been attached to I did not know I had looked long enough to kill my curiosity. Anxiety quickly turned my attention from the anomaly fearing if I had glimpsed at it any longer it'd only further my madness or bring unwanted attention. The only word that came to mind when I had seen it was elderitch. Nightmares told from visions of a strange philosopher now entangled our waking world with laws made to fit his claims of inspired madness. His frightening reality within stories that were fancined from his dreams now harbours biblical truth .

If you had asked me how I was able to see or comprehend such a creature. I'd say it was my unquenchable thirst of curiosity driven by pure reckless behavior that lead me to perceive such ancient horrors that lurked within the confounds of space and time . Please take it with grain of salt when I say they exist.

My friends had no idea what they had seen but as an experienced traveller of madness I had known better. They make you feel like you should , the feeling of something bigger and greater than you. I wasn't too sure on what they had wanted but they have always been present among us.

They seem to enjoy the fear we emmit from untouched emotions never felt. Almost like they needed it. We traveled down the road fearing the worst. Groups of multiple large red eyes towered with hunger and scoured both sides of the field surrounding us as we decended down the highway.I remember grasping my friends flooding them with feelings of trust and comfort that poured from soul.

As if things couldn't have gotten any stranger we were rescued by what I can only assume was future humanity. A red van appeared in front of us with intentions to guide and protect. I feel we would have never made it home had it not been for the van. The van appeared just as quickly as it vanished nobody could remember the van leaving or parting ways. Was it a manifestation of some sort sent to resist the outside forces. A Secret government perhaps with intent to protect civilization. A order coexisting with the demons ethier to prevent the wiping of humanity or serve them by turning earth into their personal feeding ground.

.

I was puzzled when nobody mentioned the beings that we witnessed along the highway when we returned into town. It had later been revealed the anomaly's we witnessed were just windmills flickering their lights. Made up thoughts induced by my driven madness led me astray…

I remember going over to my parents that afternoon to attend my stepfathers birthday. My mother and I waiting to surprise him on the lawn , his tires pulling into the driveway as I watched my little brother rush to him in excitement. Him stepping out his car briefly hugging my brother then asking me if i had actual left town . The constant invasions of privacy due to a deep concern for my mental health felt normal to me. A birthday song titled to his name played with fimilar voice in the background as I walk beside him . Before I could give him an answer he laughed and asked about the song in which my mother replied “YouTube". As the birthday song played I remember thinking how the voice showed a chilling resemblance to that of my own , as if had been the one singing…

.

Secrets

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JVWritten by Jaziah Vasquez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.