Confessions logo

sometimes we just float

and other times we sink far below

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2023
58
sometimes we just float
Photo by Vicko Mozara on Unsplash

It’s that kind of morning where I should have gotten up when I actually woke up. But instead, I nestled deeper into the comforter and the comfort of my wife’s side.

We had turned the central heating off and overnight the house lost a couple degrees. The morning was chilly, daylight just slowly making its way outside. Even daylight had frosty breath.

I burrowed further into bed, trying to find the comfiest position to sleep in. I knew the dog was tippy-tapping for me to get up, and the cat was rumbling under the bed with excitement. But I just wasn’t ready to leave the warm gooey-ness of Sunday morning sleep.

The thing is, I’m a morning person. Any time after 3am, you can get me up and going within minutes. My brain just- turns on. And I’m up.

Obviously I’m not a night person, and I’m usually the one who wants to head to bed around 9–10pm. After 2–3pm, my productivity and motivation to do things declines rapidly. I guess I’m more of a 3am-3pm kind of person.

Obviously the world doesn’t work this way.

I knew that sinking back into slumber this morning would screw my sleep cycle.

I had seen a video about naps a couple days ago coincidentally. Some neurologist (I think?) was saying that the sleep cycle or wave is something like 70–90 minutes long. That meant that if we took a nap of less than that, then we are interrupting the cycle and then we feel like we didn’t rest. She said that it can take up to 4 hours to try and get out of the fucked-up-sleep grogginess that you interrupted. Shit!

By Paul Hanaoka on Unsplash

Guess who interrupted that nap?

See, I woke up rested, but I craved more. I got greedy. So I thought, well, what’s the harm? It’s the weekend anyhow, I deserve it, I’ve worked hard. So, back to sleep I went.

But then my dog threw up maybe 15 minutes later because he’s a stubborn shit who’s a picky eater. He had kibble, he just wanted some turkey toppings. But I went back to sleep and he disagreed with that entire concept apparently. So Bleeeeeeeehhhhh some stomach bile.

The thing is, is that we also have a demon cat, and he likes to play with liquids. Which meant if the vomit wasn’t cleaned up fast, someone would track it through the damn house.

No thank you.

Remember that floating feeling? That sinking into comfort yet flying up in the clouds? Everything is so serene and blissful. Everything is calm and tranquil. Ah, what a dream.

~

This article was originally posted on Medium.com under my other pseudonym Poet In the Arctic.

It was also just really nice to write something just for me and not for a challenge or following a prompt. Sometimes we just need to sit down with some pen and paper, or laptop, or even a good ol' Remington typewriter and let go.

Sometimes we just need to write for the sake of writing and nothing more. There's that purity to it, that stripped bare essence. It's as thin and simple as air, and just as important.

So as you reach the end of this little snippet of mine, I want you to think- when have you last written for the sake of just writing? When have you allowed yourself to create something that needs not bare a monetary reward, or praise? If it's been a while, then this is your wake-up call.

Write.

FamilyHumanity
58

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howe2 months ago

    This is great. I love saturday and sunday morning sleeps.

  • Dranov12 months ago

    I like your story

  • Mohamed Jakkathabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece, Oneg In The Arctic. Your words capture the fleeting moments of comfort and the struggle to resist the urge to sink back into slumber. Your reflection on the importance of writing for the sake of writing is a reminder to embrace the purity and essence of creativity. Thank you for inspiring us to write without expectations of reward or recognition.

  • Madison Newtonabout a year ago

    Nicely done!

  • ❤️👍💯 Congratulations on Top🎉

  • Esther Amiabout a year ago

    "'Sometimes we just need to write for the sake of writing and nothing more", gotta remember this every now and then 😅

  • Hey I watched a video a few days ago about sleep cycle too. They were explaining why it's a bad idea to snooze and proceeded to explain how the sleep cycle works. Picky eater dog and a demon cat, lol!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Great stuff, congratulations

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Delightful piece! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

  • Anfas Mohammedabout a year ago

    NICE

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    This definitely captures what it means to be human. And I would love to type on an old typewriter again. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wonderful story, Oneg! Your descriptions are warm and cozy - love it! 😍

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I totally felt this! I have three Pom-chis, two Pomeranians and three cats of varied ages, sizes and demonology. I can't count the times they've ruined that extra 20 minute nap I'm trying to get. LOL! This was awesome. Thanks!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I love your explanation of the gooey feeling in bed, and the end excerpt of the floating feeling. Loved it! Congratulations my dear friend!!

  • Wizardabout a year ago

    Very Valuable

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Dude! I called it! Congratulations!!!! 😆

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderfully written. I know that cozy in bed feeling and that nothing snaps you out of it faster than the pet hacking sound. Congrats.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congratulations!! This was very refreshing. Oh no, not the dog puke 😩.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    You are so right! My best work (I feel) is when I just let go. Great writing, and thanks for the reminder. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    YAY! I get to love this twice :) Great piece just sharing the wonderful you! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    When I saw the title I thought you were gonna talk about Pennywise 😶. But then I read how you "...nestled deeper into the comforter..." and the "...warm gooey-ness of Sunday morning sleep..." and I felt safe 😄. A wonderful piece of pure writing 😊. I want to see this reach Top Story status!

  • I often feel that I am sinking and have nothing to hold on to. Wonderful heartfely words.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful used of imagery of words, I can relate, you can’t sleep in when you have pets . Lol I love the cozy imagery of a waking up in winter in a cozy bed.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    This slice of real life was skillfully told!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.