Confessions logo

Rudy Lee & Me

How my big sister Rudy Lee inspired my life

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 4 min read
4

Pretty much everyone who knows me would tell you in a heartbeat that I’m a little crazy and maybe even a tad bit unique, but what only a finger full of anyone of em could tell you is that I get a lot of my personality from my older sister Rudy Lee. Of course our parents and even our friends play a big role in our personal development, but believe it or not, our siblings do as well. So during this second day of Women’s History Month, which is also my big sister Rudy’s birthday, I wanna tell you about all the ways Rudy has inspired my life and all my ways.

What could I say about the crazy, yet charismatic personality that is my older sister Rudy? Well I can tell you a lot, but that would take forever, so I’ll just tell you about how she shaped me. So of course me and Rudy had a typical siblings who always get on each other’s nerves with their gags kinship. Even in my adulthood I would joke and say Rudy was my cell mate growing up. On the day I was born Rudy told my mom to leave me at the hospital. Now before you go condemning her I did almost gouge her eye out when I was like two years old, so maybe she had a premonition of the mischief to come and was just being safe. After those first birth pain years me and Rudy unwittingly became friends and as much as it kills me to say this, she’s kinda cool and ALOT of her cool ways rubbed off on me growing up.

Rudy and me

One of the biggest things you had to endure when sharing a room with Rudy as a kid was having to listen to all her favorite music and her CD’s on the radio in our room, or let me fix that part, HER radio in our room. I can’t tell you all the late nights I had to go to sleep with TLC, Brandy and Destiny’s Child as the lullaby playlist every night for bed. I could’ve swore it was the most agonizing thing ever at the time and if you would’ve heard me complaining about it at the time you would’ve thought the same thing, but in Rudy’s absence as well as the years that followed when I grew up I realized that all of that music as well as a lot of other music that I grew up listening to with Rudy was all part of the soundtrack to my life growing up and to this day all of that music is my favorite music ever. Yes, Rudy is the reason I love Brandy, TLC and Destiny’s Child. Rudy is even responsible for me winning my first trophy ever when we danced to the song “No Scrubs” from TLC in a talent show in 1999.

Rudy and me

In addition to music, Rudy is also why I love a lot of my favorite movies including the two slasher movie franchises A Nightmare on Elm Street and Child’s Play. Rudy absolutely adores the character Tiffany from the Child’s Play movies and I’ve even gotten her the dolls from the movies as birthday gifts. Another thing about Rudy is she was always on the go, just like my mom. If you had to spend the day with Rudy then she was gonna take you on an adventure. Now granted that adventure was gonna be daring and you might possibly be in trouble for like EVER when it was all over with, it still was gonna be a great story to share with your grand children, that is if our mother let you live to tell the tale.

Rudy and me

Believe it or not the biggest lesson I have taken from my sister Rudy is there is always room for growth. Rudy has truly grown a lot in ways that neither of us would’ve imagine two decades ago. She’s a wife and a mom who is very talented, charismatic and far more embracing than a 10 year old me could’ve ever conceived, but that’s what growth and development is all about. The kid makes life fun and my life wouldn’t have been fun if she didn’t exist. I love this little hobbit sister of mine.

Rudy and me

~~So happy birthday to a woman who has inspired me greatly, my big sister Rudy Lee.

ChildhoodFamily
4

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

  • Ashleigh Holmes2 months ago

    Great story. Siblings are the best 😊👍🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.