Confessions logo

Press Record

Putting a new meaning to music as a love language, with this poem about falling for someone who may never catch you.

By AshleyPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
Press Record
Photo by Natalie Grainger on Unsplash

The want I hold for you

Hurts like heaven

Its easy to see

The way you everglow

Dusted by the heavens in yellow

Could you see, I'm ink stained with red

I watched as you stumbled into the light

Way to often I feel trapped, always in my head

That is why I've decided to disturb the darkness

I'm learning to uncover my own justice,

Which is why, when I got the chance,

I knew I needed to talk to you,

No idea what to say,

O, such a rush,

It came out- Don't Panic!

I just wanna chase you,

How... dramatic,

In that moment I trusted X marks the spot,

Still there were no sparks,

I was getting ahead of myself,

Forgetting you didn't know how my universe works, yet,

See I believe in magic and miracles,

Paradise to me is a rainy day,

And as for a higher power,

Of course I listen for them,

I once received a message,

It came more like a whisper,

Reminded me I needed to let someone go,

Made me wanna cry, cry, cry until I found out why,

Tearing me apart, from the inside,

Knowing I'd see you soon,

Kept me going,

Not being sure when or where,

Made it even more clear,

When you would finally past,

My memory now, has gotten a little foggy,

Like a froggy waiting to leap,

Our paths crossed, although in opposite directions

I knew the divine had mapped our meeting,

It is no mistake that, God put a smile on your face when you first saw me,

Never been more grateful for a glass of water,

I needed to swallow the thought of being the one to fix you,

Couldn't have been anymore,

Lost!

My mind it kaleidoscope scrambled,

A rush of blood to the head,

A head full of dreams,

You noticed me, still did not actually see,

Hypnotized by the oceans found in your eyes,

The ones from my dreams,

When I asked for thirty and you gave forty five,

I got ready to jump, no parachute,

Thinking it meant you were looking to get taken out,

Swallowed in the sea,

You know what they say about the fishes.

I was left to believe,

Right then, not even Moses could part you and me,

Was I silly for keeping my faith?

Instead of your name,

I wish they could have told me,

About free will, and how he may choose to fly on,

Then I would've know, Don't let it break your heart,

I have always been a silly girl, when it comes to love.

I was saw 42 warning signs upon meeting you,

Hadn't actually imagined that the rumors,

Surrounding you might be true,

Yet you live in technicolor,

On the colour spectrum we all share,

Riding on it like an elevator shaft heading,

Up & up,

You up with the birds,

I up in flames,

Would you change it to be the other way?

I think not,

That's without blame,

For I like many others,

See you as Major,

Minus that must make me,

Daily choosing to stay positive,

Took a deep dive, went negative,

Found the scientist, I am now becoming,

She's at home busy creating endlessly,

Although the hardest part will be to share it.

Meanwhile, you never let anyone in,

Even though they constantly surround,

You're the escapist, the way you run from what's within,

I know you got used to the spies,

I only wanna help you heal from them.

The way you crashed in at the speed of sound,

Leaving only after, allowing me to receive my sign,

I felt more mad than sane,

Since then even the clocks have began to surrender,

It feels good to be actively, guarded by angels,

I asked Archangel Michael for a vision,

He sent me a string of Christmas lights,

Still I yet to know what it means,

Trusting it has to do with you and me,

When people call you a champion of the world,

Did you already know, or do you not believe?

If I got another shot,

It'd be used to remind you,

Be careful where you stand,

We could never prepare for the day,

Atlas chooses to put down his weight,

It may happen at midnight,

In middle of spring, during our sleep,

Alarms won't ring, no birds left to sing

Changing our everyday lives forever,

Leaving no time to count down,

The karmas has already been set,

We will all sense the trouble in town?

Will we then finally help one other out?

I'm so tired of only hearing about it,

Don't be sad when you realize,

Some of us will never change,

Stuck repeating the doom they already made,

Walking around as if they have white shadows,

Painting over the issues,

I won't tell how you missed the mark,

You know your mistakes,

When it gets to be too much,

Go outside and look up,

There a sky full of stars, awaits you,

Imagine I am already looking up,

It illuminates the same for each of us,

Although in different states,

Reminding me to Vida la Vida,

Making it an amazing day,

While I wait 'Til my kingdom come,

I will no longer fade away,

Back down that rabbit hole, I refuse to stray,

This perceptive shift,

Brings in the adventure of a lifetime,

As well as invites death and all of his friends,

You can't have one with the other,

They said making room for true love can not be easy,

Or else would it still be worth it?

After you left, I got tired of waiting,

Felt alone, not waiting to be an army of one, anymore,

So please stay calm, don't get angry when you realize,

I flew like a bird, landing into another's arms,

I sung a hymn for the weekend,

And took a lesson from Charlie Brown,

Decided again, to give love,

This time with despair,

Time ticked away with someone,

Who doesn't even believe in love,

For him, it's just a fantasy,

For me that's the point,

I'm sure he could find someone better,

She's probably only one click away,

Kinda like I was.

It makes it easier to claim its just for fun,

While coming to terms with this,

I started embracing that every tear is a waterfall,

And we get choose who to cry a river for,

Sometimes I stay up,

Late, maybe too late,

Lying there, until dawn comes to wake the roasters,

Wondering if daddy had given me his green eyes,

Would they remind you of emeralds and make you stay,

I imagine us being lovers in Japan,

Let me be your Princess of China,

Go to cemeteries in London with me,

And we can pretend to know their lives,

It'll help us invent better ones,

We could tour Amsterdam,

I hope you know how swim,

Either way, I was a lifeguard,

I can teach you and won't let you drown.

Now, is certainly time for the Reign of love,

To be honest,

You kind of let me down,

How I wish you would apologize,

For leaving me high and dry, left with no sound,

On that violet hill,

I noticed we are both aliens,

Orphans, but the kind that made Batman.

When you're finally ready to find me,

Look for the strawberry swing,

I can be a child, play with,

But, DO NOT hurt,

Charge the U.F.O, fly it over

No need to plan, I can map for us,

We will make it as we go,

Tell me, pack a bag,

And when I ask to where,

Respond we will live amongst the stars,

We'll be moving to Mars,

One last thing to remember,

When you crash back in,

Be my friend first, find love for the parts I try to bury,

We can laugh at farts, and chuckle at funny numbers,

Make me feel safe, never alone, left with no worries,

Press record, point the camera to me,

Set it down and hid it,

Take all of it in,

So when we,

Watch back the reply, we'll be glad that you did,

Promise to not let them ruin it,

Know when you muster up the courage to ask,

I void of hesitation, will smile,

Already coming up with different ways to say yes.

Dating
1

About the Creator

Ashley

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.