Confessions logo

Phoenix rising...

musings

By Lady BtPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Phoenix rising...
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

...am I really nothing but persistent. Thinking that I have somehow failed at life. When I sit down to write all my previously wonderful thoughts that were concocted during a fruitful shower are quite literally, washed down a drain. I have a little faith that those things will come back to me, not ye of little faith but perhaps just so...

When I recollect that time, someone recently said that I was persistent as opposed to my self-deprecating, "I know, I'm annoying," it was perhaps the greatest reformation for me. The way she succinctly shot me down as if to say, you are not annoying, you are persistent and that's a good thing. Praise? Praise. Ah, I see. Unsure how to relay it to my brain now. I felt it was boastful for me to repeat. I enjoyed that sentiment. Persistent. I persist. I can get things done. Someone else noticed I can. I know can, but then I lose sight of my able because somewhere I want to be praised for it and it never came. Why? Why do I need external validation? I have this, confidence - somewhere but why do we all need to be SEEN?

Long, long ago when the internet didn't exist (yes, there was a time) I felt no one saw me. I felt invisible... to a certain degree, I still do and to be honest I kinda dig it. I "used" to act. I say, "used to," because I do not get any joy out of acting and it's something I still need to grieve over. Acting, though, was something I used to enjoy because I would get lost in the character. Everyone would need to pay attention to me because, well, I was there, I was made to be louder and I was made to be heard. I could appear in front of people - not as myself - but my emotion was real. My emoting was real and was being seen and listened to. My talent was being displayed. I was being... SEEN.

Yes, that was so important to me - because I felt no one had ever noticed me. My family, my fake friends that I hated because they were, well, fake. I do not know if I romanticized my own abilities as a defense mechanism, I don't think so. I think I was pretty realistic then, as I am now.

Depression killed the confidence I once had, the life (thought) I could have had...the individual I could have become. Unfortunately, I spent much of my life dwelling on that person I believed I lost. Pitying the person I embodied - always concentrating on my mistakes, and because I felt like a failure - I played myself.

Now, medication free, I wouldn't say I'm thriving, but I realized there is (or was) an arrested development that was hiding. I had I not taken this (permanent) vacation from the medication I hated so much - and believed I needed - it wasn't making me better. At some point, it wasn't even helping. I was hanging on to this person I felt I was told to be - a person I couldn't handle being. It was stifling, me - at least, I thought it was. With certainty I can say, it was stifling my issues - I was getting to the core of nothing.

Now, I feel a lot of things and I don't know how to deal with them - but I am ready. I knew I possessed little to no coping mechanisms before and I am feeling everything and nothing at the same time. I will persevere because, I am nothing if not, persistent.

Bad habits
2

About the Creator

Lady Bt

Confused? Maybe...creative, perhaps...introspective - too much thinking makes a good girl, bad. I wanted to create a safe space for me to share my hopes, thoughts, and my dreams - what's left of them.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.