Confessions logo

ONCE I WAS ADAPTIVE; NOW I AM GROUNDED

Once I loved to move to new places, explore them, and make new friends. However now I love to be settled in one place.Changes are not always necessary.

By Nawal ImranPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
ONCE I WAS ADAPTIVE; NOW I AM GROUNDED
Photo by Duy Pham on Unsplash

I have seen Pakistan from north to the south; mountains to the sea. Once I was adaptive because I was able to adjust to the new environment easily and quickly. Transition in life, as a new school, new friends, and a new environment, was common mostly every year. Now I am grounded because I have found some best acquaintances without whom I cannot live. Karachi has given me countless and unforgettable memories of my life.

Packing my books after the last day of college, I realized that time flies. I noticed the box lying behind the chair in the store full of dust and spiderwebs. A voice inside me asked me to open it. I took a close look and what I found was old pictures and letters. Tears came into my eyes while viewing my childhood pictures and glancing at them with a smile. Some of the people were in my brain, but it had been a long time we had met and talked. Being an army kid is great simultaneously exhausting.

Once I was adaptive because I was not mature. Moving to the new city was full of opportunities; change and transition do not seem that intimidating. I missed my old friends and hard to make new ones. When I used to start sharing or making the bond with my friends, the times comes for movement again. It was hard to make friends, especially when joining the schools in the mid-session. Once at the age of ten, I felt alone at Multan Army Public School. The girls at the school already had friends. During the break, I used to see them play; they never asked me to join them. They looked at me with their eyes narrowed as they passed through the hallway. Quickly, I averted my gaze to avoid eye contact and stood up to leave. I ran back to the classroom with my head down while I dragged my feet; it was the feeling of ignorance and humiliation.

During the early days of shifting, there was only the voice of dragging furniture and bubble sheets in the house. My lawn was full of wooden boxes, furniture, trunks, and electronics. The kitchen had no spices and food for the first days, so we used to go to the mess, or some caring neighbours send us the food. We used to set our cupboards, bookshelves, and clothes; it was fun every time. Welcome dinners held in which we got to know the other army families and colleagues.

My first days at school were very memorable. I had a huge smile spread across my face, eyes lit, and enter like a VIP person in the classroom. Everyone looked at me with some passing smiles and others just murmuring. Students and teachers gave me special attention during the first days of school. It happened nearly in ten schools and the last day everyone used to wish me luck for the next school. My friends brought flowers and sweet letters. They hugged me while my eyes used to well up with tears. My family and I never settled down because of which I never had long-lasting friendships. I never knew the real meaning of friendship because my companionship was over once I left the place. Somewhere in my mind, I used to tell myself not to make friends or share secrets because the friendship was not permanent.

Now I am grounded because I am an adult and responsible. My father has retired, and we settled in Karachi for the past five years. I am going to the same school and college with similar people whom I know from the first day. I have made some great friends. Now I cannot think about moving from cities to cities as it sends shivers down my spine.

Last week, I came home from dinner with dragging feet and holding heels in my hands. I sat on the sofa comfortably and threw the bag on the table carelessly. My parents joined me in the living room. My father asked the mother that we should shift to Lahore. He had got an offer letter for a new job in Lahore. As I heard this, I froze for a while like a statue. Instantly, I sat up straight and then questioned, “Seriously! are you thinking about moving” with butterflies in my stomach. He answered that he wanted to move because our relatives live in Lahore as well. I was listening to his plan carefully while playing with my hair and biting my lower lip. He asked for my opinion. Without thinking, with a high-pitched voice, I stated,” I cannot leave Karachi. My life is here, and I am not ready for the change. For the first time, I have a place where I have friends”. He just asked me to leave after looking at my droopy red eyes. I explained my opinion though I was yawning and rubbing my eyes.

My personality has changed in terms of thinking and extraversion because I have experienced new things in life. I have sleepovers, dinners, surprises, and birthday parties with my friends. Last year, my friends gave me a huge birthday surprise that never happened before because of no permanent friends. They came to my house, entered the room like a church mouse, and shouted happy birthday. My eyes were still closed and my hair was messy. I tried hard to open my eyes. After coming to the senses, I glanced over the room; eyes popped up with mouth wide open. I could not believe that it was for me; I felt special and delighted.

Time has changed me. I feel as if I have change into a better person and grew up into a great human being. Once I loved to move to new places, explore them, and make new friends. I also experienced loneliness when I had to leave the city. Now I am the opposite. I loved to be settled in one place, love the fact that I have permanent friends, and do not feel lonely anymore. Once I was adaptive; now I am grounded.

Teenage years
1

About the Creator

Nawal Imran

Just a normal person trying to express her feeling through writing. I like to write in my free time. Mainly the topic , I like is fashion, traveling and business post.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.